We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South

2.5 of 5 1022 Cosby Hwy, Newport, TN 37821
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    36
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
28
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Mountain Home, AR
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a bit costlier than other local hotels at this I-40 stop off. It is clean and the staff is very friendly. It worked out for me and is tucked nicely away from traffic which enhances security. The only hiccups are some cost saving issues, reusing a key jacket is one with correct-o-type on the old ink. There are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We will definitely take them into consideration. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites always tries to provide a superior experience for our guests. The comfort and security of our guests is a priority for our team. We are glad that your stay was enjoyable and hope to see you again soon. More 

Orangeburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

No rooms available for our early arrival to Pigeon Forge so we chose this due to reasonable rates and close proximity. The rooms (we had 2) we clean. Elevator was extremely slow. Breakfast was average. I booked online with a AAA discount. When I reviewed the invoices left under the doorway, the AAA discount had not been given. I went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

I am glad that we were able to provide you with a place to stay that was close to where you needed to be. I do apologize for the confusion with the room charges. The computer did not divide the number of people into the separate rooms and was charging for the extra person charge. I am glad that we... More 

Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights recently on a weekend trip to visit Sevierville, TN and Asheville North Carolina. Hotels in those areas were a lot more expensive so we just found a nearby location that would be more affordable and enjoyed a pretty drive to these cities. The room was modern and clean, lobby was also modern and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize that the food ran out quickly. Unfortunately, we are kinda limited on space. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and was able to enjoy our area. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon. More 

Atlanta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Platinum Member with IHG this is my first negative review in sometime the hand towel that was wrapped with the washcloth had lipstick on it and had not been washed. The grooming mirror has handprints all over it and there are stains on the right bed sheets and not been changed. Absolutely disgusting no excuse.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Since I received this review just after you had checked out, the front desk manager and myself went to your room. We inspected everything very carefully and did not find any of the things you were talking about. Any time that you feel that your room is... More 

Somerset, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We just had a great stay at this hotel. While the breakfast and staff were average, this newer hotel was very clean and amenities were great. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows were the best. The water pressure in the shower was excellent. Overall - a great stay. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. I am very glad that you enjoyed our hotel and had a great stay. We hope you will continue to choose the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South. Thank you for being our guest. More 

Heart In Texas But Body In Central Wisconsin
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Arrival greeting was average no smile just a simple hello. Appeared bored. The night stay was good and sleep went well. Breakfast was ok but wondered why we seen what appeared to be fruit flies. Finished breakfast and took garbage to refuse container which was overflowing. Found the breeding ground of flied around container and wall by coffee. The attendant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Dear Tim K, Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests,... More 

Sendai
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I just needed a clean, comfortable room for the night, but appreciated the upgrade with my ING rewards. Friendly staff, good breakfast, clean, very comfortable bed! The ING rewards line was quick... was already at hotel when I called, and my reservation was faxed before even hanging up.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. This is the comments our staff works hard for every day. They will be pleased to know everything about your stay was enjoyable. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon. More 

illinois
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed here on her way to South Carolina for vacation. There were nine of us in 2 connecting rooms and the rooms were plenty big, clean an lots of outlets! We had the fourth floor with a north view of the road request a room on the south side of the hotel to see the beautiful hills. Breakfast area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about your visit with us. I am glad everyone had a good time and enjoyed their stay. Hopefully, next time you will be able to stay a little longer and enjoy everything the area has to offer -- whitewater rafting, hiking, nearby historical sites, beautiful lakes, and so much more.... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff and level of service at this motel. Clean, comfortable room with full breakfast. Very quiet with little or no road noise. Get out of the rat race that is Pigeon Forge and relax as this motel that is convenient to I-40 and restaurants in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Our staff will be happy to know that you were pleased with the service you received and that you were able to relax and enjoy your vacation. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South. More 

Novi, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

You dont have a lot of choices in Newport so I checked the reviews and decided on this hotel. I travel for work so I stay in hotels weekly. Overall, it was nice. Nice staff and very friendly. The hotel is a few years old and if they continue with the level of maintenance it will show signs of wear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. It is always good to hear things from our guest's perspective. We can learn what we are doing right and where we need to make improvements. We appreciate your comments and will discuss some of these issues with the appropriate departments. We hope to see you again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South

Address: 1022 Cosby Hwy, Newport, TN 37821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport South

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay