We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel

1 Military Road, Watsons Bay, Woollahra, New South Wales 2030, Australia
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Special Rate
Spring Staycation Special
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    38
    20
    15
    20
See reviews for
23
56
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (134)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
new zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Drove around for 30mins to find a park on Sunday arrival, this is normal apparently . Rooms large, great bathrooms, noisey though , if your a light sleeper bring earplugs . Service is dismal and staff could use some retraining on customer service in the food and drinks area. Had to pay nearly $5 for an earl grey tea even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for our Anniversary, from the moment we arrived......the concierge reserved a park for us, to when we left it was a lovely and memorable stay. Fabulous views of the harbour, nicely appointed and tastefully furnished room. Bathroom a stunner. Amazingly well soundproofed against the noise of the Watto' Bay pub downstairs. The breakfast room, was also beautifully... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Judy B, Manager at Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ozros Thank you for your review. It was great to hear that you had a wonderful anniversary at the Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel. We agree with your comment - position, position, position - Watsons Bay is truly a unique location with beautiful surrounding walks. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for your next anniversary. Best... More

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There is nothing 'boutique' about Watsons Bay. This hotel is so ridiculously overpriced for what you get. We stayed in a Harbour King Room above the bottle sort of the pub downstairs. We were woken both mornings by the clanking of bottles. The air con didn't work. The twin beds were pushed together to form a king but the bedside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Judy B, Manager at Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louise B We were very sad to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us in a Watsons King room. Rest assured that we do care very much. Please accept my sincerest apologises for the problems with air conditioning. From time to time we do have a breakdown with an air-conditioning unit but we do endeavour to... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice place to eat and drink over looking the harbour BUT get in early this place fills up and there's not much room to even stand without being trampled. The first thing id advise this place to do is not take booking on weekends there were way to many tables with a reserved sign on them for too long and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I recently spent our wedding weekend at Watson's Bay Hotel. As we were getting married at Dunbar House, we chose to stay here primarily for the location - the bride and bridesmaids stayed the night prior the wedding and spent the day getting ready here, and then we (the bride and groom) spent the wedding night at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Judy B, Manager at Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Misskmtx Please accept our sincerest apologies for the experiences you detailed in you review.We are very disappointed that your booking experience was not up to standard. Please note that we are very happy for people to look at rooms prior to booking. Please keep in mind however that most wedding couples are available evenings and weekends to view the... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in the Grand Harbour Suit the night prior to my wedding and on my wedding night (this is one of the most expensive rooms at the hotel). The night before my wedding guests in the room below me were having a large, loud party, They woke me at 3.30am. As the hotel reception closes at approx 9pm I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Judy B, Manager at Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tanya F Thank you for your review. We were very concerned to read your comments about noise on the evening prior to your wedding. We completely understand that this was a distressing situation and offer our sincerest apologies.We are also very sorry about the interaction with the other wedding party. Please note that we do ask that weddings held... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here as a splurge while on holiday with our children. Was it worth the $399 price tag per night....NO NO NO....it was an utter disappointment and a waste of hard earned money!! The accommodation itself was ok/nice, no real wow factor for what you pay - just the nice view to the bay. The standout downfalls: Crap tv... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Judy B, Manager at Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JeanThat Travels Please accept our apologises for your disappointing stay. We really appreciate you bringing the problems you experienced to our attention. The poor TV reception and low shower pressure are not comments we have experienced before so we will be monitoring these to see if changes need to be made. We apologise that this caused you inconvenience. In... More

Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
27 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really good spot, great location and view right down Sydney Harbour. Whether just visiting Watsons Bay for the day or if you live nearby this place caters for all. The atmosphere down in the Beer garden is great on a good night and hotel is nice too (only stayed the one night). Food is good, nice lounge areas and also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just stayed in a Harbour King Room. The room was lovely, however they had booked a wedding down in the function room below us. This meant when we tried to go to sleep at 11pm the wedding music was still thumping downstairs and into our room. The music was finally shut down at 12 midnight. In the morning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Judy B, Manager at Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Becky B Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for the inconvenience created by the noise from the wedding. Please rest assured that it is not our policy to make Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel a functions hotel and all guest are more than welcomed. Please note that September is our biggest month for weddings so we can... More

Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We attended a wedding reception there and booked an extra night to allow our daughter and her newborn son to settle in. After a long car drive with the baby crying the last 30 minutes we arrived at the hotel to find out that staff had cancelled our room. They offered us a room at a property in Rushcutters Bay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Judy B, Manager at Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ReinholdF Thank you for your feedback. We apologise again about the confusion with your booking and have reviewed our procedures for cancelling bookings - now ensuring that we note down who has cancels each booking to avoid any confusion. We recognise that this was a very stressful situation for you. Please be assured the 2 Managers that handled the... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel

Address: 1 Military Road, Watsons Bay, Woollahra, New South Wales 2030, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Woollahra > Watsons Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Watsons Bay

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay