We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portsea Village Resort

4.0 of 5 3765 Point Nepean Road, Portsea, Victoria 3944, Australia (Formerly The Grange at Portsea Village)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portsea Village Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Portsea Village Resort
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (29)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
There are newer reviews for Portsea Village Resort
See the most recent reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were 6 girls from mothers grp looking for 1 nights accommodation in the area and struggled to find anything which didn't need a min of 2 nights - and that could accommodate 6 separate beds. We booked the 3 bedroom apartment and staff pointed out at booking that one room was bunks (which we knew and were fine with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This is a beautiful place for a relaxing few days or a long holiday. It is just a walk over a country road to the Portsea pier and beach. There is a park there with childrens play equipent as well. The Hotel is very secure and private. There is a seperate conference centre there away from guests. There is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This hotel is expensive for what it is. The apartment, although spacious, was a bit dated and "run down". I was astonished to discover that there is no air-conditioning! There are ceiling fans, but it was uncomfortably hot. The kids enjoyed the pool, and there are umbrellas and loungers around it which were appreciated. It is located across the road... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
South Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My Partner and I recently stayed at Portsea Grange and when I read some of the other reviews on Tripadvisor I was surprised. Our experience was GREAT. While we were down there we spoke to some of the staff and they told us that the apartments are being renovated but ot all have been completed. We had a two bedroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I managed to secure a night at the Grange at a big discount as they made a pricing mistake on lastminute.com.au. I paid $60 for what supposed to $360, and to be honest, it wasn't even worth the $60. And I was treated like I was being punished for their mistake. After dealing with the sour puss on reception, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these Portsea hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 via mobile

Portsea is the most amazing seaside suburb, you can see why it is one of the most expensive suburbs in Melbourne. Unfortunately The Grange does not live up to this standard. It is a hotel stuck in an 80s time zone, I mean there is nothing modern about this hotel, it is seriously in need of makeover. To make matters... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
irene o, General Manager at Portsea Village Resort, responded to this review

Thankyou for these valued comments. All feedback is appreciated and we do aim to reach a high standard however there are times when we do not meet these targets. Pleae let us know during your stay of any concerns you may have. We can address and fix a problem at the time. We are currently working our way through an... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Rooms were large and spacious but the attitude on the desk was nothing short of sour and unwelcoming; the price was ridivculous for winter ($300+ for one night); despite a credit card guarantee they wanted their money in full before you received your key and the kick out time is 10.00 am! Never again. The place also looks somewhat tired... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Oh my god I stayed get for business. The manager is one of the most stubbin and rude people I have ever met. Who ever owns this place should take a long hard look at who they have running it and reavaluate your choice on managers. The pricing is out of control as they think that because they are the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Stayed at The Grange for 2 nights whilst on business. The location is very good for Portsea, right in the heart of this small seaside town. 2 minute walk to beach, hotel, small shops. The rooms, whilst large, are fairly dated and in need of a make-over. The common areas are also a bit tired and could do with some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Portsea Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsea Village Resort

Address: 3765 Point Nepean Road, Portsea, Victoria 3944, Australia (Formerly The Grange at Portsea Village)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Portsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portsea Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Portsea Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay