We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ruthin Castle Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    329
    111
    63
    41
See reviews for
129
710
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1137)
  • Mar-May only
    (301)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (318)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (267)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (251)
All months
Wirral, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I visited here looking for wedding venues, and I was not dissapointed. You can roam around the castle and take in all its history and there are great views all round. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Faultless stay. We booked via Secret Escapes. Had a room above the main reception with gorgeous views. Large bedroom, nicely decorated in taste with the castle. Huge super king bed. Friendly staff. Went out of their way to help us. Laughed along with us. Loved the peacocks. Breakfast fine. Nothing wrong with it. I'm vegetarian and found enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent 'lovely' stay. The images you posted are great and will be of great benefit to a potential future guest. Your kind comments about our friendly staff are appreciated and will be relayed to the team. We hope you return in the future. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a two night getaway for our wedding anniversary and cannot fault the staff for the wonderful reception. Our room was very lavish (the Jennie suite) and the food was excellent. We'd booked a spa day and after hearing it was our anniversary we were given two glasses of prosecco on the house. The spa itself is the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and for choosing Ruthin Castle to celebrate your special occasion. It was a pleasure to have you here and I am glad that you felt looked after during your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I cannot recommend this hotel. We booked through Secret Escapes and have informed them of our disappointment. Upon arrival we were not offered a glass of sparkling wine which was part of the deal. Went to reception just before evening meal to enquire. Part of the deal was a castle room but ours was on the extension part which seems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay on 10th May. Sincere apologies that you were disappointed with the size of your room. Having checked the Front of House room planner, we were in a position to facilitate a room room had we been made aware of your disappointment at the time. With regards to breakfast, we have acted... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I organised a night away for our company of 60 people at Ruthin Castle and it couldn't have been any better! The rooms were lovely and clean, the organisation was great and the staff were lovely, but the best bit of all was the Medieval Banquet! It was absolutely AMAZING!! The staff were awesome and got everyone fully involved! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Ruthin Castle for your company event. I was delighted to read that you all had a wonderful time. The Banquets are quite unique and always impress. We hope you will join us again in the future. More 

Wrexham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked an overnight stay as a surprise for my husband, booked a Sunday stay, which includes dinner, bed and breakfast with afternoon tea and a glass of champagne! We arrived to a very friendly welcome! The room was spacious, and very comfortable, the castle itself is amazing! We made use of the spa, it was so relaxing! It was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Ruthin Castle for your recent break. Our Chilled Sunday package has proved very popular and I am glad that you felt it was good value for money. I hope that you may consider us for a future stay, we would be delighted to see you again. More 

Northamptonshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here last night on a DB&B package. The building is lovely with peacocks and gardens adding to the ambience. Dinner was ok but nothing to write home about...except the asparagus which was delicious. The bread rolls were stale. There were not enough members of staff present to deal with a room full of diners, those who were there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate your kind comments about the building and surroundings. Apologies for the poor service and lack of items readily available at breakfast, we hope that you will return in the future. More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good- Room nice and spacious with lots of storage space- hot chocolate is always a winner for a non tea or coffee drinker and the bed was comfy The acceptable -Breakfast was acceptable, buffet continental ( grab what you want 1st visit they did not refresh it) the hot was delivered to your table completely with snotty egg when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'astidog' I would like the opportunity to discuss your review. Please feel free to contact me joanne.jones@ruthincastle.co.uk. I look forward to hearing from you. More 

Winsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed on a DBB package and although the food was good the portions were small. I also found it really odd that we weren't offered bread - there were side plates and butter on the table, but we put it down to not ordering the soup. The room was compact but clean and the bathroom had a rolltop tub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. We were delighted to read that you left the hotel feeling refreshed and relaxed, apologies that we were out of slippers on your visit. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More 

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with friend from Australia . Who is from wales by birth. Booked for a medival night. When we went to the banquet room, the woman speaker asked who was from America and said welcome. Then preceded to ask for other countries. Also saying welcome. SHE said" I will not ask who is from ENGLAND as we do not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. Our Medieval artistes are actor's and actresses, they are performing re-enactments from times gone by, hence the dislike of the English by the Welsh. This is merely light hearted entertainment and in no way meant to be offensive to any language, culture or individual. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

639 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (608)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (199)
Viewed
View from room (46)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (76)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
4:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (217)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities