We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lyons Woodlands Hall

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Llanfwrog, Ruthin LL15 2AN, Wales
Lyons Woodlands Hall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #6 of 17 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
jtstb Cardiff, United Kingdom
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    21
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
22
32
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (89)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

tripped over this when searching web for places to stay between Ruthin and Denbigh.eventually got to website and rang and booked. That's why I say hidden, could do with more web friendly technology. I am gluten free which I mentioned. Met by LIsa., another treasure, she had seen the note about gluten free and rang my office and me to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall it is so nice to get such positive feedback from our guests and it gives the team here such a lift when they read it. Yes I know Lisa is a gem, we have been working together for over 10 years and I know how important she is to a business such... More 

Moldova
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Woodlands hall hosted our wedding reception, as well as providing accommodation for ourselves and a lot of our guests, on 16.5.15. The manager John and his partner Lisa went above and beyond to make sure our day was perfect. The chefs provided an amazing buffet, the bar staff too worked extremely hard and nothing was too much trouble. All the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of Woodlands Hall and your wedding that you had here last weekend. It really is great to hear that all the hours and the effort we put in to making your day special gets appreciated by our guests. Both Lisa and I, plus all the team at Woodlands wish you all the best for... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Woodland Hall is a beautiful hotel situated in a static caravan park a few miles outside Ruthin town centre. It's easy to find with a satnav and the drive up there is very scenic. Staff are all extremely polite, friendly and helpful; nothing was too much trouble for them. My room was large, bright and the featured the most comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall it is so nice to get so many positive reviews of the hotel and it's facilities, all my team here work extremely hard to try and make everyones visit a memorable one. I will pass on your comments to my team, because it is impoirtant that they know what a good job... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This restaurant has improved a lot over the last few years. The food is good and the drinks are nice. This is a nice place to stay and a good local restaurant. The fish and chips and the curry are great

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and have noticed the change over the past 2 years, it makes all the effort and hours my team and I have put in have paid off, the directors of the company are always singing are praises as well!! I am lucky... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I didn't stay at the hotel but had dinner on Friday night with friends & family - we had been recommended to experience the fish & chips on Fridays and after all having studied the menu, we all decided we had to try the lovely fresh fish. We were not disappointed. Aside from the food, the friendly greetings & service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall and in particular the Friday Fish Night, I am so pleased that you enjoyed the meal and the relaxed atmosphere we have here. You can always try some of the other theme nights we have on, including Curry nights, Chinese, Pie nights and of course our really popular Sunday Roasts! I look... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the Tower room. It was superb with wood panelling. There was only one reading lamp (the bad). The view out of the windows was onto dozens of white, transportable cabins. At 96 pounds it was too expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall, I take all reviews seriously. I am sorry that you feel that the price you paid was too much, but it's not just the room that you have to take into consideration it is also the facilities within the hotel that are included, the Gym, The Conservatory restaurant, the high standard and... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

I looked for an Easter break with my 13 year old autistic son and was pleased to find this lovely hotel set away from the noise of local towns which was billed as a country retreat. It was far from it. Although the family room was comfortable. It is not geared up for families staying in the hotel. The restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall, I am sorry to hear of your disapointment whilst you stayed here. Can I point out that the full English breakfast for our hotel guests is just £4.95, the price you beileved to be the price is for our weekend breakfasts for those that stay on the caravan park and not our... More 

2 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

I travelled 4.5 hours to get to this hotel ready for meetings in Mold on the following day. Greeted by really friendly staff, bar/reception area is lovely. I stayed in the Tower room and it was beautiful. Very clean, comfy bed too!! I will 100% book this hotel again! looking forward to working in North Wales again to have an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall, I am so glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and for your return in the future. I always let my team here know about the nice things that our guests comment on, once again thank you for your review. More 

Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Was last min booking so arr'd not knowing if we would be disappointed or pleased. What a super place. The building is unique with wooden carved panels, roomed clean, roomy & comfortable. the chef is excellent, his food moorish, esp Pie Night. staff, nothing too much trouble & so helpful. The Hall has Static Homes in the beautiful grounds which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hal, I am pleased you had a great stay with us and you enjoyed a few of our chef's homemade dishes. I will make sure both the chefs read your review. I hope it's not too long before you come and stay with us again. JH More 

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Stayed for one night in this hotel. Lovely rooms, extremley clean. The Manager & Staff were all helpful & welcoming. And made our stay even better by their friendliness. Thanx guys. Now for my report on the evening meal, what can i say it was by far the best meal we had ever had. I wanted to eat it all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Woodlands Hall, I'm glad you really enjoyed your short stay with us. I will pass on your remarks about the food as I believe it is important to give feed back to all those involved in making your stay a happy one. Once again thank you for you feed back. JH More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay