We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wilderness at the Smokies Resort

1424 Old Knoxville Highway, Sevierville, TN 37876
Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    590
    267
    144
    131
See reviews for
1,316
31
2
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1749)
  • Mar-May only
    (486)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (543)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (347)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (373)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We had our bags stolen from the water park that had our wallets, phones, clothes, etc in them. Apparently it happened to several other people that day and a car was also broken into. Security told us it happens a lot there. They definitely need signs saying lock your stuff up! The sad part is, they just shrugged it off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WATS1424, Manager at Wilderness at the Smokies Resort, responded to this review

We are acutely aware that in today's environment that the ability to leave our personal valuables out in a public area is no longer a viable option. That is why we make available to our guests ways to secure their valuables while they are enjoying the waterparks. We have safes in every room and lockers in every waterpark. Our security... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This is our first stay at the wilderness and we love it. It would have been nice if someone would have brought to our attention that none of the outdoor water parks are open throughout our entire stay. The room was clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We visited the wilderness fir my son's 4th birthday. This wad the second year in a row (per his request). We absolutely love it. It had a little bit of everything From the pool to the splash area and the slides. In the evening he stays busy with the laser tag, golf and bowling. The food isn't anything to rave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Georgetown, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The resort has way more rooms then water park. The indoor water park has three water slides and a small wave pool. The toddler area really isn't much either. The arcade is fun and the play area is good. We came for the water park drove 3 hours to stay here I wouldn't come back the great wolf lodge is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

i realize people do not go to a waterpark for wifi but when in bed and winding down we were trying to watch Netflix, work from the hotel, and catch up at home and the wifi was horrendous. Park was great. The lifeguards were all..... I mean ALL amazing. It's like everyone took an "I'll be kind today pill". The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WATS1424, Manager at Wilderness at the Smokies Resort, responded to this review

We are very pleased you have a great visit and hope you will come back to see us. In regards to the WiFi issues, the resort has just completed an extensive upgrade to our WiFi system in both hotels so your issues with the system concerns us. If you were at the outside waterparks you may have picked up another... More 

Byrdstown, Tennessee
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is definitely a kids destination...or said another way I wouldn't get within 100 miles of the place if I wasn't with kids. The rooms are OK with both a small fridge, oven and microwave. Plenty of towels and the room was clean. Both indoor and outdoor waterparks are nice but be prepared to wait in very long lines. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our 2nd stay. The kids really enjoy it. Going with friends makes it even better. We don't stay long but long enough. The snack bar is not too bad either. We stayed away from the buffet to save money but it has alot. Get a first floor room close to water park

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southaven, Mississippi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading the reviews and taking to someone about this place I got a little nervous. Well, we had an awesome experience from the time we checked in to the time we left and we stayed an extra night. Now some people talked about the smell in the room. Well the air conditioner is energy efficient and so it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WATS1424, Manager at Wilderness at the Smokies Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing the wonderful tips to help make anyone's stay that much better. We are very happy you came and stayed with us and want to let you, and others know, we have just completed an upgrade in our WiFi system throughout both properties. We look forward to you coming back for another mini vacation. More 

Bullhead City, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff at hotel totally inattentive. Specifically asked not to be placed next to pool and that's exactly where room was. Had to pay for stay in advance. No housekeeping at all for 3-day stay, no towel change, no cups or coffee, beds not made. Gone all day, returned at 11p to find nothing done all days When requested, had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WATS1424, Manager at Wilderness at the Smokies Resort, responded to this review

We wish to take this time to apologize for the lack of service you received during you recent visit. It is our goal to provide the best service and customer first attitude by our associates and when we hear we have fallen short we wish to obtain more information in order to develop our staff. If possible we would like... More 

Chattanooga
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had heard and read about risk and history of bed bugs here. We were here for volleyball tournament, and debated staying. Had stayed here before and had a blast. I had seen a few infestation TV shows so figured I could detect before unpacking. Pleased to say room was very clean, no issues with mattresses, and we were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

661 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (403)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (100)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (109)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (258)
Viewed
Amenities (117)
Viewed
Bunk Suite with additional Queen Murphy Deluxe Suite (68)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (14)
Viewed
Studio Suite (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities