We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Outback Lodge

5 Smith Street | P.O Box 734, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Outback Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Outback Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    16
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
12
24
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a gorgeous spot ... very warm, clean and comfortable... we normally take our own pillows but no the pillows were just right and I am fussy with my pillows !!! - Beds comfortable - very spacious indeed. When we arrived with our little Maltese Shih Tzu, the receptionist was very accommodating with Bella.. bowl ; bed ; blanket etc... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kiama, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found our stay at the Outback Lodge very comfortable. We had the Upstairs Executive Studio Apartment and loved the very sunny room as it was in winter. Oil heater was provided, so very warm. Kitchen and bathroom facilities were great and I especially appreciated the magnifying mirror in the bathroom. The room was clean, bed comfortable and shower was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Desperately needing short break for myself and my aged Pomeranian dog.WOW! Pre booked dog friendly self contained accommodation at this Lodge. Staff had pet bed and dishes in place on arrival..though I had her own bedding..my bed was blissful..unit beautifully clean and quiet..everything I needed..and home cooked meals/coffee available from cosy Italian deli nearby..beach walks easy distance away.. ThisLodge is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic service from reception. We were a group of 6 and they were happy to help us with multiple beds in a 2 bedroom apartment. The bedrooms are large with a small lounge/ kitchen area which is all we needed. Great stay, peaceful but close to everything. Recommend for families and singles.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

Thank you so much for a lovely time, me and my family will never forget our stay. All the staff went an extra mile to make it amazing and were always so helpful. Great value for money and wonderful apartment close to the beach, beautiful location. One word to sum it up; paradise!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Having just returned from a trip to Australia, New Zealand and Singapore I must write to thank Shaz and her team for making my stay so welcoming. My room was clean, as were the towels and bedding and the location is just perfect ... on a quiet residential street but just a stroll away from the beach, restaurants and shops... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

My wife and I ..plus dog..stayed in this place recently. My wife wrote some reasonable comments which I thought were very mild ..but the owner contested them. Let me add the ones I thought she should have mentioned. We had an ' apartment' . The advert shows comfortable rooms with space, good kitchen facilities( incl stove) ,wood floors, carpets etc.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

The so called "shack" apartment this guest refers to, is part of the original house which was built in the very early 1900's as was most of the homes in the Manly area - these "shacks" are unique to the Manly area and especially Smith Street which has a heritage protection order on these types of dwellings - we do... More 

Travelers are raving about these Manly hotels

Manly, Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

We needed to stay in Manly at the last minute with our little boy and lucky for us there was a suitable room available. Thanks again Shez & Anna for accommodating our needs at such short notice. We stay here because it is great value, close to everything and I like the charm of the buildings...so much more character than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we do strive to look after our guests and enjoy having families stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

BEWARE! Do not stay at this Lodge. The owner was arrogant, unhelpful and deliberately overcharged me, even after politely asking for a refund. I have made an official complaint to the booking agency. There are no decent facilities at this Lodge, the walls are paper thin and the WiFi was terrible. You have been warned. Stay at your own peril.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Yes we get all types and cant please everyone especially those that threaten and try to blackmail us - beware of this guest! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We have a little West-highland White Terrier and find it difficult to travel because Australia is not a dog-friendly country: it’s hard to find accommodation, impossible to walk in picturesque places in the countryside because national parks seem to spread almost everywhere and dogs are barred from national parks, impossible to take a dog into restaurants and cafes, sometimes even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Cant believe the comments some guests put on trip adviser - yes we do tell our guests please dont allow your pet to sleep on the lounge we provide a pet bed for pets if owners do not bring one including food bowls. We are all lovers of pets here the owner has 2 dogs, there are 3 apartments which... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
0.3 mi away
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
0.6 mi away
The Sebel Manly Beach
0.5 mi away
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manly Surfside Apartments
1.1 mi away
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Manly - Warringah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay