We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville

2.5 of 5 711 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37219 (Formerly Best Western Downtown Convention Center)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    144
    147
    88
    92
See reviews for
68
201
21
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (548)
  • Mar-May only
    (140)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (149)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (150)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (109)
All months
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

This is a motel being renovated. We found the rooms to be very spacious, clean and inviting. There were mints on the bed, a bottle of water and a granola bar as a free extra. Nice touch, we thought. Check in was fast and friendly, Valet was fine. Was a little hard finding the entrance to the place. Breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Covington, Kentucky
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Reservations were booked in April, 2014, for rooms for SEC Tournament with a credit card to secure them. Hotel decided a week ago not to honor these reservations. Plane reservations have been made from as far away as Florida and Texas for some of these rooms. Don't count on this hotel even if you have booked a reservation and secured... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM711, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. It's unfortunate that your reservations were not honored. The simple fact was that they were not picked up and had gone beyond the cutoff period. The property had the right to return those rooms back into inventory so that others could have the opportunity to book them. We are sorry this was not understood when... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

i am a very fair reviewer...i especially won't give terrible reviews unless they are so bad that it couldn't just be a one time thing. this place borderlines false advertising! their photos are completely misleading. this is just an upgraded best western motel. but let me explain. first, there is construction going on everywhere. you would think that as long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM711, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review

Appreciate your response. Yes, renovations do take time and is a positive thing in order to improve. Our property is listed online and clearly displays that there is some exterior access to rooms but also shows that access is not at ground floor level. This means that all guests must enter through our lobby. Regarding the lobby, we are taking... More 

Damascus, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We just got back from a 4 night stay at the Capitol. It was pretty good. When we arrived we found the Lobby getting remodeled,ok. Then the guy at the check in was nice. The valet guy was nice too. Elevator was small and slow. We stayed at the 4th floor,nice room,beds were ok. TV went blurry and it stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In a city where the downtown hotels are extraordinarily expensive The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville is a serviceable low cost alternative that provides clean, newly renovated rooms with a central location. If you're expecting anything more, you should probably avoid this hotel. They are currently undergoing renovations, but I don't believe it will ever be higher than the two stars... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM711, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review

We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. The reason we are doing renovations is to improve the environment and provide value. Though we appreciate your opinion, it just an opinion based from one perspective. In totality improvement is a good thing. The construction of the building is in progress including the elevator. The outside corridor is part... More 

Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
129 hotel reviews
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff but you can only put so much lipstick on a pig. My room was complete and the room was fine, getting there was a different experience and the noise levels were untenable. People fighting and screaming outside the door at 2:30 AM does not work. I suspect they are going to have to get security. There is no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM711, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and for the compliment of the staff who work extremely hard to provide a good stay to all of our guests. When title statement comments such as yours are made in a negative way and unfair way, it is those very hard working people who you are hurting and they do not deserve that. There... More 

Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Get a different hotel! While the staff is friendly and they are trying to make upgrades, I don't see this ever being a 3, 4 or 5 star hotel. It's your Best Western with new paint. Outside door rooms made me feel very unsafe. It's the cheapest value for downtown Nashville but you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GM711, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review

We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. However, it is good to know that you complimented the staff. Our building is being renovated and it is safe. The fact that you are commenting without incident confirms that. Although you may not like that the entry to the guestrooms are exterior, the guestrooms are not accessible on the ground... More 

Charlestown, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a former Best Western that is being renovated, but apparently whoever was in charge of design didn't take into account the age of the hotel. Walls are thin, open walkways to the outside instead of hallways. Whenever somebody slams their door within 5 rooms distance, it rattles the windows in your room. The alarm clock in our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GM711, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review

We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We understand that we all have different perceptions. Hopefully when renovations are totally completed and especially when the Bistro/Bar opens in late March 2015 you will give us another opportunity to change your perception. More 

Lisle, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In June 2014, a booked two rooms at this hotel at the Federal Government rate for New Year’s Eve. However, at the time of booking, it was a Best Western hotel. In mid-September, I received an email from Best Western advising me that the hotel had been sold, but that my reservation should still be honored at the hotel and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
GM711, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review

I remember vividly your phone call and threat. I understand you are upset and that you kept your promise. To simplify this response, you tried to use a invalid credit to guarantee a room. Since your form of payment was invalid it is not a guarantee to hold your room. Your email was long and quite embellished. Again, I can... More 

DANDRIDGE
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is withing walking distance of a lot of things downtown, including Legislative Plaza and the War Memorial Building right across the street. The hotel is quite a bit older and rooms are only accessed from the outside. The sole elevator is small, to the point the luggage carts barely fit in it, if you twist it sideways inside.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville

Address: 711 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37219 (Formerly Best Western Downtown Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Nashville
Best Western Nashville
Nashville Best Western

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay