We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Monteagle hotels

BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Monteagle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Delroy R Margate, United States
  • Overview
  • Reviews (263)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (84)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (56)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    59
    39
    25
    29
See reviews for
70
77
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Vergne, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room had no king bed (as booked over week in advance). Was not told of this at checkin. No towels for at least 3 hours after checkin time. Bathroom door stuck/hard to close (hung on floor tile, had to lift to close). Very low shower water pressure (half of what came out of sink). Broken hair dryer in room. Broken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

So sorry for these problems. As you probably noticed, we are in the middle of remodeling all the rooms and the outside, and in doing so, things get forgotten about and missed because there are so many loose ends. These issues are inexcuseable and will be addressed and cleared up. We are nearing finishing the work in the rooms and... More

Margate, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We only stayed one night but the rooms were cleaned, staff was very nice and accommodating. Nothing to complain about. We would stay there again if we have to. We didn't care to use the Restaurant, but as far as our sleeping accommodation was we did not have any problem. WE would recommend this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you comments and review. Looking foward to seeing you again soon. More

Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My family enjoyed our trip to Smokehouse lodge. We stayed in the cabin, it was plenty large enough for a family of 4. Front desk staff was very friendly and allowed us to check in early. The property was beautiful, however it was in need of a lot of maintenance, the grass needed to be cut and repairs made to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and comments. and yes, we are working on all those points you mentioned in your review and will have these finished soon. Thanks, and come bACk to see us. More

Mono Mills, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked in on best westerns reputation, this apparently means nothing as they are all privately run.expecting pool, not working internet not available until they relocated us to another roomwhichwas infested with bugs, on the walls in the bathroom on the bed we eventually relocated to another motel but not after experiencing the mediocre service and food next door at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We apologize for your experience. Seems like you could not find anything to please you no matter what we did to correct the problem. So Sorry. More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Floors are linoleum throughout, and gritty. Bathroom had mild on the ceiling and the wallpaper was actually pinned to the wall to keep it on. Door didn't lock from the inside. Mini fridge froze every thing. Food was marginal at best! Def needs to be updated!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

we are upgrading the rooms now and many to these items have already been replaced, repaired, or removed. Got a few more rooms to finish. We are outside tearing up sidewalks and putting in new concrete, and romoving landscaping, so we are currently making a mess in some areas of the front area that are creating dust and dirt that... More

indiana, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

very outdated. paint coming off the door in the bathroom, and paint coming of off the light. towels very grey)suppose to be white) would not stay there again or recommend! the staff checking in was ok the staff checking out was not very friendly was not asked how the stay was. could not park by our room had to park... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We are outside tearing up sidewalks and putting in new concrete, and romoving landscaping, so we are currently making a mess in some areas of the front area that are creating dust and dirt that is tracked into the rooms causing most of these problems. Almost finished with this type of work so we can keep the parking and lobby... More

Kingsville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Liked flooring just wish it had been clean. Feet were black within minutes. White sheets/comforter stained and still using...need to replace. Dirty sheet and wash cloth found. Loose toilet seat. Bugs throughout the room. Breakfast/service at restaurant was good but cleaner would be nice.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We are outside tearing up sidewalks and putting in new concrete, and romoving landscaping, so we are currently making a mess in some areas of the front area that are creating dust and dirt that is tracked into the rooms causing most of these problems. Almost finished with this type of work so we can keep the parking and lobby... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here several times, both in the hotel rooms and in the cabins. Great place. Great folks running the place and a fabulous restaurant. The hotel rooms are just average but always clean. It's the atmosphere here and the location that I love. We will be back.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much, glad you found things acceptable and to your satisfaction. We appreciate your business and hope you will come see us again soon. All our new upgrades will be finished very soon. More

Evansville, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 4 nights at the smokehouse lodge. The rooms were nice, I really loved the hardwood floors in them and the beds were comfortable with lots of pillows. The restaurant at the lodge was amazing, if you like country cooking it was our favorite restaurant in the whole town. There were so many things for our kids to do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we appreciate your business and hope you will come see us again soon. All our new upgrades will be finished very soon. More

Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The music is top notch as the willingness of the staff were fantastic. It is tough to provide a great experience given the hotel and grounds are not very well maintained. The pictures and amenities included on the website are a bit deceiving as the lake is very very small, the tennis courts are not playable, the rooms have an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

So sorry for your less than great experience. Being one of the family owners of the property, I do have some issues with your comments and the way you worded your review; here are my comments. We do not misrepresent our property with our photos, these photos are for real of the actual feature shown; no photo can look as... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Monteagle with
any amenities

Been to BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

Address: 850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
9:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Smoke House invites everyone to experience Southern Hospitality at the Restaurant, shop the Old General Store, stay in Rustic Log Cabins & the Mountain Lodge, and experience every Friday & Saturday Night Live Nashville Music. Southern cookin’ offering three generations of family recipes on the menu and the daily buffet;Homemade everyday! The Old General Store's old fashioned candies, antiques, homemade fudge, Moonshine Museum, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum. Lodging features Log Cabins w/Jacuzzi tubs & fireplaces, and Queen and King rooms with big back decks overlooking the serene and beautiful 20 acre campus, & fishing lake./Tennessee Lodging/Monteagle/Chattanooga/Winchester/Tullahoma/South Pittsburg/Sewannee/Manchester/Jasper/Cowan/Live Music/Bonnaroo/River Bend Festival/Corn Bread Festival ... more   less 
Number of rooms
99

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer