We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smoke House Lodge

Hotel website
Hotel deals
850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Smoke House Lodge
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Smoke House Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    143
    83
    53
    40
    40
See reviews for
103
106
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (359)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
There are newer reviews for Smoke House Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Chattanooga, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The rooms are nice enough, although it should be noted that they are the sort of rooms I associate with a 1960s-1970s Motor Inn--the doors open directly to the outside. Check the security of your room--the first room I occupied had non-functioning door locks, and I had to move to another room. The restaurant food is good, but be sure... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at Smoke House Lodge, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our door locks during your stay; this is a isolated incident, and not the norm. We have ordered enough door locks to completely replace all guest room locks on the property, and eliminate any problems with door locks. As for the buffet prices, we do offer more meats and other choices on... More 

New York, NY, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great Value, HELPFUL STAFF on the Plateau... When traveling the I-24 route the Smokehouse in Monteagle is a good safe place to stay. Great music on the weekends and the staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at Smoke House Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to submit your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return soon. We'll be doing the live music every Friday and Saturday nights. More 

South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I loved the rustic atmosphere. The lobby had a roaring fireplace and comfortable furniture. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The Smokehouse smelled wonderful, and the food was great. After driving all day, it was nice to have room service. The smoked turkey was delicious. I would recommend this lodge to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at Smoke House Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to submit your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return soon. We'll keep the fire burning in the lobby! More 

Greenfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

this hotel offers romantic cabins and are sure to give you the privacy you are seeking. There are many deer and othe wildlife in the surrounding woods. A hot tub and a large fireplace make for a very romantic setting. You will not be disappointed here.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hamper1960, Owner at Smoke House Lodge, responded to this review

Always great to hear good comments about our property, we really have something unique here, quite a bit different from anything else on the highway, we're more like a state resort park, but a family business. Please stop in and see us whenever you are traveling over Monteagle Mountain. Thank you so much for taking time to submit your review.... More 

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stopped on our way to Orlando and this was a pretty nice experience.My brother in law recommended this place and we're happy with the choice we made.Nice clean rooms with hardwood floors and the great hospitality.The late night clerk Sinthia,was very helpful and made us feel extremely welcome and quite funny.although we did not eat at the restaurant because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hamper1960, Owner at Smoke House Lodge, responded to this review

Our recipes in the restaurant cover several generations of outstanding family cooks. Always great to hear good comments about our property, we really have something unique here, quite a bit different from anything else on the highway. Please stop in and see us whenever you are traveling over Monteagle Mountain. Thank you so much for taking time to submit your... More 

Roswell, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. A roaring fire in the oversized fireplace greets you when you check into the hotel, providing warm radiant heat to the office. A large comfortable couch sits in front of the fire, along with two old-style rocking chairs. The rooms are well-appointed. I particularly liked the bathrooms, which had nice fixtures and separated the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at Smoke House Lodge, responded to this review

Always great to hear good comments about our property, we really have something unique here, quite a bit different from anything else on the highway. Thank you for taking the time to comment and explain some of the unique features of the lodge, lobby, and rooms. More 

Lady Lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

There was a fireplace in the lobby that was so inviting that my wife and I went to relax there after putting the children to bed. The on site reasturant (Smokehouse) was great, with a unique gift shop, it is a must stop location if you are traveling I-24.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at Smoke House Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking the time to register your comments about our establishment. We appreciate your business and hope you will be back to see us again very soon. More 

McHenry, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Noisy room, tub never drained, bathroom sink drained slowly, bathroom door wouldn't stay closed so no privacy in the bathroom, door to adjoining room looked as though it had been kicked in and the lock was broken and repaired. I felt as though anyone could walk in and didn't feel very secure as the security lock on the outside door... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
hamper1960, Owner at Smoke House Lodge, responded to this review

We are in the process of updating the whole facility and all rooms, however all rooms have not been completed yet. The Saflok door locks are totally secure, however the design leaves customers with mixed feelings; the turn know that looks like a dead bolt isn't a dead bolt, but rather a privacy lock to keep other card keys from... More 

Travelers are raving about these Monteagle hotels

Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Have been staying/eating at this place for upwards of 30 years, great hotel, great food, real family-style thing going on here. Fried Pies, homemade (really!) ice cream, comfortable rooms, cabins with fireplaces (free wood to burn!) pleasant environment, quiet, responsive staff, etc, etc. Can't really come up with enough superlatives to state the obvious, here. Six stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hamper1960, Owner at Smoke House Lodge, responded to this review

Please stop in and see us whenever you are traveling over Monteagle Mountain. Thank you so much for taking time to submit your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return soon. Our recipes in the restaurant cover several generations of outstanding family cooks. Always great to hear good comments about our property, we really have something... More 

Atlanta, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Nice enough motel, but it does not offer a free breakfast, quite unusual for a motel like this these days. The eagerly offered 10% off coupon at the restaurant next door seems like a bad joke... Also there is no workout room on the vast sprawling property! A simple room with an exercise bike, elliptical, and treadmill would take up... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at Smoke House Lodge, responded to this review

The work out room is coming later this year. Believe it or not, this is the first compliant about our not having a work out room, but we are adding one to meet Best Western requirements. Properties that have a full service restaurant on the property do not commonly offer free breakfast; this is usually offered by properties that don't... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
9:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay