We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Collaroy Beach accommodations

Sydney Beachouse YHA

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   4 Collaroy St, Collaroy Beach, Warringah, New South Wales 2097, Australia
Hotel amenities
Sydney Beachouse YHA
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sydney Beachouse YHA to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014
Anjiphotos Gloucester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    10
    9
    4
See reviews for
7
9
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Billed as the 'Sydney Beachouse', you can't deny the location of this place is great, just across from the beach and a direct bus ride away from Sydney CBD - however, it rates as one of my worst hostel experiences ever - if you want somewhere quiet & clean, this definitely isn't the place for you. After a long and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James D, General Manager at Sydney Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay - you should not have been disturbed at night, and you should have been looked after at reception. Our service is almost always referred to as excellent, so I am particularly disappointed that we let you down in this instance. I will... More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I have stayed at the Sydney Beachhouse YHA on many trips to Sydney over the last 10 years, and have to say it is the most friendly and warm nice place to stay. I have made good friends there as people of all ages and nationalities are there. Not just youngsters. Indeed I have a friend from UK who goes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This was a less expensive alternative for me and my daughter who was 15 at the time. Mostly students and a nice environment. Loved it, would stay there again. This is for backpackers and people on a budget

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thunder Bay
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed here for quite awhile. The beach was very close. Staff were friendly. Rooms clean. Nice common area. Very nice area without the hustle and bustle of central Sydney. I would recommend this hostel. One of the nicest I stayed in while in Australia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Poorly ventilated, pretty cramped rooms with almost inaccessible power points are the least of the problems at this place. If you're accustomed to a modern approach to people who don't have white skin, this isn't the place for you. All but two of the staff were invariably unhelpful and terse to our group, but not at all to people with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James D, General Manager at Sydney Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Dear AT, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. I certainly take seriously the allegations you have made, and would appreciate a meeting to discuss further. In my nine years here, I have never seen racism from our staff, though I have asked a number of guests to leave for making racial slurs against others staying here.... More

Travelers are raving about these Collaroy Beach hotels

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here for a week, the rooms are stuffy, smell pretty badly, and could use a good cleaning. The staff were polite and helpful. The hostel was only filled with construction workers and no one was really interested in meeting any one new. Also the location is pretty remote it's over an hour from the city, and theres not much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed in a family room with ensuite bathroom in March. Room was comfortable and clean with lots of space for storing bags. Bathroom had a small plumbing issue - the staff were very helpful but it didn't get fixed before we left (to be fair, we were out a lot and didn't really mention until late into our trip). Staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed one night, was in and out. Checked in, dropped my bag, went out for diner. In the morning was looking for my clothes....gone. So far I noticed 4 pieces missing. I have been traveling for 2 months and never had problems. This is a shame! Funny thing, in my 5 bedroom dorm there was gear frim only one person... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James D, Manager at Sydney Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Dear Nathalie, I am sorry you had your belongings stolen. This is horrible for anyone, no matter where it happens. We do ask all guests to be careful with their property, as it only takes one person's actions to ruin your holiday. Every dorm bed has a secure locker in the room, and we have extra security lockers by reception.... More

Timbuktu, Mali
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hostel was full of workers (which would be nice if you're working as well but I wasn't). The Rooms were smelly, the bathrooms and the kitchen a mess, the common area was dirty and the atmosphere wasn't too nice. Plus there is not really anything to do around. Bonus: free surfboards!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James D, Manager at Sydney Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Dear Soefchen, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are a workers hostel, which suits many people, but not all. Working holiday makers are allowed to work for the same employer for up to 6 months, meaning many stay for this amount of time. We did however have problems with the cleanliness of the hostel, but now... More

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Turned up and had a speedy check in and found our 6 bed dorm quickly. Also there is FREE SECURE PARKING! All seemed nice an clean which we were happy about. Big lockers for backpacks long as you have your own padlock. Kitchen has great commercial stoves but you need to either leave a deposit for cutlery or bring your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sydney Beachouse YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Beachouse YHA

Address: 4 Collaroy St, Collaroy Beach, Warringah, New South Wales 2097, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Warringah > Collaroy Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Beachouse YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Sydney Beachouse YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
1:54
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay