We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Ruthin B&Bs / inns

Lyons Woodlands Hall

Llanfwrog, Ruthin LL15 2AN, Wales
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Lyons Woodlands Hall
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lyons Woodlands Hall to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 15 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Peter E London, England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    17
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
27
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was only here for one night so I didn't really get to explore the surroundings. This hotel is actually on a caravan park. I did eat in the hotel and the bar woman kindly brought my food up to the room for me. The room itself was comfortable and quite large. The shower / bathroom let it down, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall, which was built in 1865 as a family home and was later owned by an opera singer called Jane Bremner, who was responsible for furnishing it with decorative items and wooden pannelling from throughout Europe. It was only in the 1970's that it was made in to a hotel as it is... More 

Ruthin, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you once again to the whole team who made Gethin's first birthday so special. There was nothing that was too much trouble and I would recommend to anybody looking for a venue for their special occasion. We have used woodlands hall twice now. Once having a delicious hot buffet and yesterday a cold buffet. The dessert was to die... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, it is so nice to see guests return again and again, it shows that we must be doing something right. Don't forget us for 2nd birthdays, 3rd and so on!!! Thank you once again. More 

Lincolnshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate at Woodlands Hall while staying on the caravan park. The Hotel and park are wonderful and clean. The food is fresh and well presented. All the staff are friendly always helpful. The grandchildren loved it! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands hall I am so glad that you and your Grandchildren enjoyed your stay and I look forward to seeing you all in the future, once again thank you. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

Arrived for an overnight stay at the hotel. Certainly wouldnt put the experience as five star! Barr staff were freindly, bar area was almost like a sports bar, selection of wine was poor. We were going to eat in the restaurant, but appapently it was too cold, so we are in the bar/lounge area. Food was very very basic, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall Hotel I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations, but we are not a 5 star hotel as you expected and as far as I am aware do not claim to be. Unfortuanetly with the conservatory at this time of year it does go cold quickly and the... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014 via mobile

We celebrated our Ruby Anniversary recently at Woodlands Hall having had our wedding reception there 40 years ago. Glad we went back they made our celebrations a night to remember, the food was fantastic and as we stayed the night the bed was very comfy, good night sleep. The staff are very friendly and nothing was to much trouble and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of Woodlands Hall and your recent anniversary celebration, It gives all the team here a buzz when we get such good feedback. I hope you don't mind, but I've already booked your 50th anniversary as a provisional in 2024!! (We hope to have Chilly Cow Ice Cream on the menu!!) More 

St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Lovely stay in one of the caravans, the park is very pretty with lots of trees, squirrels, rabbits and bird song. Felt very peaceful here and enjoyed walking around the park and seeing the care the owners take with their plots. The staff from reception, bar and breakfast were polite and helpful. Our caravan was nicely decorated, it had all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of Woodlands Hall, we try our best to make everyones stay as pleasant as possible and we know how much the staff appreciate the feed back we receive from our guests. Make sure your return is sooner than later! More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Unfortunately have to agree with those who have rated the hotel as extremely noisy and clearly being more focused on serving the party crowd at weekends rather than caring for their paid overnight guests. The very loud party, including karaoke, booms in your ears if you're unfortunate enough to be placed in one of the rooms above the bar. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here due to the noise levels. We clearly state on all of our business partners websites, that we do have entertainment on every Saturday evening throughout the year, as with most hotels,but it finishes at 11.30pm, which we believe is a... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Had a three day break in a platinum lodge...absolutely lovely! Peaceful and unspoilt. Lodge stunning, nice play area for children. House amazing, lots of history and great food. Staff friendly and didn't mind children playing etc! Fabulous find!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of Woodlands Hall, we are glad that you had a great time and look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Wallasey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed here for 4 night stay in a friend's caravan, which is nicely situated near the hall. I cannot comment on the restaurant at the hall, but have been in a couple of Times for a drink, very nice bar area , there,s also as kids soft play area. My 4yr old daughter was fond of the outside playground,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall, maybe you should have a word with your friend about the sleep quality!! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and maybe next time treat yourself to a meal in the restaurant, it's very nice. John Howe Hotel Manager More 

Sowerby Bridge
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights on business in Ruthin recently and it was perfect. Very quiet, charming room and surroundings. It took some finding off the main road initially but was a good find. The rooms are very grand with lots of character which is repeated throughout the building. However, the main asset are the people that look after you.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of Woodlands Hall. It is a great place to stay, wether your on holiday or have work in the area it's great to relax and enjoy the area and the hospitality. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. John Howe Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Lyons Woodlands Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyons Woodlands Hall

Address: Llanfwrog, Ruthin LL15 2AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lyons Woodlands Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyons Woodlands Hall Ruthin, Wales

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay