We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
4236 Ararat-Halls Gap Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    34
    15
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
77
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Recently stayed here overnight, booked 3 rooms, got 1/2/3 from the reception area down. Very nice rooms, comfortable and beautiful views. Breakfast was lovely. Manager was polite and friendly, Wifi took a long time to connect, but eventually did. Would stay again, and try out the pool and BBQ areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just recently stayed at the Mountain View Motor Inn and Holiday Lodges over 2 Nights. We booked 2 Bedroom deluxe lodge with spa. Overall positive impression. Accommodation was clean and well presented, however the facilities are old and little bit rundown. Management was friendly and very helpful. BBQ pack is a good deal and worth trying. I would recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. If you have high expectations in relation to cleanliness and comfort then we are the place to be. (as you pointed out) However, if you want 5 star accommodation and facilities at 3.5 star prices then it is best to keep looking and good luck in finding it. We are a true 3.5 star property (not... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great choice if staying in the Grampians. Fantastic outback welcome and very good value. Tubby and Mrs T made us feel as if nothing was too much trouble. nice small pool to relax after long drive if weather is hot. MUST order a BBQ pack in advance for true Aussie experience, the BBQ and food were amazing, a real... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

You have to go along way to beat one of Rhonda's BBQ packs. A hard days walking needs a healthy and hearty feed at the end of it and she does a brilliant job in satisfying the hunger pains. If we smile, then you smile and it ends up being the perfect day. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your... More 

Red Cliffs, Australia
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
43 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights in February for the Jazz Festival and had an enjoyable stay. The room was clean and comfortable with a microwave oven and tea making facilities - set back off the road in spacious grounds - very quiet at night. The air-conditioning and pool was very much appreciated as it was rather warm during our stay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

The jazz & wine is a great weekend and we like to make changes during the year so that the 'regulars' see that we are trying to continue to improve the place and make them more comfortable. Hopefully we will see you again next year. More 

De Pinte, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a one bedroom lodge. The lodge has the necessary comfort for a pleasant stay. You get a living room and a good equipped kitchen. The bedroom is not fancy but OK and you have a large bath room with a spa bath. The lodge has a heating/airco combination what was working fine. We managed to heat up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. It is good that we gave you all the information you needed to explore the Grampians. We have stated on a regular basis that we may not be 4.5/5 star but we are clean and comfortable and the place is a great stop to enjoy our great scenery. More 

Hungerford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the lodges which was very spacious and comfortable. Great location away from the centre but only a few minutes drive. Tubby was very hospitable. Would definitely recommend a stay here if visiting The Grampians.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

The lodges are definitely the place to stay if you want that extended holiday in the Grampians. Being a good size there is nothing better than relaxing on your verandah after a hard day exploring our backyard. Hope you had a great rest of your trip. Thanks More 

Warrnambool, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We stayed for two nights in February, and have to say that for the price, this was a really good place to stay. All the amenities may have been updated at some point, but done tastefully and everything was well cleaned and looked after. The brilliant working air-con was a god send. Not sure how many over 35 degrees it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to do a review. Our main goal is to ensure you have a great holiday which doesn't cost a fortune, but in a room which is clean and comfortable. Also, to be able to come back and have a dip in the pool after a hot day also makes it that bit better. The meat... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Very comfortable budget accommodation with all that you need. Great place to stay at to recover from a long day hiking in the vicinity. Tubby, owner, was very welcoming and knowledgeable. He mapped out an awesome route for us to check out the nearby lookouts and hikes. Would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

This is what we are about, clean, comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price, together with giving you all the relative information to explore our great backyard. It's great that you enjoyed you holiday and look forward to welcoming you back next time. Thanks. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We stayed just the one night and was drawn to the cheap price. Not knowing really what to expect, we weren't disappointed. The bed was super comfortable, it was quiet, the room was a generous size and the grounds were beautiful. We also loved that it wasn't right in the middle of the town. I'm not sure why people are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Kathryn, We are happy you found us and that we lived up to your expectations of a comfortable room and the great surrounds away from the busy township of Halls Gap. It is not for everyone but for those who enjoy peace and quiet it is the best. Thanks. More 

Pomonal, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We had a family get together and booked in our parents to stay at Mountain View as we didn't have room at our place nearby and the rooms were immaculately clean and very nice. Wonderful place to stay! We also booked the BBQ pack and were not disappointed...there was no way we could finish it all. And received a bottle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Once again, Ronnie's BBQ packs have done their job and filled you up after a day in the Grampians. Although just out of Halls Gap, it is the peace and quiet that we love together with being able to sit back, relax and soak up the tranquility of the surrounding views. Thanks More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question