We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Machynlleth B&Bs / inns

The Old Coach House

Dolcorsllwyn | Aberangell, Machynlleth SY20 9AB, Wales
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Old Coach House
Ranked #4 of 12 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Machynlleth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Old Coach House for three nights and loved every minute of my stay. Sue and Paddy are so welcoming and friendly and the perfect hosts. The cream bedroom has a lovely view over the garden and the beautiful countryside. I'd recommend that you have the evening meal - wonderful local food served in a dining room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night to visit a falconry experience nearby. On arriving Sue made us a pot of tea and coffee cake which we ate in the visitors lounge complete with massive TV and real wood fire. Both Paddy and Sue made us feel really at home and were very welcoming. The B&B itself is stunning and I really dont... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We arrived late at the Old Coach House to a warm welcome. Lovely place, lovely proprietors, comfortable room, beautiful setting, fine breakfast. In the morning we could see the beautiful countryside surrounding the Old Coach House. Proprietors were extremely helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
paddy195023, Owner at The Old Coach House, responded to this review

Thank you for your generous review of your recent stay with us. It is always a delight to welcome American guests who bring their own special warmth to The Old Coach House. We are very glad that you enjoyed your overnight stay and that you could appreciate the beauty of our location in the morning. We hope you had a... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A truly wonderful stay. Paddy and Sue could not have been more welcoming or helpful. I have to follow a dairy free diet for health reasons and Sue not only made sure I had substitute milk, spread and yoghurt but researched a dairy free custard so that I could have the same dessert as my husband. Truly service beyond the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
paddy195023, Owner at The Old Coach House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review of your recent stay with us in The Old Coach House. We really enjoyed your company during your short break with us and we were only too pleased to make your stay as stress-free as possible in terms of your dietary requirements. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.... More

Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

It was our first time staying in a B&B, so we were unsure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised! The location is amazing and the house fits in perfectly. Paddy and Sue made us feel very welcome and surprised us with a birthday cake, which made it even more special. Next time we'll be sure to book a dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
paddy195023, Owner at The Old Coach House, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review of your overnight stay at The Old Coach House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have encouraged you to consider other B&B visits. It was fun sharing Gerrit's birthday via a homemade cake. We are glad he enjoyed it with his breakfast! We really appreciate you... More

Leicestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

From the moment we arrived and welcomed so warmly with tea and cakes we knew we had chosen the right place! We stayed 2 nights, our friends were in the other room, and can't praise everything highly enough! The rooms and facilities were all excellent. We were very pleased Sue was able to feed us the following evening with less... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
paddy195023, Owner at The Old Coach House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for a fantastic review of your recent stay with us over the Bank Holiday. We thoroughly enjoyed your company for the two nights and are delighted that you enjoyed your evening meal and our breakfasts. Reviews like yours are very important to us as they can assist potential guests decide on suitable and appropriate accommodation for... More

Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was lucky enough to have experienced the Old Coach House B & B last year, having enjoyed my one night stay so much I decided to book again for a longer stay in their self catering cottage this summer. I was not disappointed. We were very impressed that thy were willing to accommodate us for five days instead of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
paddy195023, Owner at The Old Coach House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to compose such a lovely review of your stay in The Old Coach House Cottage. From talking with our guests this year, we have learned how influential such reviews are when potential guests are choosing accommodation for their holiday, short break, or sporting activity. We are delighted that you have now enjoyed... More

Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I cannot rate the Old Coach House highly enough. We booked for 2 nights due to my husband competing in a local mountain biking competition at Dyfi forest and were not disappointed. Paddy and Sue were the perfect hosts welcoming us into their home and always finding the time to chat with us about our day. The house and garden... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
paddy195023, Owner at The Old Coach House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your generous and supportive review. We really rely on guests to provide reviews that can help potential visitors make informed choices about accommodation when going on holiday or for specific events such as your cycling event last weekend. We are delighted that The Old Coach House provided you with everything you needed - other than... More

Felixstowe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Old Coach House got off to a flying start before we even arrived - my husband took one look at the promotional video and declared that this would be where we would stay. It was obvious he had chosen well and the second we turned up we were warmly greeted by Paddy and were presented with hot tea and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
paddy195023, Owner at The Old Coach House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at The Old Coach House. We love the way you highlighted all the things we do that we believe help to make our guests' stay with us a pleasurable and memorable experience. The title of your review 'A real home from home' is precisely what we... More

Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the old coach house cottage for three nights and it was amazing!! Paddy & Sue made us feel so welcome from the moment we arrived, as soon as we got there we were treated to a lovely pot of tea and some of Sue's beautiful homemade scones and jam. The room was lovely and spacious, the bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
paddy195023, Owner at The Old Coach House, responded to this review

What a lovely review for us to receive! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a delightful review of your stay in The Old Coach House. Your comments about the quality of our accommodation, our location and our services during your stay can be very positive aids to potential guests who may be considering accommodation with... More

Been to The Old Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House

Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Machynlleth, Wales
Address: Dolcorsllwyn | Aberangell, Machynlleth SY20 9AB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Coach House provides 4-Star Bed & Breakfast Accommodation. It holds a Gold Award from the GTBS and welcomes walkers and cyclists. We are located in the Dyfi Valley, nine miles from Machynlleth and twelve miles from Dolgellau on the A470 beside the River Dyfi. We are ideally placed to explore the many attractions of Mid-Wales, and are convenient for the attractive beaches of Borth, Aberdyfi and Barmouth. We are in a walkers'paradise, with Cader Idris on our doorstep and , Glyndwr's Way, Snowdonia and the Brecon Beacons all within a short drive. Cyclists can enjoy the X-Mach trails and Coed-Y-Brenin national trails. Wildlife lovers will be overwhelmed by the many RSPB centres nearby(Ysys-Hir, Ynys-Las, The Dyfi Osprey Centre and various Red Kite Centres. Family friendly attractions include King Arthur's Labyrinth, The Centre for Alternative Technology and Corris Mine Explorers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Coach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Old Coach House to your Saves list