We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

Hotel website
Hotel deals
850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    82
    52
    39
    40
See reviews for
98
104
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (353)
  • Mar-May only
    (113)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Lady Lake
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

There was a fireplace in the lobby that was so inviting that my wife and I went to relax there after putting the children to bed. The on site reasturant (Smokehouse) was great, with a unique gift shop, it is a must stop location if you are traveling I-24.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking the time to register your comments about our establishment. We appreciate your business and hope you will be back to see us again very soon. More 

McHenry, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Noisy room, tub never drained, bathroom sink drained slowly, bathroom door wouldn't stay closed so no privacy in the bathroom, door to adjoining room looked as though it had been kicked in and the lock was broken and repaired. I felt as though anyone could walk in and didn't feel very secure as the security lock on the outside door... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We are in the process of updating the whole facility and all rooms, however all rooms have not been completed yet. The Saflok door locks are totally secure, however the design leaves customers with mixed feelings; the turn know that looks like a dead bolt isn't a dead bolt, but rather a privacy lock to keep other card keys from... More 

Travelers are raving about these Monteagle hotels

Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Have been staying/eating at this place for upwards of 30 years, great hotel, great food, real family-style thing going on here. Fried Pies, homemade (really!) ice cream, comfortable rooms, cabins with fireplaces (free wood to burn!) pleasant environment, quiet, responsive staff, etc, etc. Can't really come up with enough superlatives to state the obvious, here. Six stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Please stop in and see us whenever you are traveling over Monteagle Mountain. Thank you so much for taking time to submit your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return soon. Our recipes in the restaurant cover several generations of outstanding family cooks. Always great to hear good comments about our property, we really have something... More 

Atlanta, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Nice enough motel, but it does not offer a free breakfast, quite unusual for a motel like this these days. The eagerly offered 10% off coupon at the restaurant next door seems like a bad joke... Also there is no workout room on the vast sprawling property! A simple room with an exercise bike, elliptical, and treadmill would take up... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

The work out room is coming later this year. Believe it or not, this is the first compliant about our not having a work out room, but we are adding one to meet Best Western requirements. Properties that have a full service restaurant on the property do not commonly offer free breakfast; this is usually offered by properties that don't... More 

Baldwin, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

A place with great ambiance. Great location and great restaurant/ general store. We stay at this location frequently and will continue to stay there in the future. We have recommended this establishment to our riding friends and plan to stay the next time with a large group.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Always good to hear the good stuff! Thank You so much for taking the time to register your comments about our establishment. We appreciate your business and hope you will be back to see us again very soon. More 

Waltham, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

A beautiful Appalachian getaway. These cabins have a kitchenette, working fireplace, front porch, and rocking chairs. What more could you want? The setting is wooded and it is EXTREMELY quiet. I use them for business. After a day of wrangling with customers, I love the peace and quiet.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

The cabins are a great place to relax and hide from those worldly frustrations! We appreciate you're comments. Thank You so much for taking the time to register your comments about our establishment. We appreciate your business and hope you will be back to see us again very soon. More 

Oxford, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time and it was so relaxing sitting around the cabin and enjoyign the Fire Place. The rooms were wonderful and large. This was our second trip this year to the Smoke House and we are already planning our next trip. I would suggest The Smoke House Best Western to anyone. Close to the attactions but yet... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We have many family reunions and corporate retreat get-a-ways here in our cabins. The cabins are a great place to relax and get down to business, or relax with the family! Thank you for your comments and looking forward to your return. More 

Tifton, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Old but clean, liked the wood floors as opposed to carpet. This Best Western did not serve breakfast but the Smoke House Restaurant was right next door did and their food was excellent. The motel was nothing fancy but I would definitely stay here again. The restaurant next door is a real attraction and you could spend the day in... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

The Smoke House is definitely not like anything else you'll find up and down the highway. We've been here in the hospitality business since 1960, and very proud of it. We're not for everyone, but we've built a huge customer base of folks who like our casual down home style of friendly customer service, real wood and stone features around... More 

Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely love the new cabins at the Smokehouse. The porches are very nice. Love the stone fireplaces, flat screen Tv, jacuzzi tub big enough for two, full kitchen , iron bed with a soft country quilt. I stay here once a month if at all possible. It is a good way to relax and recharge. I highly recommend for couples.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Always great to hear good comments about our property, we really have something unique here, quite a bit different from anything else on the highway. Thank you for taking the time to comment and explain some of the unique features of the lodge, lobby, and rooms. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. The cabin was so nice. Loved the fireplace. And, the screened porch would be great if the weather had not been so cold. My only suggestion would be to have better utensils in the kitchen. All the non stick finish was gone from the skillet, so it was difficult to even cook an egg. Otherwise, a great... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

The cabins are a great place to relax and hide from those worldly frustrations! We'll be sure to get the new utensils in there as soon as possible. We appreciate you're comments. Thank You so much for taking the time to register your comments about our establishment. We appreciate your business and hope you will be back to see us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
9:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay