We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Newport hotels

Newport Mirage

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Parade West, Newport, Pittwater, New South Wales 2106, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Newport Mirage to your Saves list
Newport Mirage
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
45%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Newport
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Rednut Melbourne, Australia
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    21
    15
    5
See reviews for
16
34
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here two nights with my wife as part of a larger family group attending a wedding. The complex is rather dated from first impression and on entering our 'Newport' room, that was confirmed. Small, but tidy and clean. Bed was comfortable, but the pillows were below standard. Bring your own. Bathroom not big enough for two. Our room had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicholas R, General Manager at Newport Mirage, responded to this review

Dear Rednut. Thanks for your review and honest comments on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate you taking the time to post your experience in regards to our hotel and service. I will share your comments with all staff in all departments as I am sure they will appreciate reading them as much as I did. I have followed up with our... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business for three nights. Firstly parking the car is an experience. The space is extremely tight on the lower level and was hard work parking and manoeuvring . Check in was straight forward as I'd pre booked and paid and the receptionist was friendly and efficient. The rooms are small, dreary and tired. The decor is underwhelming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicholas R, General Manager at Newport Mirage, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor. We are always working on improving our facilities and your feedback is greatly appreciated. I’m sorry our communication regarding the access to lower car park did not reach you. You are correct, it is very tight and is recommended for small cars only. We go to great effort to ensure our arriving... More

Nowra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here as part of a large family group attending a wedding. It is a good hotel for wedding accommodation as you attend the reception and can fall into bed without any concerns. The room (405) was small and two people could not fit into the bathroom at the same time. In saying that the room was clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nicholas R, General Manager at Newport Mirage, responded to this review

Dear Jane B Thanks for your review, It’s great to hear you enjoyed the wedding reception and our facilities. Kind Regards, Nicholas More

Stockton-on-Tees, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here over New Year for 3 nights, expected a room with a waterfront view, unfortunately all we got was a room over looking the entrance, room and bathroom clean, but could do with a refresh. Staff not approachable or friendly with the exception of the guy who worked the reception desk during the night, early morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicholas R, General Manager at Newport Mirage, responded to this review

Dear JulieG1963 Thanks for posting your review on Tripadvisor. My apologies you didn't receive the room you were expecting. Our waterfront rooms must be specifically booked as they are a different room type. I have passed your comments on to our Night Audit, Gordon he is quite a character. I am a little taken by your comments in relation to... More

Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have stayed at the Mirage before and had quite a good experience, however this last visit was very bad!! I understand that this is a wedding venue, unfortunately for us our room was on the same floor as the wedding reception, when the wedding finished up around 1130pm, all the guests were moved to a conference room a few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nicholas R, General Manager at Newport Mirage, responded to this review

Dear Mel, I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your last stay. I see on your reservation that you stayed with us over a number of days. Please accept my sincere apologies in regards to the noise issues you experienced on Friday night. The disturbance was actually a conference group and totally out of... More

Sydney
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Mostly positive experience great location clean room. A few little things though - the shower head needs replacing had mould and rust on it, we constantly had to keep asking for more amenities even though the room was booked for three adults we were only supplied with enough stuff for two. Requested a sofa bed it wasn't made up on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nicholas R, General Manager at Newport Mirage, responded to this review

Dear TravellingR, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. With regards to the shower heads I have had our maintenance department inspect all shower heads and replace them as required. I have spoken with our front desk and there was a miscommunication regarding the amount of guests staying in your room. Please accept my apologies for this not being addressed... More

Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Along with The Sands at Narrabeen the Mirage is one of the few options for a business stay in Sydney Northern beaches. Staff are always very pleasant and helpful and while the menu choices tend to be limited the food is of a good standard. Downside is that the rooms tend to be dated and can be very noisy especially... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicholas R, General Manager at Newport Mirage, responded to this review

Dear Bruce, Thank you for recognising our fantastic front office staff, and providing your feedback. I apologise you were disturbed during your stay especially at such an early hour. With regards to the menu choices we have 2 menus available our in room dining that consists of seven main meals, four burger and sandwich selections and two specials of the... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Nice area of Sydney. The resort is looking quite tired. Friendly, helpful reception staff. Our room looked like something out of the 80's. The room was quite spacious, but felt empty and completely lacked atmosphere with dated furniture. It was quite noisy with lots of plumbing noises audible and the music from the wedding that was being celebrated. We stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicholas R, General Manager at Newport Mirage, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, Thank you for your review and recognising our front office staff, I am disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations, however we are commencing the second stage of our renovation in January and I hope you are able to come back and join us once complete. Please contact me directly and I will organise something special... More

Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed 2 nights as part of a wedding group, when Sydney was very hot and blanketed in smoke from bushfires. Efficient airconditioning kept the room cool. Room was of a good average standard - nothing bad, but nothing exceptional either. Consider it to be about $20- $30 overpriced. Bed kingsized and very comfortable. No plug for wash hand basin. (Hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicholas R, General Manager at Newport Mirage, responded to this review

Dear HenryP, Thank you for your detailed review. Please accept my apologies for the inconsistencies experienced during your stay, I have followed up with the departments concerned and we will work hard to ensure we get it right in the future. Thank you for your feedback regarding the in room dining menu, we have reformatted the menu to clearly indicate... More

Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

As the only hotel in the area around a Newport it was the only nearby option for a business trip. It is showing signs of age through the decor, carpets etc. Some fresh paint and carpets would make a world of difference.. It is a comfortable hotel in a nice location, my room has great views across the water to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nicholas R, General Manager at Newport Mirage, responded to this review

Dear ScView, Thank you for your review, we are pleased to announce the second stage of our renovations are due to commence in January. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our reservations team I have passed them on. Happy travels and Kind Regards, Nicholas More

Been to Newport Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Mirage

Also Known As:
Mirage Hotel Newport
Address: Queens Parade West, Newport, Pittwater, New South Wales 2106, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Pittwater > Newport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newport Mirage 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Mirage is a 4 star hotel situated on the tranquil shores of Pittwater. This lovely location offers great views, friendly service and a multitude of leisure activities close by. Just 45 min from Sydney's CBD, the hotel is right in the heart of the beautiful Northern Beaches. The hotel has comfortable rooms and offers a variety of room types,some with stunning views across Pittwater. Being well known for it's fabulous catering, the hotel hosts a variety of successful conferences, weddings and functions year round. It is neighbouring Sydney's iconic Newport Arms Hotel (a great spot to enjoy some sunset drinks) and is a short drive from famous Palm Beach. Pittwater is renowned for its beautiful surrounds, so escape and explore this picturesque area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Newport Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.