We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast

29 Forrest Ave., Newhaven, Phillip Island, Victoria 3925, Australia
Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    3
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (19)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We had a really good holiday experience at this place during Easter (3 nights). Host Katherine was really nice and willing to help for any requirements. The room was clean and quiet. Excellent in room spa for 2, water front balcony view and free breakfast gets served every morning at our specified time. The price is also a really good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Stayed here over the Christmas hols. What a glorious spot right on the water and the gardens are superb. Any request was handled promptly and the hostess (Catherine) was very friendly and helpful. Stunning spot, immaculate rooms, home made bread. Couldn't ask for more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Moonlight Bay Bed & Breakfast is located in Newhaven, just over the San Remo Bridge which accesses the Phillip Island. The guesthouse is fully furnished and modern which provides 4 rooms upstairs. The property is located in a peaceful and quiet area, which is ideal for couples. Detail of facilities: • You will find most items from a 3.5 star... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Room was clean with comfortable bed. Microwave and coffee facilities, but nowhere to wash or store foods. No drawers for clothing or anything else. Washbasin in bathroom even too small to wash ones face without messing all over floor. Air conditioning did not work because remote had no battery. TV remote did not work even though batteries replaced personally after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We book two nights to have a good time and I totally was disappointed that they didn't let us to check in because we have 6 months baby. And refused to refund the money. Very greedy. Our holiday plan was rouind.. Think twice

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katherine_Moonlight, Owner at Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Our website clearly states that we cannot have children. This is because we don't want other guests disturbed, there are no bedding facilities for children, each room is licensed only for two and it is not a family location. Moonlight Bay is a romantic destination, with beautiful views, rooms, spas and balconies looking into the bay. There are beautiful landscaped... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a lovely 2 nights stay here earlier in February. The room was really nice and clean and had beautiful views over the bay. It is a very relaxing B&B, situated just over the bridge. Therefore its a close walk to San Remo and even a little set of shops in Newhaven. Katherine was really friendly and was happy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I just had the best time ever! Firstly Moonlight Bay B&B is in such a quiet location but close to everything you want in Phillip Island. It has a sweet, well maintained garden and it is right on the ocean! Katherine was warmly welcoming, and helpful. She left us alone but was also there when ever we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I must admit, this place was stunning, your own hot tub what more could you want. Everything was well presented, the breakfast was amazing and the views were stunning! Catherine was very welcoming and helpful! The gardens are all amazing and well taken care off! Had a most enjoyable stay and would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We had a lovely 5 nights here over the Melbourne Cup period. The weather wasn't good but was more than overshadowed by the friendliness of Catherine, the nicely appointed room, the great gardens in full bloom, the superb water/marina views and the peace and tranquility of the location. There is much to do and see on Phillip Is itself and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Both my partner & I were surprised & disappointed with the lack of assistance that our host was to provide. Our host was rude & one would be surprised why she was in the business. Don't pick a lemon off the tree - you'll be called a thief!! If not for the view we would have moved on - consider... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katherine_Moonlight, Owner at Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

A couple of guests have asked me about this review, as they found it intriguing after meeting me. This woman did not ask for lemons, neither did she ask if she could strip my apricot tree as far as she could reach. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newhaven
0.8 mi away
San Remo Hotel/Motel
San Remo Hotel/Motel
#3 of 3 in San Remo
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Island Accommodation
The Island Accommodation
#1 of 3 in Newhaven
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
1.9 mi away
Silverwater Resort
Silverwater Resort
#2 of 3 in San Remo
4.0 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park
6.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
4.4 mi away
Oak Tree Lodge
Oak Tree Lodge
#1 of 4 in Rhyll
5.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities