We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Yarra Glen hotels

Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1309 Melba Highway & Gulf Road, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Ashleigh5792
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    198
    63
    50
    29
See reviews for
73
397
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (612)
  • Mar-May only
    (156)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (137)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (134)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (185)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Food is amazing. Enough said. We didn't have reservations at the hotel but after a recent stay we had to go back to the restaurant! (The hotel also but we didn't have time) Hostess at the restaurant was awesome and staff are very friendly and accomodating!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place has great clean rooms with everything you'd expect from a motel of this rating, but the service in the restaurant was so so n the food very average for the price they forgot our desert and cheese platters so we just told them don't worry about it after our mains where served it was really hard to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel M, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear vitmit Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback on our restaurant we will review this with the team. Hope to see you back at the resort soon. Kind Regards Nigel Maxey More 

Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great venue, poor service and lamb was tough. Expensive, don't mind paying if the food and service are good but this wasn't. Waited 2 hours for main meal. Did complain and got 30 percent off the price of the meal. Waited 2 hours between entree and main. Had to almost trip the waiter up to get his attention to order... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel M, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Maztango Thank you for the review. I wish to extend my apologies for the poor service encountered. This has been discussed with the restaurant team and improvements have been made. Our normal high standards are back to usual. Kind Regards Nigel Maxey More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very disappointing service in the restaurant in yarra valley, had to start waving the menu to get a bottle of wine, this was after the entree still waiting for main 1.5 hrs after finished entree, thank god managed to get the wine

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nigel M, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear RLDLRDL Appreciate your feedback following your visit to our restaurant. I do apologise for the teams slowness in attending to you. The team are now re focused on ensuring all guests leave with good memories and service. Kind Regards Nigel Maxey More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This review is in 2 parts both have something to do with the food and the service and yet we saw two very different sides of the same kitchen/service. Lets start with the good - attended a wedding function over the weekend. Service was good and well organized. very attentive staff, on point on all aspects of the evening and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nigel M, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sallyt141 Delighted you had such a good time at the wedding you attended with us. In terms of the breakfast service sorry to hear it was not well managed falling short of our high expectations. I can assure you that this was not our usual standard and this has now been resolved. Yours sincerely Nigel Maxey More 

South East England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room, spa bath and views were fantastic. The restaurant food was lovely but very slow to arrive, (we waited almost 45 minutes between our starters and mains); the waiting staff were having problems with new management which was creating tension and as a result the kitchen we not asked to prepare our main courses when our starters were cleared.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel M, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear CVFC We appreciate the kind review. Glad you enjoyed the rooms, spa and views. Delighted to hear you enjoyed the food in the restaurant and we will ensure meals come in a timely manner. Thank you for the feedback on the pool. Kind Regards Nigel Maxey More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When one is paying a tremendous room rate of $400 per night, one expects absolute luxury and top notch service with every aspect of the booking. On this occasion I didn't feel like I experienced this. I had no problems with the room, comfort of the bed, etc BUT the lack of service in the restaurant, for both breakfast and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel M, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear SydneyMermaid We appreciate your review. Thank you for your kind words on the room provided. I would like to apologise for your breakfast experience of course we should and will also have the adequate staff on for breakfast not on this occasion for reasons which now have been resolved. This falls short of our usual breakfast standards. Espresso coffees... More 

Melbourne
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night over the Australia Day long weekend and the whole experience was very disappointing. Firstly this estate has extremely overpriced accommodation. Our rate for a privileged suite was $225 as we stayed on the Monday night. The price was $450 for the Sat night. I would not be happy paying $200/night for any night of the week... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nigel M, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Matt F Thank you for your review following the Australia Day long weekend with us. I appreciate you highlighting the issues encountered and would like to apologise for these. We don't advertise a fully equipped kitchen as part of what is available in the room type you stayed in. Some of our beds are zipped together with the added... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A friend and I planned a getaway to relax before Christmas, requested two single beds both by email and phone. We ended up in a room with a double bed, when we were moved the room was dirty and the air conditioning wasn't working the manage hung up on housekeeping while it was being sorted and we were expected to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel M, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear SamGMelb Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear of the problems you encountered on your visit. The feedback you have presented will be used to re focus the team on the importance of service for our guests. I remain fully available should you wish to discuss the issue further. Yours Sincerely Nigel Maxey More 

Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my second stay at balgownie and I can't fault it. Stayed in a 1 bedroom with spa it was spotless and provided all one could want. I got the room at a discounted rate on wotif which included breakfast and a bottle of wine each night. I would not hesitate to return and will tell others to make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nigel M, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear jogopen Thank you for your return visit. We appreciate the recommendation. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Nigel Maxey More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Address: 1309 Melba Highway & Gulf Road, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Hotel Yarra Glen
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort And Spa
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Hotel
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Resort
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Australia

189 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (154)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay