We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Pontyclun hotels

Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel

Moto Service Area, M4 Motorway, Pontyclun CF72 8SA, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
22%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Pontyclun
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    18
    20
    20
See reviews for
23
17
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

having been placed between a group of young lads, noisy, smoking joints, banging doors and on Saturday nights local boy racers meet up in car park, sadly next morning my car had rear end damage where someone smashed into it and drove off. Never stay here, even though its cheap.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night for work in Cardiff which was only a ten minute car ride away. The room was looking tired and in need of a make over although it was clean the TV in the room was small and the remote only worked if you stood next to the tv. You get what you pay for so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glanamman
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Grim, doesn't even begin to describe this awful place. Stayed here as I refused to pay £120 for a room that normally costs £40 (not profiteering because it's a Saturday night are we Travelodge?) and because my nephew & I just need somewhere to stay before a very early start in Cardiff. The first room, was rejected - because it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The reception was not welcoming, the hallways looked cheap and could really of done with a fresh coat of paint, The 2 main lights did not work in thew room but were informed when checking in, they told us the 2 bedside lights worked which was true if you count one of the lights doing a morse code impression as... More

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uk
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

usually check trip advisor before booking places.didnt this time and what a mistake! staff at check in very nice and confirmed that a bus service ran regularly into Cardiff(we had been told this by another staff member on the phone the day before. She advised us to ask the guy on the desk next day who would know the time... More

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night in the run up to a Rugby International weekend. Paid £32 for a double room which was great value. Having visited Travelodge before, I expected a double with a couch bed in the room. I was disappointed to only have a double and no couch for two single straight guys so a trip to reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worms, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Generally, the hotel is not in a good condition and in dire need of renovation. Overall it is not in a fit state to be rented out. But the actual experience of staying there was even worse. My room stank horribly, the heating and the TV remote control did not work and the bathroom was moldy. On the plus side,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review DrKr1968. We expect our rooms to be cleaned and well maintained to meet with our high standards, however we can happily confirm that we are currently undergoing a refurbishment scheme across all our hotels in which our hotels will receive a fresh new room design and layout. We are sorry for the experience you had... More

West Wickham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I have stayed in many Travelodges and am normally very happy with the standards. Unfortunately this particular Travelodge is not up to the standards I have found at any others. Then door handle was falling off, the TV remotes didn't work and the place is generally shabby and run down. I would recommend Travelodge to anyone as very good value... More

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

If price is the driving force, this hotel offers decent value for money. However, it is rather old fashioned (you are given a large key fob, for example, with traditional key attached for room access rather than a more modern key card). The hotel would benefit from updating and refreshing. There is free parking available in a large car park... More

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This lodge is in a MOTO service station so we expected it to be noisier than some, it is also very close to the M4 but the lodge was very quiet very clean and has great staff. We stayed 4 nights over the New Year it was convenient to get out and about. There is no restaurant in these services,... More

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel

Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff West Hotel Pontyclun
Travelodge Cardiff West Hotel
Travelodge Pontyclun
Travel Lodge Pontyclun
Pontyclun Travelodge
Pontyclun Travel Lodge
Address: Moto Service Area, M4 Motorway, Pontyclun CF72 8SA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontyclun
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Pontyclun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.