We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lyons Woodlands Hall

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Llanfwrog, Ruthin LL15 2AN, Wales
Lyons Woodlands Hall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #6 of 17 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    52
    21
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
23
33
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Treated to a 4 night Groupon caravan break by our son. Caravan and site excellent, clean and well maintained. Lounge/dining/kitchen was a good size and perfect for relaxing in. Bedrooms (3 - one double and two twins) are a bit tight, but fine once you are in bed. Two loos, the main one with a superb shower. Only drawback is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall and your stay in one of our caravans situated in our beautiful grounds, I am pleased you had a great stay. I am sorry about the wi fi problems that you encountered here, but we are, as you say off the beaten track and super fast broadband has not arrived in these... More 

St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was Part of a group of classic kart racers competing at Glan-Y-Gors and we had booked in at woodlands hall for 4 nights not only to race but to take in the local area, the hotel is tucked away on an idyllic hillside, our room had stunning views of the lush countryside which was a good start in my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall, my team and I are glad to hear you had a good time whilst you were here and more importantly you arrived back home safe and well, I know it's a long journey back there. I think what makes this place so appealing to our guests is that they can relax and... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 via mobile

Stayed in a nice tidy caravan on site. Picked venue as we were at a wedding 30 miles away. When we arrived we paid £10 (2 x £5 for 2 devices for 4 days) for wifi. We eventually managed to find the router and entered the codes given. However the signal was that poor that connects to on kept dropping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall Fleet vans, I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems with your Wi Fi connection. I actually spoke with you on one of the nights and I did contact our IT department who conducted tests with the nodules that are dotted around the park to give Wi Fi coverage which came... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

tripped over this when searching web for places to stay between Ruthin and Denbigh.eventually got to website and rang and booked. That's why I say hidden, could do with more web friendly technology. I am gluten free which I mentioned. Met by LIsa., another treasure, she had seen the note about gluten free and rang my office and me to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall it is so nice to get such positive feedback from our guests and it gives the team here such a lift when they read it. Yes I know Lisa is a gem, we have been working together for over 10 years and I know how important she is to a business such... More 

Moldova
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Woodlands hall hosted our wedding reception, as well as providing accommodation for ourselves and a lot of our guests, on 16.5.15. The manager John and his partner Lisa went above and beyond to make sure our day was perfect. The chefs provided an amazing buffet, the bar staff too worked extremely hard and nothing was too much trouble. All the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of Woodlands Hall and your wedding that you had here last weekend. It really is great to hear that all the hours and the effort we put in to making your day special gets appreciated by our guests. Both Lisa and I, plus all the team at Woodlands wish you all the best for... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Woodland Hall is a beautiful hotel situated in a static caravan park a few miles outside Ruthin town centre. It's easy to find with a satnav and the drive up there is very scenic. Staff are all extremely polite, friendly and helpful; nothing was too much trouble for them. My room was large, bright and the featured the most comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall it is so nice to get so many positive reviews of the hotel and it's facilities, all my team here work extremely hard to try and make everyones visit a memorable one. I will pass on your comments to my team, because it is impoirtant that they know what a good job... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

This restaurant has improved a lot over the last few years. The food is good and the drinks are nice. This is a nice place to stay and a good local restaurant. The fish and chips and the curry are great

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and have noticed the change over the past 2 years, it makes all the effort and hours my team and I have put in have paid off, the directors of the company are always singing are praises as well!! I am lucky... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I didn't stay at the hotel but had dinner on Friday night with friends & family - we had been recommended to experience the fish & chips on Fridays and after all having studied the menu, we all decided we had to try the lovely fresh fish. We were not disappointed. Aside from the food, the friendly greetings & service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall and in particular the Friday Fish Night, I am so pleased that you enjoyed the meal and the relaxed atmosphere we have here. You can always try some of the other theme nights we have on, including Curry nights, Chinese, Pie nights and of course our really popular Sunday Roasts! I look... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

We had the Tower room. It was superb with wood panelling. There was only one reading lamp (the bad). The view out of the windows was onto dozens of white, transportable cabins. At 96 pounds it was too expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall, I take all reviews seriously. I am sorry that you feel that the price you paid was too much, but it's not just the room that you have to take into consideration it is also the facilities within the hotel that are included, the Gym, The Conservatory restaurant, the high standard and... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

I looked for an Easter break with my 13 year old autistic son and was pleased to find this lovely hotel set away from the noise of local towns which was billed as a country retreat. It was far from it. Although the family room was comfortable. It is not geared up for families staying in the hotel. The restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall, I am sorry to hear of your disapointment whilst you stayed here. Can I point out that the full English breakfast for our hotel guests is just £4.95, the price you beileved to be the price is for our weekend breakfasts for those that stay on the caravan park and not our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay