We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ruthin Castle Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    315
    110
    55
    39
See reviews for
125
676
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1091)
  • Mar-May only
    (255)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (318)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (267)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (251)
All months
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I booked in here with my partner for my birthday and we used booking.com. the room and surroundings was lovely. The peacocks where a lovely touch to the grounds. We where impressed with the service as we had a special request and they sorted it straight away. The only thing that let it down was breakfast. We waited 20 minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Ruthin Castle is one of my favourite places for a mini break. The castle is very impressive and historical with wonderful grounds and nice rooms. The restaurant looks very classy and the staff are very friendly and helpful but the food is only average in quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, I am glad that you enjoy staying at Ruthin Castle. It's unfortunate that you think the food is 'average' as recently, this is the area we receive the most positive feedback from guests. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived to see a beautiful castle with lovely grounds and inside the rooms were cosy and authentic with a library bar and sitting room with log fire .Our room was 304 in a turret with lovely views and little sitting area and in our special Sunday package we had cream tea and a glass of bubbly but decided to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and for your kind comments about your room and the views. I will also pass your compliments to the chef. I have noted your comments about the mirrors and passed them on to housekeeping. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Things have changed at Ruthin Castle since our last stay, and not I am afraid to say for the better. We did not recognise a single member of staff and were told by a member of staff that employee turnover at the hotel was very high - cutting hours, scrimping and penny pinching. Whilst the quality of the food in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Welcome to Tripadvsor! As a new user you may not be aware that Tripadvisor has a 'management response option' this gives us, the hotel, an opportunity to respond to your comments and to clarify any points raised. It's unfortunate that you did not recognise any staff members during your stay, Kenny is still in the bar (3 years service) Selwyn... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our 3rd visit to Ruthin Castle. We love to wander around the grounds and gardens, see the ruins and of course the peacocks. However this time I felt our room in the main castle was in need of some decoration and the wardrobe door did not close properly, hence the interior light was on permanently. The bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, I am glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back for stay number 4. Thank you for your loyal custom . More 

Devon
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights on a spa secret deal break to celebrate my birthday. We were warmly welcomed to the hotel. It was a very long journey for us so we were looking forward to our spa treatment after check in. Unfortunately there was a power cut in the spa area so nothing was working for a few hours. Luckily... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. As per your review title I am glad that you had a relaxing stay. More 

Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay booked through Secret Escapes - included dinner on first night and a spa treatment each. We checked in and were shown to our room, which was fine but I'm a very light sleeper and there were noisy fans outside as we were above the spa. We asked if there was another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay. I am glad that we were able to assist you with the room move and that you enjoyed our gesture of a bottle of wine for the inconvenience caused. I will pass your feedback on to the Spa and ensure that your comments are acted upon, We hope that you... More 

telford
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ruthin Castle Hotel is a journey back to medieval times in a castle with a heliport! The building is an intriguing mixture of builds over many years and times. Old walls, gardens and a moat are there to explore though do tread carefully amongst the ruins. Two lions guard the entrance to a reception that has an old world atmosphere.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and you kind comments. We hope that you will return to stay with us in future. More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights, booked through Late luxury.com A wonderful setting for a hotel. The gardens are wonderful and the peacocks very tame. The castle itself is stylish and well maintained, very atmospheric,especially around the ruins. The spa facilities in the basement are spacious with free drinks, towels and robes. All staff are professional, provide very good service and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your for taking the time to post such an informative review following your recent stay. I am glad that we were able to facilitate you with a "much nicer and bigger room" the following day. The comfort of our guests is our priority and we will do what we can to make your stay enjoyable. We are currently in... More 

Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Patsy Suite, full cooked Breakfast is included in the room rate. Top floor so nice and quiet with windows looking over Ruthin town and the countryside. Beautiful room with large bathroom, bath and shower great although water very hot. Plenty of room for a whole family to put their luggage and clothes. Had Afternoon Tea which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your recent birthday treat. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back for your future stay. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

591 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (560)
Viewed
Room/suite (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (179)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
View from room (44)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
4:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (199)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question