We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Inn

803 Valley View Drive, Sparta, TN 38583
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal Inn
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (12)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015 via mobile

I had to drive from NY to Sparta, TN for a funeral. Frankly I have driven on wknd trips throughout the Eastern seaboard and this place was better than some of the motels I've stayed in. Being from out of town, the location was great. Right off 111. The room extremely clean and comfortable. The outside needed some painting but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Stayed there 1-22-15 got a nice room. Seemed to be a bunch of young energetic staff there either cleaning or upgrading. Big pile of old AC/heating units out back. Everything worked and was very clean in the room. Breakfast wasn't worth the walk to the office....

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

My husband and I came to visit Burgess Falls. We decided to stay here because of the price. We were so pleasantly surprised when we walked into our room. It was like walking into an efficiency apartment. A huge king size bed, recliner chair, massive dresser, etc. all immaculately clean. The hotel had several occupants, but the rooms are insulated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lady lake, fl
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We have stayed here before and was ok but stayed her again and room was dirty but was upgraded a little front desk lady was rude we asked for four keys she said you only get one but had to pay for the extras went back to get toilet paper and the keys that didn't work fixed and the lady... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed one night in May, 2014. Asked for a non-smoking room, and it was fresh, with no evidence of smoke. Well maintained, bathroom had been renovated and had modern fixtures. Modern micro-wave, refrigerator, clock radio and flat-screen TV. Room appeared spotless. Close-by restaurants. Reception area rather dingy, which doesn't give a good first impression, but we spent little time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Royal_Inn-Sparta, Manager at Royal Inn, responded to this review

I want to first thank you for staying with us at our family owned motel. We really appreciate your feedback for others to read, and we are glad to see that you were pleased with your visit. We strive to keep a clean, comfortable stay for our guest. I do apologize about the reception area as we were renovating for... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for the week-end with a friend, back on October 2001. I was on a trip to see said friend, six weeks after 9/11. We came to see a mutual friend from the town; which is described on the welcome signs of Sparta as a city! (In 2001 is was a small town perhaps, but set in a beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal_Inn-Sparta, Manager at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our motel and staying at the Royal Inn. We are happy that you were satisfied with your visit. We have done many upgrades since then as well as recently adding a breakfast area! We look forward to your return! More 

Wimberley, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The room was clean and well-maintained. Reasonable size room. Nothing fancy, but Sparta is a small town. Price was good. No complaints at all. Not much else to say, but tripadvisor requires 200 characters.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Royal_Inn-Sparta, Manager at Royal Inn, responded to this review

We want to thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our family owned motel, and we hope to see you again soon! Thank you More 

Laplace, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I just quit smoking 2 weeks ago, asked for a non-smoking room and the whole room smelled like cigarettes. Microwave must be 40 years old, television - old tube tv, must be 15 years old. Upon further inspection there is red/brown splatter stains on the bathroom wall. wifi password was not written anywhere in the room had to call and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Royal_Inn-Sparta, Manager at Royal Inn, responded to this review

We truly apologize for this out of the ordinary experience, and we thank you for letting us know about these issues. The 1st occupant requested a smoking room at check-in, but a 2nd occupant, who was not present at check-in, later came down saying the room was smoky. There might have been a misunderstanding at the front desk or between... More 

Hillman, Michigan, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Quite impressed with this motel, good location and great price, room was clean and comfortable. They do need to make some minor improvements to the rooms. Oh ya, what ever they were cooking in their residence smelled nasty and they should work on that issue.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dresden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Surprisingly....good. PROS: Hotel is clean and rooms are CLEAN and comfortable. Internet was excellent, password required. It is close to town, Route 111 takes you past Wal-mart, Kroger, Macdonalds. Town is boring with typical places to eat. Outdoor pool was clean, parking areas clean, new carpets, family operated. Clean and safe with Low price makes it A BEST VALUE. A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question