We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Collaroy Beach accommodations

Sydney Beachouse YHA

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   4 Collaroy St, Collaroy Beach, Warringah, New South Wales 2097, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sydney Beachouse YHA to your Saves list
Sydney Beachouse YHA
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
8
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed one night, was in and out. Checked in, dropped my bag, went out for diner. In the morning was looking for my clothes....gone. So far I noticed 4 pieces missing. I have been traveling for 2 months and never had problems. This is a shame! Funny thing, in my 5 bedroom dorm there was gear frim only one person... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James D, Manager at Sydney Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Dear Nathalie, I am sorry you had your belongings stolen. This is horrible for anyone, no matter where it happens. We do ask all guests to be careful with their property, as it only takes one person's actions to ruin your holiday. Every dorm bed has a secure locker in the room, and we have extra security lockers by reception.... More

Timbuktu, Mali
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hostel was full of workers (which would be nice if you're working as well but I wasn't). The Rooms were smelly, the bathrooms and the kitchen a mess, the common area was dirty and the atmosphere wasn't too nice. Plus there is not really anything to do around. Bonus: free surfboards!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James D, Manager at Sydney Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Dear Soefchen, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are a workers hostel, which suits many people, but not all. Working holiday makers are allowed to work for the same employer for up to 6 months, meaning many stay for this amount of time. We did however have problems with the cleanliness of the hostel, but now... More

Travelers are raving about these Collaroy Beach hotels

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Turned up and had a speedy check in and found our 6 bed dorm quickly. Also there is FREE SECURE PARKING! All seemed nice an clean which we were happy about. Big lockers for backpacks long as you have your own padlock. Kitchen has great commercial stoves but you need to either leave a deposit for cutlery or bring your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

After reading some of the reviews I was a little apprehensive to be staying at the Collaroy YHA with my family. When we arrived the reception staff were friendly responsive and were able to help us get a room to fit all 6 of us in for 2 nights. We had a family room on the ground floor and even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coffin Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have to say that the staff here were exceptionally friendly. They made us feel so welcome! The location is great, just off the main street at Collaroy with a bakery next door for morning coffee! It was also surprisingly quiet. However it was extremely dirty and in need of repairs. Our sheets on the bed were dirty, the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James D, General Manager at Sydney Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. I am glad you like our staff; they are our best asset and we have a focus on customer service. Your comments are valid about the sheets. They are cleaned commercially, but need replacing. We have had new stock on order for many months now, but due to a warehouse fire,... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hostel seemed a nice friendly place. I got to my room and the bed was covered in someone else's hair and sand. After cleaning the bed there was cobwebs everywhere and spiders. I didn't like this place and had inconsiderate people in my dorm who got up every hour! I only had a dorm for 4!

Was this review helpful? Yes
James D, Manager at Sydney Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. I am glad you had a good first impression of our hostel, but sorry for the inconsiderate guests you encountered. Sharing with others can be the best and the worst part of hostelling, but many people form life long friends. However, if you have a problem with your room mate, please let the staff... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hostel for a month. We found work at the hostel. They try to provide work for backpackers, with us they succeeded. They evening activities are every week more or less the same, but good fun. Won some free pizzas here. The beds are okay and they have a nice swimmingpool to cool off.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James D, Manager at Sydney Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Dear Arjen, Thanks for taking the time to write a review about Sydney Beachouse YHA. I am glad you did find work in the local area. We have all been working hard here to source jobs for our guests on Working Holiday Visas, and we still have lots of work available. I agree that the activities need to be mixed... More

Aubonne, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed a few days in the guesthouse during the winter. Our family room was large and clean. There is a large kitchen with dining room, very convenient for dining. We took advantage of the bikes provided by the guesthouse for lovely walks. The beach is a two minute walk. We have not been able to enjoy the pool, too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The location of this place is ideal for many people who want to be close to a beautiful beach and a few places to eat and drink. The hostel has a colourful and welcoming feel with friendly staff. The rooms are basic and not very clean, bathrooms are basic and the shower is very low pressure. The worst part of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Great location, close to the beach and local amenities. Friendly staff and a warm welcome. Other residents friendly and a great atmosphere in communal areas. Rooms and bathrooms could do with a good clean and some air fresher for the corridors lined with smelly workmans boots would be a huge improvement! Stayed April 2013.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Sydney Beachouse YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Beachouse YHA

Address: 4 Collaroy St, Collaroy Beach, Warringah, New South Wales 2097, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Warringah > Collaroy Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Collaroy Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Beachouse YHA 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Beachouse YHA is a stalwart in the Sydney accommodation market. The modern, award winning facilities provide a perfect base to explore the City via express bus, or the many stunning beaches from Manly to Palm Beach. Sydney Beachouse boasts share, ensuite, twin, double & family rooms with spacious airy living areas, rooftop swimming pool, BBQ's & a cafe. Activity equipment such as Surfboards and Bicycles are free to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Tingo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sydney Beachouse YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sydney Beachouse YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.