We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    66
    42
    33
    36
See reviews for
79
85
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (291)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Calhoun, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We ate next door at the Smokehouse which is always very good. Decided to stay overnight because it was rainy,foggy and dark. We didn't want to travel in these conditions. The rooms were pricey and we were shocked when we found out they offered "nothing" as far as ammenities. Also, the heating - air system's fan was VERY NOISY to... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
columbia,sc, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Cabin was substandard and over-priced relative to quality -- restaurant was rustically-cute, but totally awful. We have visited the area many times, and even enjoyed the quaint nature of this lodge, but this time the cabin and food experience amounted to very poor. Also, attempts to compensate us were totally insufficient.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Monteagle hotels

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Clean rooms, a convenient setting, friendly people, live music and good homecooked food next door make this a great place to stay. We enjoy staying at The Smokehouse when visiting Sewanee, and have stayed twice already in last three months.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your response and we are looking foward to your return again soon. More

stow, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had ants in my room the first night of my stay and there were so many of them they were climbing on the bed and got into my suitcase. I got a new room and the dead bolt was broken I reported it and nothing was done due to the time of night. I felt unsafe since this is... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your response and we are looking foward to your return again soon. More

Portage, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the money this is a poor quality hotel,It is clean and adequately decorated and the plus is the restaurant next door that makes it convenient. All along the highway the signs were for 33-59 dollars. This was an unpleasant surprise of 90 and no deals with a rewards card or being a senior with an aarp card.A small breakfast... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, we appreciate your input. We do not advertise prices on our billboards, it is the Mountain Inn you saw advertising those rates, they are down the road same exit as us. The weekend you were here was a high demand weekend where every property in a 30 mile area charges higher prices due to demand... More

Marietta, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel very clean, beds were excellent so were pillows. Nice smokehouse restaurant attached, food very good especially breakfast. Country style store combined with restaurant, selection excellent and jams, jellies, sauces excellent both in taste and price.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your business and your comments. Come back and see us. More

tallahassee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

hotel staff was very welcoming and made us aware of the restaurant/bar deals going on that night with a "great local band". The room was standard, clean and nicely appointed...not a fan of laminate floors, prefer carpet myself and the AC was iffy. But overall a pleasant stay. No Wifi or breakfast, both of those were disappointing

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your business and your comments. The Internet was on the blink a few days due to lightning damage to some of our equipment, all back up now. No contintenial breakfast but we give every lodging customer a discount card for up to 35% off menu items at the restaurant for any meal, breakfast lunch and dinner. Also 15%... More

Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff is very helpful and friendly. The room is clean and functional. A good place to stay when visiting your Sewanee college kids if the Sewanee Inn is booked as you are only in the room to sleep and shower. It is very convenient for transfer to the airport as the Groome Airport Shuttle picks up and drops off... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your business and your comments. Hope to see you on all the special occasions going on at Sewanee, The University of the South. More

Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We looked forward to a great time after I made a reservation for a cabin(#437) at The Smokehouse in Monteagle, TN. The advertisements indicated "Rustic" but they should have said "Run-down". The cabin was relatively new in construction, but already looked and felt the wear and tear of use! The screen door was missing on the "screened in" porch, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your business and your comments. When credit cards are given for payment, funds for payment for those services are only verified to be there once the transaction is complete, it is not charged prior to your arrival; so asking for it again at your check in is the normal proceedure, we have to electronically swipe the card upon... More

Wood River, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

made reservations on line. did not have a complimentary breakfast, they had a restaurant on premises, that you got 10% off. we went there for dinner, and discovered after eating a buffet (that was over priced) that there was cats walking around by the food, etc. How gross is that. Bathroom door in our room was off the hinge and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for our review and comments. So sorry for your less than desireable stay. We are still finishing up with the last few details of the room up grades, and all the curtains have not been installed yet. We don't advertise that all rooms have microwave & frig, only certain rooms have these items. The buffet is in plain... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

Address: 850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
9:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay