We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Las Cabanas del Capitan

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Retorno Jacarandas #88 | Beach front location, Rincon de Guayabitos, Mexico
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Panoramas (6)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Spokane, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a wonderful place to stay...much nicer than staying in Puerto Vallarta (IMO). My wife and I love Mexico, and we always look for locations away from the main tourist stops. Las Cabanas del Capitan in Rincon de Guayabitos fit our needs perfectly. We stayed in room 22, with a view of the ocean out our living room window.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Akiracliq
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a nicely maintained property right on the beach in Guayabitos. We had an ocean view suite. This had the oddest layout I have had in Mexico. The suite is wide open with a large kitchen that goes out to the terrace. There is no way to close this part of the suite and there are just a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nanpacific
Cristóbal A, Director Comercial at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this review

Hello: Thank you for your good comments... I'm afraid we have an open units concept, so all the suites you will find with us have an outside kitchen. This is our most attractive issue for our guests, even when some people don't feel convinced at all like you. I would like to clarify that the bedroom can be locked anyway... More 

Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

Maybe when they finish, things will be nice here, but it's a noisy construction site now. It's 9 pm and I am listening to the workers yell and the cement truck spin as they do a pour outside. When I checked in, they said not to worry: I would only have construction noise from 8 am to 5 pm. Sure... More 

Helpful?
Thank happyTexantoo
Cristóbal A, Director Comercial at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this review

Hello: I am really sorry for all these inconveniences... We are aware of our weakness for this year with the noisy building. However, we are about to finish the new building in less than a month. Perhaps, for March 2016 the whole building will be finished. In this particular case you are complaining about, we had a problem with the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rincon de Guayabitos hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

I appreciated all these reviews as I've had great difficulty finding much intell on lodgings in Guayabitos. We have never been to this area nor have we ever rented a condo. Any information on this areas lodgings would be appreciated

Helpful?
Thank Impy56
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

Booked Las Cabanas del Capitan and basically spent 2 weeks in the middle of a construction site. Before booking we were told there was construction, but that it would be complete by Dec, 2015. However, this would not appear to be the case - more like Dec, 2016. Crews arrived by 7 a.m. and worked until 5 or 6 p.m.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tripfan2014
Cristóbal A, Director Comercial at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this review

Hello: Thank you for your comments. Certainly, this 2015 year has been very difficult for us. We have been renovating the whole complex. We are building new units and renovating the old ones so we always be one step forward. As we told you when you booked, the building will be finished by December 2015 (this month has not been... More 

Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

I enjoyed my stay but do have a major quibble. While this hotel does provide hand soap and shampoo, unlike others in the area, it does not provide dish soap! However, there is a big sign saying you will be charged 100 pesos if you don't wash your dishes. When I commented on this, the person said I could go... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank FlorenceandFlory
Cristóbal A, Director Comercial at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this review

Hello: Thank you for your comments. I would like to clarify that we always wash and sanitize the dishes and all the room before a new guest checks in. The policy of keeping the dishes clean while you are staying with us for a few nights is in order to avoid temporary plagues. That's all. Anyway, we will of course... More 

Sointula, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

My 4th year in de Guayabitos. 2nd year at Cabanas. A great place to experience life in small town Mexico. The units are efficient and clean. The staff is excellent and very friendly. The grounds are immaculate. 24 hour staff and night security. Owners live on site. A great place to make new friends and create memories with them as... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen C
Cristóbal A, Director Comercial at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this review

Hello: Thank you for your positive comments. For sure, the building process will end before December 2015, so next year you will be really surprised about all the renovations. See you soon, More 

Red Feather Lakes, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

When considering potential properties for future extended stays, we were able to quickly cross this one off the list... Owners have a large dark that they allow to bark continually throughout the day... So much for a peaceful setting!

Helpful?
2 Thank mtnmanclp
Cristóbal A, Director Comercial at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your time writing your comments. Certainly, the great dane dog living in the penthouse room barks regularly (only during the day). Unfortunately, this is one of our few weaknesses compared to all the strengths we have. This dog only disturbs during the day and just in a little area of the property (not all). I would... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015 via mobile

Top marks for a budget hotel. Just the right amount of rustic charm . It's right on the beach. Most people staying here stay up to a couple of months. There are kitchens in most units. The one downside is most people book year to year. So could be difficult to get a roomA lot of retired people who come... More 

Helpful?
Thank 152sharonac152
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was a delightful little place to stay in Guayabitos. We stayed in a ground floor bungalow which had an outdoor kitchen and then the main room and bathroom were inside. So cute!! Our room had two queen beds and a bathroom and then shuttered windows that opened up to our kitchen area.... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank gayle6769
Cristóbal A, Director Comercial at Las Cabanas del Capitan, responded to this review

Hello. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in México with us. Your good comments will encourage all our staff in order to keep improving our service and facilities. Looking forward to seeing you soon again. Regards!!!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

252 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (178)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
Ground Floor Bungalow (31)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (5)
Viewed
New Standard Room (10)
Viewed
New Suite (21)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Upper Floor Bungalow (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rincon de Guayabitos hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Decameron Los Cocos
Hotel Decameron Los Cocos
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#14 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Guayabitos
Hotel Guayabitos
#12 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San Carlos
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San C...
#7 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Real
Posada Real
#5 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Resort
Casablanca Resort
#6 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay