We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Amlwch hotels

Trecastell Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SA, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Trecastell Hotel to your Saves list
Trecastell Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
84%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Amlwch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Butterfly2109 Royton
  • Overview
  • Reviews (69)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    13
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
29
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Royton
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Researched all dog friendly pubs in Anglesey, The Trecastell was on our hit list as people had said it had a lovely view. We had not booked but knew they served food all day, it was early afternoon, I quickly popped in to double check if they were serving food and if they were dog friendly. I was greeted by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from another relaxing break at the Trecastell.Really friendly staff,good food ,clean,comfortable rooms and a fantastic view over Bull bay.An excellent base for touring the rest of this beautiful island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Abergele, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having visited here twice and leaving reviews on both occasions I am curious why it has taken four months to reply to my review by the management And in response to that, I did make my feelings known about the meal I had to the member of staff despite you saying I should have and didn't I feel this place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. Hope this reply was quick enough as now have had the time to get round to responding. Hope we carry on down hill as hotel and restaurant has been full for the past few weeks. Think most people can look at the reviews and make up their own minds about whether a place is any good. More

South Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in as we had a lovely meal and good service when we visited Anglesey few years ago. Wrong thing to have done! Bar and restaurant empty with just two people sat in the side chairs, drinking. We walked through and went to sit on balcony. No clean tables to sit at, all littered with dirty glasses and plates. Three... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mold
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
38 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

arrived at 8.45 on saturday night looking for something to eat only to be told that they had closed for the night really? at this time? we stopped for a drink £8 for a glass of wine and a local beer was a bit pricey nice views and conservatory restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry that we were unable to seat you at 8.45 on a Saturday night, but we were not closed we were full of persons who had booked and the kitchen had more than enough meals waiting to cook. We close at 9pm which we think is reasonable and in line with most eating establishments. As for the 2 drinks at... More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

On passing through amlwch we popped into local shop and asked for guidance for somewhere local to eat, on arrival we were delighted with the view overlooking the bay and were welcomed warmly, staff were friendly polite and hard working the food was delicious and fresh homemade where stated! Wheelchair access to the resturant but toilets require mobility for 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

We are looking into ways of putting in a disabled facility in the near future but it is proving difficult in an old building. Glad you enjoyed visit and hope to see you again. More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My partner and I stayed here with another couple. According to tripadvisor, this is a 2 star hotel, but it provides great facilities and excellent service. We had the executive suite, a good size room with lovely views of the sea. It was clean, bright, comfortable and quiet. The bed was a little on the soft side, but it didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your visit and your trip to Bodnant gardens which is truly lovely. It's good to know that the new systems we put in place to reduce waiting time appears to be bearing fruit. We hope you and your friends return again. More

Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a brilliant location with the conservatory restaurant overlooking the bay. The staff were very friendly and at first we were happy with our choice for an evening meal. But the service was very slow, we had a long wait for our meals, despite booking a table 24 hours earlier. The soup starters were excellent but the lamb henry... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you had a bit of a wait, and hopefully it won't be as long next time. As for the Lamb, our butcher tries to keep all his cuts as standard as possible but it seems you may have had a smallish one. Thank you for your comments on the friendliness of our staff as we try to keep our... More

Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel for many years with varying degrees of satisfaction, so knowing it was under new management was hopeful it would return to former glories. We weren't disappointed, James and Gill proved perfect hosts and all the staff were very friendly. The hotel has undergone refurbishment and it shows, from the bar to the bedrooms. Happy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

We try to keep improving and hope you will notice still more changes next year. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

James and Gill, the relatively new proprietors have improved the hotel considerably, especially in terms of furnishings, food and service. The hotel is ideally located for golf at Bull Bay Golf Club (which is only a few hundred yards away). I have been organising an annual golf trip to the hotel for friends for many years now and the latest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for considering organizing your annual trip back to our hotel after the experiences you had in the past from previous owners. You made our job easier with the way you had your side organized and we carried on your good work. See you next year More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Trecastell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Trecastell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecastell Hotel

Address: Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Amlwch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Trecastell Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Trecastell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecastell Hotel Amlwch, Wales - Island Of Anglesey

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
13

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;