We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Monteagle hotels

BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
66%
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Monteagle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
mistywatts Evansville, Indiana
  • Reviews (255)
  • Photos (84)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (53)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    56
    39
    23
    26
See reviews for
67
74
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We spent 4 nights at the smokehouse lodge. The rooms were nice, I really loved the hardwood floors in them and the beds were comfortable with lots of pillows. The restaurant at the lodge was amazing, if you like country cooking it was our favorite restaurant in the whole town. There were so many things for our kids to do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The music is top notch as the willingness of the staff were fantastic. It is tough to provide a great experience given the hotel and grounds are not very well maintained. The pictures and amenities included on the website are a bit deceiving as the lake is very very small, the tennis courts are not playable, the rooms have an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

So sorry for your less than great experience. Being one of the family owners of the property, I do have some issues with your comments and the way you worded your review; here are my comments. We do not misrepresent our property with our photos, these photos are for real of the actual feature shown; no photo can look as... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Liked the décor, but the rooms could use some upgrading. Would stay there again. On site restaurant had O.K. food. Not good enough for thirteen dollars each. Was an overnight trip for visiting and hiking at nearby natural areas.,

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It apperas that you didn't stay in one of our recently updated rooms. We are updating everything in the room, and you could not help but notice that if you stayed with us. The $13 dollar per person price you mentioned for the food was probably the buffet, where it is all you can eat... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The wireless connections for the cabins never work 98% of the time. It's the only thing that spoils the cabin experience. Now matter how many times you mention it to them they never fix it, but I like the cabin's so much I tolerate it... but I tell them about it every time!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We are in the process of upgrading the internet connection down at the cabins. Charter will be dropping in a new internet connection that we can broadcast to the other cabins. Will have this done before the end of July. Thanks for your comments. More

Alpine, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first time at the Smokehouse Best Western. Location was the deciding factor in our choice. The combination of motel, restaurant, gift shop, museum, and lounge with live music all in the same complex was unique to my experience. Our room was at the far end from the restaurant/lounge and quite comfortable. The hardwood floors were a little... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for all those good things you said about out business. Hope you will find another time to come visit us on the Mountain. More

Charles city,IA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall, I see this a great place for family. Room's are alway nice and they are up grading and remodeling all the rooms as I speak. They entertainment is also great and at The Smokehouse Restaurant has good food!!!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great comments. We appreciate your business. More

Clarksville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I chose the Smokehouse lodge because it was pet friendly and close to Bell Buckle ( for the moon pie festival) and Chattanooga (his daughter lives there). I did enjoy the rustic cabin with the screened in porch- it was perfect for our little getaway BUT I was upset that the wireless internet did not work in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We apologize for the internet reception in the cabins, we have had a lighting strike and it has effected some of our broadcasters. All the rain the past several weeks has made the grass get ahead of our mowing and attention to the outdoor recreation facilities, but we are working out all these details now. I have advised the housekeeping... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have watched the Smokehouse restaurant decline over the years. I have eaten there every 3 or 4 years since it opened. Sadly the restaurant declines with each visit. I went there a few weeks ago with out of town family and it was terrible. We are from that area and went there for a day to visit old family... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Your response is seriously suspect and you should be banned from Trip Advisor. I don't believe that you have been a regular customer at all; probably just a local competitor with a grudge, maybe you are one of those people who just moved to the mountain and are jelous of any local that does good because you can't accept the... More

Magnolia, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We paid $137 for a room with a smell, bad curtains,fixtures,shower head,furniture from the 60's, bathtub repainted,laminate wood floor peeling up and a sputtering air conditioner..the flies were free.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your response, so sorry for your experience. Your comments are important to us but seem over exagerated to some extent due to our recent upgrades to the rooms, can't believe all these things were wrong with any of these rooms. Looks like you were dissapointed in the rate, which impacted your comments on the room. Rates for rooms... More

Bradenton, FL, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has always been very pet friendly. I can count on a very clean room, safe environment, and the restaurant is excellent. The service is very good, and the grounds are very well kept. The food in the restaurant is very good southern comfort food, and the buffet is a great value with a good variety of items.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate you and your pet staying with us whenever you are coming thru our area. Come see us again soon. JD More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

Address: 850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
9:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Smoke House invites everyone to experience Southern Hospitality at the Restaurant, shop the Old General Store, stay in Rustic Log Cabins & the Mountain Lodge, and experience every Friday & Saturday Night Live Nashville Music. Southern cookin’ offering three generations of family recipes on the menu and the daily buffet;Homemade everyday! The Old General Store's old fashioned candies, antiques, homemade fudge, Moonshine Museum, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum. Lodging features Log Cabins w/Jacuzzi tubs & fireplaces, and Queen and King rooms with big back decks overlooking the serene and beautiful 20 acre campus, & fishing lake./Tennessee Lodging/Monteagle/Chattanooga/Winchester/Tullahoma/South Pittsburg/Sewannee/Manchester/Jasper/Cowan/Live Music/Bonnaroo/River Bend Festival/Corn Bread Festival ... more   less 
Number of rooms
99

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer