We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge

4236 Ararat-Halls Gap Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    33
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
74
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Hungerford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars NEW

We stayed in one of the lodges which was very spacious and comfortable. Great location away from the centre but only a few minutes drive. Tubby was very hospitable. Would definitely recommend a stay here if visiting The Grampians.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warrnambool, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights in February, and have to say that for the price, this was a really good place to stay. All the amenities may have been updated at some point, but done tastefully and everything was well cleaned and looked after. The brilliant working air-con was a god send. Not sure how many over 35 degrees it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to do a review. Our main goal is to ensure you have a great holiday which doesn't cost a fortune, but in a room which is clean and comfortable. Also, to be able to come back and have a dip in the pool after a hot day also makes it that bit better. The meat... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Very comfortable budget accommodation with all that you need. Great place to stay at to recover from a long day hiking in the vicinity. Tubby, owner, was very welcoming and knowledgeable. He mapped out an awesome route for us to check out the nearby lookouts and hikes. Would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

This is what we are about, clean, comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price, together with giving you all the relative information to explore our great backyard. It's great that you enjoyed you holiday and look forward to welcoming you back next time. Thanks. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We stayed just the one night and was drawn to the cheap price. Not knowing really what to expect, we weren't disappointed. The bed was super comfortable, it was quiet, the room was a generous size and the grounds were beautiful. We also loved that it wasn't right in the middle of the town. I'm not sure why people are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Kathryn, We are happy you found us and that we lived up to your expectations of a comfortable room and the great surrounds away from the busy township of Halls Gap. It is not for everyone but for those who enjoy peace and quiet it is the best. Thanks. More 

Pomonal, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We had a family get together and booked in our parents to stay at Mountain View as we didn't have room at our place nearby and the rooms were immaculately clean and very nice. Wonderful place to stay! We also booked the BBQ pack and were not disappointed...there was no way we could finish it all. And received a bottle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Once again, Ronnie's BBQ packs have done their job and filled you up after a day in the Grampians. Although just out of Halls Gap, it is the peace and quiet that we love together with being able to sit back, relax and soak up the tranquility of the surrounding views. Thanks More 

Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I stayed at this motel for one night on my way to Melbourne. I was expecting something great: everyone seems to rave about this place. Unfortunately, this was to be my second worst motel experience in Australia. The room I was given was poorly appointed: the only sink available was in between the bedroom and the bathroom, and as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. It hard to please everyone but we don't know what you expect for a $99 room. It may not be 4.5 star (never said we wanted to be) and the design is a little different but they are clean and comfortable. As for the comments re bedcovers (6 months old and trendy grey) & springs poking... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015 via mobile

Great owners. Beautiful place in a perfect location. Have stayed in many motels in Australia and New Zealand. By far the best and great value for money. A tranquil haven. Check it out! Hope to stay again one day

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

We do love our spot and think it is the best place to stay in the Grampians. Being close enough to Halls Gap but still far enough away to enjoy the tranquility of the Grampians is a major bonus. We may not be the newest in town but we do offer clean and comfortable rooms/lodges and great hospitality. Thanks and... More 

Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014 via mobile

This was a great spot and we could return and stay a week if the opportunity ever came again. Thanks Tubby. Even when the power went of briefly we we're kept informed and enjoyed their hospitality. Good luck with your business. $99 for night

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Occasionally we do lose power and we will always try to keep our customers informed at all times, although sometimes it is great to have to go back tot the good old days and do without the internet/tv and actually talk to each other. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and might see... More 

adelaide south australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

The Mountain View is everything you could want , great location , very quiet and clean , Tubby and Rhonda awesome people , highly recommend the bbq pack. We spent 2 nights here, only regret is we didn't order the bbq pack both nights , we will definitely be going back again in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Once again, Ronnie's BBQ pack just hits the spot after a hard day of walking in the Grampians. She does make sure you don't go hungry and together with a couple of quiet drinks, it is what life is about. Thanks and we hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Lakes Entrance, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

We stumbled across this motel as we were heading for the Grampians from Ararat and thought we'd make an enquiry. We luckily got their last room and we were so pleased we ended up booking for a second night. Tubby & Rhonda were really welcoming, the room was very generous in size and very clean and comfortable - they also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Jenny, it was great you enjoyed your time in the Grampians and hopefully had a good time also exploring the big desert after leaving us. The more information we can give you the better your experience will be. Hope to see you down your end of the world some time. Thanks. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge

Address: 4236 Ararat-Halls Gap Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge Halls Gap, Grampians

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay