We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1022 Cosby Hwy, Newport, TN 37821
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
29
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Holiday Inn Express chain has really made improvements to their chain, and this hotel location is a good example of the positive changes. Hotel Overall very good. Staff Wayne, a middle age man, who actually was wearing a suite, which I thought was a class act, was very helpful and professional. Was there when we checked in on Saturday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you for all the wonderful compliments. Wayne is definitely an asset to our team. We are very proud that you consider us "the best". This is the kind of comments that reflect the efforts of our employees. They will be excited to hear these comments. I do apologize for the issue with our curtains. We actually have 3 sets... More 

Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent, convenient location. Set back from the main road, so it was quiet, but still an easy walk to several nice restaurants. Staff was very friendly and efficient. The room was roomy, clean and quiet. Breakfast was outstanding--far better than some breakfast-included places! My nieces loved the indoor pool. I appreciated the fitness center and free USA Today. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for all the positive comments. This is the experience that our staff strives for each day. They will be excited to know that you had such a wonderful stay. Your comments definitely mean a lot to us. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests. Thank you for choosing the Holiday... More 

Ottawa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stop on the way to SC, Room was good/clean nothing that really stands out. The cost is a little high. If I had not got the price at a discount I would not have stayed there. A little hard to get into. Big hill and small drive way in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. All comments are greatly appreciated. I apologize that we did not leave a better impression. We want all of our guests to continue their journey with a relaxed and happy feeling that is not easily forgotten. Your satisfaction is our top priority. We hope that you will continue to be... More 

Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Holiday Inn Express is a consistently comfortable and quality hotel chain, and this hotel is no exception. Clean and roomy quarters, nice bathroom and amenities, comfortable temperature (even though it was in the middle of a Tennessee snowstorm), and helpful, friendly folks! The workout room and pool were immaculate. Complimentary breakfast included hot and cold items of a good variety.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We are very thankful that our guests had a warm place to stay and that everyone was safe. Your comments are an inspiration to our employees. Thank you for being our guest. More 

Mountain Home, AR
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

This is a bit costlier than other local hotels at this I-40 stop off. It is clean and the staff is very friendly. It worked out for me and is tucked nicely away from traffic which enhances security. The only hiccups are some cost saving issues, reusing a key jacket is one with correct-o-type on the old ink. There are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We will definitely take them into consideration. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites always tries to provide a superior experience for our guests. The comfort and security of our guests is a priority for our team. We are glad that your stay was enjoyable and hope to see you again soon. More 

Orangeburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

No rooms available for our early arrival to Pigeon Forge so we chose this due to reasonable rates and close proximity. The rooms (we had 2) we clean. Elevator was extremely slow. Breakfast was average. I booked online with a AAA discount. When I reviewed the invoices left under the doorway, the AAA discount had not been given. I went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

I am glad that we were able to provide you with a place to stay that was close to where you needed to be. I do apologize for the confusion with the room charges. The computer did not divide the number of people into the separate rooms and was charging for the extra person charge. I am glad that we... More 

Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights recently on a weekend trip to visit Sevierville, TN and Asheville North Carolina. Hotels in those areas were a lot more expensive so we just found a nearby location that would be more affordable and enjoyed a pretty drive to these cities. The room was modern and clean, lobby was also modern and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize that the food ran out quickly. Unfortunately, we are kinda limited on space. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and was able to enjoy our area. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon. More 

Atlanta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Platinum Member with IHG this is my first negative review in sometime the hand towel that was wrapped with the washcloth had lipstick on it and had not been washed. The grooming mirror has handprints all over it and there are stains on the right bed sheets and not been changed. Absolutely disgusting no excuse.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Since I received this review just after you had checked out, the front desk manager and myself went to your room. We inspected everything very carefully and did not find any of the things you were talking about. Any time that you feel that your room is... More 

Somerset, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We just had a great stay at this hotel. While the breakfast and staff were average, this newer hotel was very clean and amenities were great. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows were the best. The water pressure in the shower was excellent. Overall - a great stay. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. I am very glad that you enjoyed our hotel and had a great stay. We hope you will continue to choose the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South. Thank you for being our guest. More 

Heart In Texas But Body In Central Wisconsin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Arrival greeting was average no smile just a simple hello. Appeared bored. The night stay was good and sleep went well. Breakfast was ok but wondered why we seen what appeared to be fruit flies. Finished breakfast and took garbage to refuse container which was overflowing. Found the breeding ground of flied around container and wall by coffee. The attendant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Dear Tim K, Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question