We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Outback Lodge

3.0 of 5 5 Smith Street | P.O Box 734, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Outback Lodge
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Outback Lodge
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
8
20
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Outback Lodge is a hidden gem in Manly. Located on a quiet residential street, yet within walking distance to the beach, cafes, etc. Rooms feature kitchenette and ensuite and are spacious. Only street parking is available, and parking permit is available from the office if required.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
63 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Mum and I stayed in an executive suite for three nights while in Manly and it was like having a home in the quiet suburbs rather than a hotel. The bed was comfy and I was able to sleep on the couch, which was comfy as well. The lady who checked us in was friendly and helpful. The location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Köln
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

very nice appartements clean and quiet friendly personell the place is a little off the beaten track but that's just a positive point the appartements are equipped with the essential kitchen ware. In any way I'd come again staying in manly is esquisitely the best place for sydney because it has a beach and a wonderful ferryride straight to circular... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The 1 bedroom studio apartment on the website is certainly NOT the room that we paid for. Small, dated room with a fan that didn't work - needless to say we had no sleep due to the heat. Our room at the top of the stairs offered no privacy as other guests looked through window, if we closed the blind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth,Western Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked The Outback Lodge for 2 nights during the Australia Day long weekend at short notice. We had day-tripped to Manly at the end of a previous business trip to Sydney and liked the vibe, so decided to stay in Manly on the weekend preceding the next business trip. Our choice to stay at The Outback Lodge was driven... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bendigo, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

This place is in a great location and the garden around it is lovely. However the one bedroom apartment we stayed in was pretty disappointing. There was no air conditioning and the fan provided didn't work and the room was unbearably hot the night we stayed. One of the windows had no curtains so the light streamed in at dawn.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review however you booked an apartment without air conditioning, our website clearly states which apartments are a/c, pet friendly or family rooms, unfortunately as you booked via a 3 rd party we have no control over what they advertise. We will address the issue of a blind over the opaq glass window and investigate problem with... More 

Sydney, NSW
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

The Bathroom is extremely small in One-Bedroom Apartment. Kitchen could be better designed allowing more room in Bathroom. There is minimal crockery in Kitchen; suggest at least a Teapot. The Booking.com website stated "air-conditioning" which is incorrect - there's a ceiling fan.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Penrith, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

we stayed there last nite clean but wasn't happy lock outside to aparments wasn't working had to ring them they knew it was faulty ,weren't happy couldn't get in ,wouldn't stay again pretty bad when they know and I had to get up 3 times and let other people in who were locked out ,and it was noisy with doors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manly, Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We were really happy with our stay at The Outback Lodge. We stayed in a basic room ( that I requested as we were on a budget) with a shared bathroom & kitchen/lounge area but could have booked both bedrooms as a family room. I explained that we were only in Manly for the night with our 3 year &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to put a review up, we really appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back again - Shez More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Outback Lodge in a one bedroom apartment. It was clean and tidy and had all the amenities you need. It is two blocks from the beach. Wifi is accessible in the garden area. If you have a car we recommend you purchase the parking coupons as parking is limited to two hours otherwise in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you stay at The Outback Lodge - check out our facebook page for updates on painting progress, slow with rain this month but getting there. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Outback Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outback Lodge

Address: 5 Smith Street | P.O Box 734, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Outback Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Outback Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay