We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    77
    51
    38
    38
See reviews for
93
97
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (337)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Shelby, NC, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Average hotel in midst of remodel. Nice room and good work on the remodel with good room presentation. Heater did not work and the hairdryer did not work so check before taking a shower or bring your own. Landscaping in the back was poor but it looked like they were going to work on it. No real lighting away from... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your response Dawn, we appreciate your business and glad you stayed with us. Yes, we are working dillignetly on the remodel, and just now getting a chance to get outside and work around the weather to finish the landscaping and lighting. This is getting done and hope you will come back and see what we have had... More 

Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Thank you for a lovely stay over. We stayed over for 1 night. The rooms was clean and comfortable. It is building built as a log cabin and has a wonderful ambience. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Monteagle is a small town on top of the mountain. Really pretty with a lot of scenic routes arround.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Tommy, you have quite a record of reviews with Trip Advisor, so that makes us feel good about what you have to say being valid. Come see us again soon. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Don't stay here if you want a good nights sleep. Pets are welcome here, a lot of the problem. Another problem is uninsulated walls and floors. Paper thin. Partying until wee hours of am goes on a great deal on weekends, and hotel will not do anything about it. I think because this hotel is so cheap, it attracks partiers.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Jeanneal, but we are not a cheap property and we do not cater to parties, thank you very much. We are pet friendly and do our best to accommodate travelers with pets. Some guest don't like pets and do not tolerate them at all. Our property is well insulated, but there are some problems with... More 

Travelers are raving about these Monteagle hotels

United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a conference for a few nights. It was safe and convenient but not ideal. The good/fine? Staff, from housekeeping to desk staff were friendly. Decor, pillows, and mattress softness/hardness were all fine. It could perhaps have had more parking. The bad/idiosyncratic? Wifi did not work (devices connected but no server access could be had, even after... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Misty, we appreciate your review. If you had plastic on your bed, we could have moved you, that is not our standard at all, and I don't know how it was left in the room in the first place. Sorry for the inconvenience, we will take your comments and act on each one of them... More 

Chicago, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First, I came back to my room to find someone else's car keys in it, which is REALLY creepy. Then my door jammed (in the middle of the night), and when I asked for help, they told me that they couldn't leave the front desk and help me get into my room!! They told me to just "try the door... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your review.Sorry for the service inconvenience, we will take your comments and act on each one of them to improve and fine tune our service, property and rooms. We appreciate your comments and hope you will see your way to come back and see us on your next year's conference. More 

Lawrenceville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was very nice and had a cool log cabin feel. The staff was very friendly and even called shortly after I arrived in my room to check on me. I also enjoyed the Smokehouse's dinner buffet which was delicious. Overall, a very good place to stay if visiting the area and especially Sewanee University.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your review.We will take your comments and act on each one of them to improve and fine tune our service, property and rooms. We appreciate your comments and hope you will see your way to come back and see us on your next year's conference. More 

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the internet is continuously bad at the cabins - there is never a strong constant connection - 21 century? the phone was dead the shower knob kept falling off I am a platinum member and should receive complimentary stays... love the cabins, but the same problems happen over and over again-this has been happening for years!!! - A joke! I... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry for the problem Scott, but the internet in and around the cabins and the Lodge rooms has been totally upgraded, as of March 31, 2015. We have put in new equipment and had a company who is an expert in internet installation install it, prior to 3/31/15 we did have numerous problems. The cabins being spread out on the... More 

Tampa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was so cordial and the room designated for dogs is amazing. Adirondack chairs in front of room, great view, easy to walk dog. Restaurant had great food and fun store! I will always stop there on my seasonal trip between MI and FL.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your review, Thank you for your comments. Glad you found everything to your satisfaction, and your pet too. We appreciate your business and hope you will come back to see us again soon. More 

nashville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Paid too much when booking online. I made my reservation on line (and paid in advance). I paid a total of $125.25 When I checked in - the rate the front desk was giving was $71.99 That is a $50 difference. In addition, Best Western was paid on March 24, 2015. I did not check in until April 4, 2015.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your review Betsy. Thank you for your comments. Lodging rates can be inconsistent, especially on the day of renting due to high or low demands for rooms, cancellations, changes in group needs, etc. Best Western Reservations is given our standard rack rates, and that is what they and we sell in advance, which is great for guaranteeing your... More 

chicago il
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our 3rd stay here on the way home from Florida. The hotel has been remodeled the room was great and the staff very helpful and pleasant. The restaurant Jim's Smokehouse is the best BBQ I have had he meets you as you walk in and lets you sample the food he has smoked. The service is great.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your review, that is just what we want to hear, all good. Come see us again, and we'll give you another free sample of ribs!! JD More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
9:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question