We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Monteagle hotels

BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
66%
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Monteagle
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Karen T Stuttgart, Germany
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    48
    33
    22
    23
See reviews for
60
66
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elcho, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My family and I have been planing this trip for 4 months, we wanted a cabin so my grandson would have room to run. Well he could not play outside in the yard due to all of the bees(the size of a small bird) you had to run to your car and back into you're cabin. Than in the kitchen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We apologize for your problems while you were here. It is my understanding that the front desk gave you an option to move to another cabin to accommodate your needs but you declined the offer. Sounds like you had more family issues going on that we had no control over; just blame it all on us if it makes you... More

Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very noisy room from sounds from outside planking and upstairs occupants who were merely walking around. Good restaurant experience and the staff was very helpful and considerate. Convenient location for business at the Universitiy of the South.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We apologize for your discomfort while you were here. We are replacing the floor covering in all upstairs rooms and hope this will help reduce the noise level from rooms below. Thank you for your comments and hope you come back to see us. More

Weldon, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night this past March. WAY over priced! Our room was sterile looking, nothing on the walls. Phone didn't work. Sink stopper didn't work. The thru the wall heating-a/c unit was so loud we could barely sleep. The walls seemed paper thin as you could here the people next to us easily. On the plus side, they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

So sorry for your issues while here, we apologize for your inconvenience. We would have gladly given you a refund or discount on your room consummate to the value you think you deserved to pay. We are half way thru completing renovation on all rooms, the outside, the lobby and many other areas of the property. Next time you're passing... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is great...so close to the interstate and you really feel like you went some place peaceful! Lots of GRASS I loved it... Just a short drive from Nashville or Chattanooga...I will go back! The gift shop and restaurant where a wonderful surprise...Like going home to Grandma!!! I loved the samples!!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your response, we appreciate all the good comments, and I will definitely pass these on to the staff. Next time you visit, try one of our hide-a-way cabins for a day or two, take a hike in the beautiful South Cumberland State Park, or visit Sewanee University of the South - lots of things to... More

chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just ate at the Smokehouse Restaurant. We were driving through TN and saw signs for this place - a quick check of the internet and we decided to stop. Walking in the door, the smells were heavenly. We were even more excited to try what we were expecting to be amazing food. Unfortunately, the smells were the only positive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We apologize for not getting your order out as it should have been. Sometimes, a ticket will fall off the line, or get misplaced, and that is not intentional, nor a sign of poor service; it is just an accident. We would have gladly comped your food, and prepared you more that was to your satisfaction. Waiting on food gets... More

Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a long day of driving, I was greeted by friendly faces and one of the most unique rooms in my travels. Why pay for a Marriott when you can have your own cabin? I can't wait to bring the kids with me next time!!! Plenty of room to grill out, make build a fire, and relax. Too bad I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You, thank you so much. I will definitely pass your comments on to the staff. Hope you can spend more time here next time you come up for a visit. JD More

Westfield, NY, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

if you like country style accommodations this Best Western provides a quaint setting with comfortable rooms and cabins. the SmokeHouse restaurant is good food and you get a 10% discount on you meal if you are staying at the Best Western.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I will share this with the staff and know they will appreciate it. Come see us again soon. More

Louisville, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The redeeming aspect of staying at this hotel is the separate restaurant. It was good. The hotel had very poor internet connection. Our room had no hot water in the shower and the door and a/c unit were not properly sealed. Cold temperatures made that area of the room very uncomfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry for your unpleasant experience in the hotel. We are remodeling our rooms and perhaps we did not finish with sealing up the ac unit and door weather striping. 800-489-2091 More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean, nice staff, reasonably priced...would stay there again. The adjoining restaurant was fun, as well. Plenty of good food, country style, nice barbecue sauces to try, delicious fudge and old country store flavor. Snowed the day we were there, beautiful countryside and great location to rest. Everything in hotel worked well, internet no problem, and wake-up call right on time!... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments, I will pass them on to the staff. Come back and see us on your next trip over Monteagle Mountain. More

Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No complaints. The wife and I stayed in one of the cabins recently, and found them clean and comfortable. Good, old-fashioned Southern friendliness. The deer that wandered over each night from the woods was an added treat, and added to the rustic experience. The restaurant was very good; the pulled pork was as delicious as I've had anywhere. We will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and response. Thank you for your business and I will pass this on to our staff. Hope you will come back and visit us often. More

Been to BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle
Address: 850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smoke House invites everyone to experience Southern Hospitality at the Restaurant, shop the Old General Store, stay in Rustic Log Cabins & the Mountain Lodge, and experience every Friday & Saturday Night Live Nashville Music. Southern cookin’ offering three generations of family recipes on the menu and the daily buffet;Homemade everyday! The Old General Store's old fashioned candies, antiques, homemade fudge, Moonshine Museum, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum. Lodging features Log Cabins w/Jacuzzi tubs & fireplaces, and Queen and King rooms with big back decks overlooking the serene and beautiful 20 acre campus, & fishing lake./Tennessee Lodging/Monteagle/Chattanooga/Winchester/Tullahoma/South Pittsburg/Sewannee/Manchester/Jasper/Cowan/Live Music/Bonnaroo/River Bend Festival/Corn Bread Festival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.