We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Outback Lodge

5 Smith Street | P.O Box 734, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Outback Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Outback Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
10
22
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Milton Keynes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having just returned from a trip to Australia, New Zealand and Singapore I must write to thank Shaz and her team for making my stay so welcoming. My room was clean, as were the towels and bedding and the location is just perfect ... on a quiet residential street but just a stroll away from the beach, restaurants and shops... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I ..plus dog..stayed in this place recently. My wife wrote some reasonable comments which I thought were very mild ..but the owner contested them. Let me add the ones I thought she should have mentioned. We had an ' apartment' . The advert shows comfortable rooms with space, good kitchen facilities( incl stove) ,wood floors, carpets etc.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

The so called "shack" apartment this guest refers to, is part of the original house which was built in the very early 1900's as was most of the homes in the Manly area - these "shacks" are unique to the Manly area and especially Smith Street which has a heritage protection order on these types of dwellings - we do... More 

Travelers are raving about these Manly hotels

Manly, Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We needed to stay in Manly at the last minute with our little boy and lucky for us there was a suitable room available. Thanks again Shez & Anna for accommodating our needs at such short notice. We stay here because it is great value, close to everything and I like the charm of the buildings...so much more character than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we do strive to look after our guests and enjoy having families stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

BEWARE! Do not stay at this Lodge. The owner was arrogant, unhelpful and deliberately overcharged me, even after politely asking for a refund. I have made an official complaint to the booking agency. There are no decent facilities at this Lodge, the walls are paper thin and the WiFi was terrible. You have been warned. Stay at your own peril.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Yes we get all types and cant please everyone especially those that threaten and try to blackmail us - beware of this guest! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We have a little West-highland White Terrier and find it difficult to travel because Australia is not a dog-friendly country: it’s hard to find accommodation, impossible to walk in picturesque places in the countryside because national parks seem to spread almost everywhere and dogs are barred from national parks, impossible to take a dog into restaurants and cafes, sometimes even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Cant believe the comments some guests put on trip adviser - yes we do tell our guests please dont allow your pet to sleep on the lounge we provide a pet bed for pets if owners do not bring one including food bowls. We are all lovers of pets here the owner has 2 dogs, there are 3 apartments which... More 

Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Caught the ferry to Manly and walked to the Outback Lodge. Directions on website good. Very good location, close to beach and plenty of places to eat, any meal, and enjoy the city beach side life. The Lodge had modern facilities located in the quite streets a couple of rows over from the beach. Clean and well appointed was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and yes we know the wifi is difficult however it is free, and most cafes and along the ocean front you can also get free wifi - the cost to put into these 4 properties of The Outback Lodge is well over $80,000 so unfortunately at present we will have to just offer our guests... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

The Outback Lodge is a hidden gem in Manly. Located on a quiet residential street, yet within walking distance to the beach, cafes, etc. Rooms feature kitchenette and ensuite and are spacious. Only street parking is available, and parking permit is available from the office if required.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put a review on tripadiser, it was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Outback Lodge. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
73 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Mum and I stayed in an executive suite for three nights while in Manly and it was like having a home in the quiet suburbs rather than a hotel. The bed was comfy and I was able to sleep on the couch, which was comfy as well. The lady who checked us in was friendly and helpful. The location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry for delay in replying but been on annual leave, thank you so much for your review on tripadviser, look forward to welcoming you once again to The Outback Lodge. More 

Köln
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

very nice appartements clean and quiet friendly personell the place is a little off the beaten track but that's just a positive point the appartements are equipped with the essential kitchen ware. In any way I'd come again staying in manly is esquisitely the best place for sydney because it has a beach and a wonderful ferryride straight to circular... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we hope you come and visit us again real soon. More 

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

The 1 bedroom studio apartment on the website is certainly NOT the room that we paid for. Small, dated room with a fan that didn't work - needless to say we had no sleep due to the heat. Our room at the top of the stairs offered no privacy as other guests looked through window, if we closed the blind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay