We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Campaspe Country House

Goldies Lane, Woodend, Victoria 3442, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    16
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

I attended a work retreat here recently. It is a welcoming, warm and pretty place to be, particularly in winter. The rooms are nice, not too luxurious, but fine for a work night, the meals were very good, tasty and good quality ingredients, and the conference facility was good for a group of around 12 staff. And of course, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Natalie, thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad that we were able to contribute to the success of your work retreat It is wonderful to hear that you and your colleagues enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Holger Rose, GM More 

Lake Boga, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

We have just returned home from a weekend staying at Campaspe House. We were greeted by Holger and the boys Glen and John, along with a glass of bubbles and a beautiful open fire. We chatted and then went to our rooms, they were clean and warm. We were spoilt all weekend, staff waited on us and nothing was too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Donna thank you very much for your positive review and your kind words towards my staff. I am very glad that we were able to contribute to the success of your 'Girls Weekend Away' I have your feedback up on the notice board, so each staff member can see that their work is appreciated. Thanks again and we are... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We stayed overnight for a wedding. We were greeted professionally and warmly. We stayed in a garden/courtyard room and I must say it wasn't very private. All these rooms look out into the courtyard which means anyone walking past can look into the room. To stop this you had to close the curtains which is counterproductive as you then were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Peter, thank you very much for your feedback. I am very sorry to read that the set up of the courtyard rooms put a damper on your stay with us. We will certainly look into options to make subtle changes so the need for privacy does not have to result in shutting off the views. It is nice to... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015 via mobile

Set amongst manicured gardens . This little gem won us over with fantastic food and service . We had a little private room for my sisters 40th.. John was an attentive waiter and our glasses were never empty. The steak was a knockout !! All our food was amazing . We will defiantly be back !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Belinda thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. I am very pleased that John and his team were able to make the birthday celebrations memorable. Your feedback will go on their notice board, so they can see that their work is appreciated. Looking forward welcoming you back soon Kind Regards Holger Rose, GM More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Group of 16 for local concert. Welcomed with a sparkling, and beautiful surrounds. The gardens allow lots of shady nooks and ability to get away. The meal Friday was tremendous value with a lovely wine list. The pork belly was soft and melted away, the steaks perfectly cooked and the wild barramundi with scampi brilliant. Fabulous value and not to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guests thank you very much for you review and positive comments. I am most pleased that we were able to live up to your expectation. I will let my restaurant brigade know how much you enjoyed your dinner. We are looking forward having you back soon. Kind Regards Holger Rose, GM More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

A very pleasant place with pleasant staff, in a very pleasant part of the world, with several places of interesting within the area. Although the restaurant only operating Friday and weekends, it not a problem because only short walk or very short drive to town centre and good dining. An enjoyable stay. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Colin thank you very much for staying at Campaspe Country House and for your positive review. It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and the grounds. I have handed a print out of your praise to the staff members concerned, and they are very appreciative about it. Looking forward welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

we recently stayed here and was very disappointed a group of us had booked rooms as we all where attending a nephews wedding. On the Friday night my sister and her son (the groom) stayed in the "cottage" they checked in approximately 6:00 pm and by 6:30 they where the only ones there. Staff ect had gone home. We arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Reta, I am sincerely sorry to read about your experience at Campaspe Country House and I would like to apologise for not living up to your expectation. Your feedback about your experience at Campaspe is highly appreciated and will be taken serious. Whilst we certainly make mention, particularly this time of the year, that we do not have air... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Spent 3 nights at a time when most of the staff was obviously on leave (Dec 28 - 30). We were greeted fine and that was where the pleasantries ended. Positives: Bed was comfy, location is quiet, beautiful surrounds, good TV reception. Town is a short 15 minute leisurely stroll away, so if the weather is kind, you can walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sincerely sorry to read about your experience at Campaspe Country House and I would like to apologise for not living up to your expectation. I had already a serious talk with my housekeeper, as she only had a glance into your room from the outside, instead of checking it thoroughly. This is completely against our standards... More 

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
252 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

we stayed in this old beautiful house whilst visiting friends at nearby Kyneton and we loved every minute. the rooms are a bit old fashioned but clean, sufficient place and a private terrace is adjoined to every room (not in the manor itself, at te extensions) beautiful garden , where the kitchen grows some of their own veggies and fruits... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your positive review. I am very pleased that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed the property and the food that we had on offer. I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Holger Rose, GM More 

Nunawading, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Visited to check possible venues including The Windsor,for a family celebration with a difference for15+people later in year. Very welcoming arrival! Excellent service, excellent food of ample quantity in a delightful dinning room overlooking the garden pool. Very good experience, even at the cashiers desk. Booked here for the Family event.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CampaspeHouseManager, General Manager at Campaspe Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your positive review. I am very pleased that our service and performance has convinced you to entrust us with your upcoming family celebration. We are looking forward making it a very special day for you and your family. Kind Regards Holger Rose, GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodend
14.2 mi away
Grange Cleveland Winery
Grange Cleveland Winery
#1 of 2 in Lancefield
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Grange at Lancefield
The Grange at Lancefield
#2 of 2 in Lancefield
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
2.7 mi away
Woodend Old Schoolhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holgate Brewhouse at Keating's Hotel
11.2 mi away
Corinella Country House
Corinella Country House
#2 of 12 in Kyneton
5.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
1.3 mi away
Auberge Woodend
Auberge Woodend
#4 of 5 in Woodend
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay