We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Outback Lodge

5 Smith Street | P.O Box 734, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Outback Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
West Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived late to the outback lodge and the staff were very helpful in ensuring that we could still get into our apartment by leaving a key and instructions. The rooms was basic but had everything you needed. We booked the apartment through booking and on that website it said 10:30 check out however we got a knock at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank JBr1993
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, very quiet road, and easy proximity to beach. Well considered facilities, finishes and touches, very comfortable and pleasant. Wi-Fi available outdoors, in nice garden, seating provided. Our host Shez was friendly and eager to please. We'll definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank carstensmith
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again, all the very best for 2016 Regards Shez More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Overpriced, small unaccommodating dump with a very rude unhelpful manager! Not advised about on street parking needing to move your car every 2 hours even during the night or you can purchase a permit at an additional cost. Our room smelt of gas but nothing was done. We booked for 2 adults and 2 children and a dog and was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Digger130
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

We understand your disappointment, however, this is a booking you booked and you chose that accommodation type, we have a whole range of apartments that suit from 1-6 persons, however, this is the apartment you booked and you arrived with a pet without advising this on the booking. We only have some apartments which cater for pets, and we were... More 

Travelers are raving about these Manly hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Price was high for the at best average conditions. The stupid floor squeaked so much it drove me to distraction. The fold out cot We were given wouldn't lock opened so it just kept collapsing (which we didn't find out intill 9pm when we set it up and of course the office closes at 6) so our 6 month old... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chris c
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are sorry you had such an unpleasant experience, however, we deliberately pin tacked the curtain to the window above the entry door to eliminate the security lights shining in from the hallway - we originally had a curtain rod but guests advised light was shining through so we decided to do the next best thing by tacking... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

In a quiet street just steps from all that Manly has to offer and really close to the beach. Given the price I was pleasantly surprised by my accommodation, which included a sitting / dining area and a small kitchen and a separate bedroom with ensuite bathroom. It was all clean and tidy and nicely presented, if a bit dated.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sharonSA11
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

I love a good story and The Outback Lodge has plenty of them! Built before the turn of the century, this multiple building quaint lodge is just blocks off the beach in Manly Bay, a fun, trendy surf beach outside of Sydney. Boutique style, this place offered kitchenettes and bathrooms en-suite, along with A/C or heat. Wi-fi only works in... More 

Helpful?
Thank AdrienneGraves
Cowra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

This has got to be Manlys best kept secret. We stumbled upon it while looking for somewhere close to the Aquarium as my husband was doing a shark dive. They were so helpful especially about the parking. The rooms were cleaner than any 4 star high end places we have stayed in. We will be definitely staying here again. Cannot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

I stayed here during the Hurley Australian Open Of Surfing February 9th - 15th 2015. The beach is at a walking distance from the beach. If you surf as I do, the walk is not that bad while carrying the surfboard. Make sure to visit The Corso which is one of the main streets of Manly.

Helpful?
2 Thank FSGG92
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the outback lodge for one night for a mini break but it will definitely be a place to remember to come back to, reasonably priced rooms, clean and well presented. Just a short walk to the beach and shops. Excellent stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank erinmalcol
Manly, Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

It is with pleasure that I am writing another review for The Outback Lodge. Once again we needed last minute accommodation in Manly & this time we had a dog with us. I called their landline number & spoke to Shez who arranged for us to stay in a pet friendly apartment. Lucky us !! What a great little pad,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank sfgreen23
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
0.3 mi away
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
0.6 mi away
The Sebel Manly Beach
0.5 mi away
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Manly - Warringah
0.1 mi away
Manly Surfside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay