We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Campaspe Country House

Goldies Lane, Woodend, Victoria 3442, Australia
Campaspe Country House
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015 via mobile

Set amongst manicured gardens . This little gem won us over with fantastic food and service . We had a little private room for my sisters 40th.. John was an attentive waiter and our glasses were never empty. The steak was a knockout !! All our food was amazing . We will defiantly be back !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Group of 16 for local concert. Welcomed with a sparkling, and beautiful surrounds. The gardens allow lots of shady nooks and ability to get away. The meal Friday was tremendous value with a lovely wine list. The pork belly was soft and melted away, the steaks perfectly cooked and the wild barramundi with scampi brilliant. Fabulous value and not to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

A very pleasant place with pleasant staff, in a very pleasant part of the world, with several places of interesting within the area. Although the restaurant only operating Friday and weekends, it not a problem because only short walk or very short drive to town centre and good dining. An enjoyable stay. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Colin thank you very much for staying at Campaspe Country House and for your positive review. It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and the grounds. I have handed a print out of your praise to the staff members concerned, and they are very appreciative about it. Looking forward welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

we recently stayed here and was very disappointed a group of us had booked rooms as we all where attending a nephews wedding. On the Friday night my sister and her son (the groom) stayed in the "cottage" they checked in approximately 6:00 pm and by 6:30 they where the only ones there. Staff ect had gone home. We arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Reta, I am sincerely sorry to read about your experience at Campaspe Country House and I would like to apologise for not living up to your expectation. Your feedback about your experience at Campaspe is highly appreciated and will be taken serious. Whilst we certainly make mention, particularly this time of the year, that we do not have air... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Spent 3 nights at a time when most of the staff was obviously on leave (Dec 28 - 30). We were greeted fine and that was where the pleasantries ended. Positives: Bed was comfy, location is quiet, beautiful surrounds, good TV reception. Town is a short 15 minute leisurely stroll away, so if the weather is kind, you can walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sincerely sorry to read about your experience at Campaspe Country House and I would like to apologise for not living up to your expectation. I had already a serious talk with my housekeeper, as she only had a glance into your room from the outside, instead of checking it thoroughly. This is completely against our standards... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
35 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

we stayed in this old beautiful house whilst visiting friends at nearby Kyneton and we loved every minute. the rooms are a bit old fashioned but clean, sufficient place and a private terrace is adjoined to every room (not in the manor itself, at te extensions) beautiful garden , where the kitchen grows some of their own veggies and fruits... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your positive review. I am very pleased that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed the property and the food that we had on offer. I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Holger Rose, GM More 

Nunawading, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Visited to check possible venues including The Windsor,for a family celebration with a difference for15+people later in year. Very welcoming arrival! Excellent service, excellent food of ample quantity in a delightful dinning room overlooking the garden pool. Very good experience, even at the cashiers desk. Booked here for the Family event.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your positive review. I am very pleased that our service and performance has convinced you to entrust us with your upcoming family celebration. We are looking forward making it a very special day for you and your family. Kind Regards Holger Rose, GM More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

A wonderful blend of old world charm and decore, with superb service and an atmospehere second to none. From the open fire lounge and conversation areas, to the silver sevrive restaurant, nothing is left to chance. Just special. A truely wonderful experience

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Paul, thank you very much for your positive review. At Campaspe we are always striving to exceed customer expectation. It is very pleasing that we seem to have achieved that on this occasion. We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Holger Rose, GM More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I recently stayed at Campaspe House with my partner for a weekend getaway. The property itself is large and the main building is impressive in so much as its country feel and well preserved furnishings. I found that the external 'cabins' (where we stayed) were very basic and reminded me more of what to expect at a school camp. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your constructive feedback about your stay with us. It is with regret that I notice that we did not live up to your expectation. It is certainly a fact that the Courtyard Rooms, what you describe as "External Cabins", are basic hotel-style accommodation rooms, and this is how we advertise and market them.... More 

Tongala, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

A quaint property with a relaxed atmosphere. The rooms were comfortable & clean, although a small bar fridge along with fresh milk for late night cup of tea & early morning coffee would have been nice (UHT milk just taste awful & there is never enough supplied). Dinner & breakfast in the dining room was well catered for & the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review. I am pleased to hear, that you had an enjoyable stay at Campaspe House. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Holger Rose, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question