We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Outback Lodge

3.0 of 5 5 Smith Street | P.O Box 734, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Outback Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Outback Lodge
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
8
19
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Perth,Western Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked The Outback Lodge for 2 nights during the Australia Day long weekend at short notice. We had day-tripped to Manly at the end of a previous business trip to Sydney and liked the vibe, so decided to stay in Manly on the weekend preceding the next business trip. Our choice to stay at The Outback Lodge was driven... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bendigo, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This place is in a great location and the garden around it is lovely. However the one bedroom apartment we stayed in was pretty disappointing. There was no air conditioning and the fan provided didn't work and the room was unbearably hot the night we stayed. One of the windows had no curtains so the light streamed in at dawn.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review however you booked an apartment without air conditioning, our website clearly states which apartments are a/c, pet friendly or family rooms, unfortunately as you booked via a 3 rd party we have no control over what they advertise. We will address the issue of a blind over the opaq glass window and investigate problem with... More 

Sydney, NSW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Bathroom is extremely small in One-Bedroom Apartment. Kitchen could be better designed allowing more room in Bathroom. There is minimal crockery in Kitchen; suggest at least a Teapot. The Booking.com website stated "air-conditioning" which is incorrect - there's a ceiling fan.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penrith, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

we stayed there last nite clean but wasn't happy lock outside to aparments wasn't working had to ring them they knew it was faulty ,weren't happy couldn't get in ,wouldn't stay again pretty bad when they know and I had to get up 3 times and let other people in who were locked out ,and it was noisy with doors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manly, Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We were really happy with our stay at The Outback Lodge. We stayed in a basic room ( that I requested as we were on a budget) with a shared bathroom & kitchen/lounge area but could have booked both bedrooms as a family room. I explained that we were only in Manly for the night with our 3 year &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to put a review up, we really appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back again - Shez More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Outback Lodge in a one bedroom apartment. It was clean and tidy and had all the amenities you need. It is two blocks from the beach. Wifi is accessible in the garden area. If you have a car we recommend you purchase the parking coupons as parking is limited to two hours otherwise in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you stay at The Outback Lodge - check out our facebook page for updates on painting progress, slow with rain this month but getting there. More 

Rimini, Italy
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Dear Traveller, I went to visit the lodge, before booking by email. It was beginning of July. I've been told a rate per week that after booking wasn't reconfirmed and I was billed twice! Obviously I made a fuss about that and saved all the communications in my Outlook. One day I also went to the reception manager and asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Claudio for your review - we knew you would put one up. The facts are the guest did ask for a special weekly rate, of which we gave, however, the guest assumed that he could come and go in that week as part of the special weekly rate, it was explained to the guest that the rate would... More 

Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

When we arrived we were shown to our room - well so we thought. It was a lovely room and within 5 minutes of being in it we had a knock on the door and we were asked to move rooms there was a mistake. We were shown to what could be described as an oversized caravan. The hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments greatly appreciate it. More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our Stay at the Outback Lodge in MANLY Was only for 1 night only – in lovely room 4007 it had old world charm but with modern furnishings It was like staying in the outback – but only a short walk away to restaurants, beach, pubs and the Manly Warf And I have to say I and my partner was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I booked here to have something different than the usual beach stay. (Since I have lived in Manly before). First impression was good, although there were some hairs on the bathroom floor which didn't make me smile. This was room 1007. I found the sofa awkward but manageable to sit on. Apart from the room being freezing with no heating,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Really had no control over neighbours undertaking renovations on their properties but did try to make the guests stay more enjoyable by offering another apartment which the guest advised was lovely. The walk from The Outback Lodge is an easy 10 minute stroll to the ferries or to the Corso, and only an easy 5 minutes to the ocean beach.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Outback Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outback Lodge

Address: 5 Smith Street | P.O Box 734, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Outback Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Outback Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay