We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Amlwch hotels

Trecastell Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SA, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Trecastell Hotel to your Saves list
Trecastell Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
84%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Amlwch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Blakes71
  • Overview
  • Reviews (73)
  • Photos (27)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    16
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
31
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 1 night over the bank holiday weekend. We paid extra for a sea view room, which had obviously been recently renovated so was clean and fresh . The en suite was lovely too. I really liked the fact there was a settee in the small window to make the most of the beautiful sea view. An added... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst visiting family we went as a large group of 13 in total! (8 adults, 5 children). Pre-booked a table, and ordered when we arrived. The food was served quickly and correctly, even with all the amendments!! Excellent food, with lots of clean plates. Catered for all the children with ease, topped off with an hours play on the children's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wrexham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the Trecastell Hotel on 8 August with a party of four. We had afternoon in the dining area overlooking the ocean. It was a great view, good ambience, good friendly service and a delicious tea. No problems!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royton
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
420 helpful votes 420 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Researched all dog friendly pubs in Anglesey, The Trecastell was on our hit list as people had said it had a lovely view. We had not booked but knew they served food all day, it was early afternoon, I quickly popped in to double check if they were serving food and if they were dog friendly. I was greeted by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have just returned from another relaxing break at the Trecastell.Really friendly staff,good food ,clean,comfortable rooms and a fantastic view over Bull bay.An excellent base for touring the rest of this beautiful island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Abergele, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Having visited here twice and leaving reviews on both occasions I am curious why it has taken four months to reply to my review by the management And in response to that, I did make my feelings known about the meal I had to the member of staff despite you saying I should have and didn't I feel this place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. Hope this reply was quick enough as now have had the time to get round to responding. Hope we carry on down hill as hotel and restaurant has been full for the past few weeks. Think most people can look at the reviews and make up their own minds about whether a place is any good. More

South Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Called in as we had a lovely meal and good service when we visited Anglesey few years ago. Wrong thing to have done! Bar and restaurant empty with just two people sat in the side chairs, drinking. We walked through and went to sit on balcony. No clean tables to sit at, all littered with dirty glasses and plates. Three... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mold
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
39 hotel reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

arrived at 8.45 on saturday night looking for something to eat only to be told that they had closed for the night really? at this time? we stopped for a drink £8 for a glass of wine and a local beer was a bit pricey nice views and conservatory restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry that we were unable to seat you at 8.45 on a Saturday night, but we were not closed we were full of persons who had booked and the kitchen had more than enough meals waiting to cook. We close at 9pm which we think is reasonable and in line with most eating establishments. As for the 2 drinks at... More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

On passing through amlwch we popped into local shop and asked for guidance for somewhere local to eat, on arrival we were delighted with the view overlooking the bay and were welcomed warmly, staff were friendly polite and hard working the food was delicious and fresh homemade where stated! Wheelchair access to the resturant but toilets require mobility for 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

We are looking into ways of putting in a disabled facility in the near future but it is proving difficult in an old building. Glad you enjoyed visit and hope to see you again. More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My partner and I stayed here with another couple. According to tripadvisor, this is a 2 star hotel, but it provides great facilities and excellent service. We had the executive suite, a good size room with lovely views of the sea. It was clean, bright, comfortable and quiet. The bed was a little on the soft side, but it didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your visit and your trip to Bodnant gardens which is truly lovely. It's good to know that the new systems we put in place to reduce waiting time appears to be bearing fruit. We hope you and your friends return again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Trecastell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Trecastell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecastell Hotel

Address: Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Amlwch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trecastell Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Trecastell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecastell Hotel Amlwch, Wales - Island Of Anglesey

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Amlwch with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
13

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Trecastell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer