We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Outback Lodge

5 Smith Street | P.O Box 734, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Outback Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Outback Lodge
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    12
    5
    8
See reviews for
10
21
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Manly, Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We needed to stay in Manly at the last minute with our little boy and lucky for us there was a suitable room available. Thanks again Shez & Anna for accommodating our needs at such short notice. We stay here because it is great value, close to everything and I like the charm of the buildings...so much more character than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we do strive to look after our guests and enjoy having families stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

BEWARE! Do not stay at this Lodge. The owner was arrogant, unhelpful and deliberately overcharged me, even after politely asking for a refund. I have made an official complaint to the booking agency. There are no decent facilities at this Lodge, the walls are paper thin and the WiFi was terrible. You have been warned. Stay at your own peril.

Was this review helpful? Yes
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Yes we get all types and cant please everyone especially those that threaten and try to blackmail us - beware of this guest! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have a little West-highland White Terrier and find it difficult to travel because Australia is not a dog-friendly country: it’s hard to find accommodation, impossible to walk in picturesque places in the countryside because national parks seem to spread almost everywhere and dogs are barred from national parks, impossible to take a dog into restaurants and cafes, sometimes even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Cant believe the comments some guests put on trip adviser - yes we do tell our guests please dont allow your pet to sleep on the lounge we provide a pet bed for pets if owners do not bring one including food bowls. We are all lovers of pets here the owner has 2 dogs, there are 3 apartments which... More 

Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Caught the ferry to Manly and walked to the Outback Lodge. Directions on website good. Very good location, close to beach and plenty of places to eat, any meal, and enjoy the city beach side life. The Lodge had modern facilities located in the quite streets a couple of rows over from the beach. Clean and well appointed was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and yes we know the wifi is difficult however it is free, and most cafes and along the ocean front you can also get free wifi - the cost to put into these 4 properties of The Outback Lodge is well over $80,000 so unfortunately at present we will have to just offer our guests... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

The Outback Lodge is a hidden gem in Manly. Located on a quiet residential street, yet within walking distance to the beach, cafes, etc. Rooms feature kitchenette and ensuite and are spacious. Only street parking is available, and parking permit is available from the office if required.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put a review on tripadiser, it was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Outback Lodge. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
70 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Mum and I stayed in an executive suite for three nights while in Manly and it was like having a home in the quiet suburbs rather than a hotel. The bed was comfy and I was able to sleep on the couch, which was comfy as well. The lady who checked us in was friendly and helpful. The location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry for delay in replying but been on annual leave, thank you so much for your review on tripadviser, look forward to welcoming you once again to The Outback Lodge. More 

Köln
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

very nice appartements clean and quiet friendly personell the place is a little off the beaten track but that's just a positive point the appartements are equipped with the essential kitchen ware. In any way I'd come again staying in manly is esquisitely the best place for sydney because it has a beach and a wonderful ferryride straight to circular... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we hope you come and visit us again real soon. More 

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

The 1 bedroom studio apartment on the website is certainly NOT the room that we paid for. Small, dated room with a fan that didn't work - needless to say we had no sleep due to the heat. Our room at the top of the stairs offered no privacy as other guests looked through window, if we closed the blind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth,Western Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

We booked The Outback Lodge for 2 nights during the Australia Day long weekend at short notice. We had day-tripped to Manly at the end of a previous business trip to Sydney and liked the vibe, so decided to stay in Manly on the weekend preceding the next business trip. Our choice to stay at The Outback Lodge was driven... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bendigo, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

This place is in a great location and the garden around it is lovely. However the one bedroom apartment we stayed in was pretty disappointing. There was no air conditioning and the fan provided didn't work and the room was unbearably hot the night we stayed. One of the windows had no curtains so the light streamed in at dawn.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review however you booked an apartment without air conditioning, our website clearly states which apartments are a/c, pet friendly or family rooms, unfortunately as you booked via a 3 rd party we have no control over what they advertise. We will address the issue of a blind over the opaq glass window and investigate problem with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question