We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Tremadog B&Bs / inns

The Golden Fleece Inn

Market Square, Tremadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Hotel amenities
The Golden Fleece Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Golden Fleece Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 5 Tremadog B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Sarah M
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    45
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
19
77
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (150)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just arrived back from a long weekend for anniversary staying in the lovely traditional hotel. Well where shall I start the room was lovely, Clean and we had a fantastic nights sleep. On the first night we decided to dine in the hotel and well it's amazing. My hubby had the lamb fillet which was absolutely gorgeous it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited recently and took a chance on not booking. It was very busy but there was space. The menu was good if not massive and the service was not terribly fast because they were obviously busy. The food was good when it arrived but would agree that a little overpriced. Pleasant service and would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. I'm glad you enjoyed your meals and that you will be returning. As you say we can get very busy however you can always reserve a table by phone or via our website. We look forwards to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Stuart and the team More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived in the pub at 2:10pm after reading two signs in the Villiage that the pub served food ALL DAY. Once I'd ordered our drinks I asked for the menu to be able to order and the bar man said we're not serving food to which a man near by with his family was also annoyed by. We were left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Whilst I understand how flustered you must have felt believing the sign was ours (and more so having been turned away from the pub before us) I must point out that in fact the sign is for all of the villages businesses and says "Tremadog All Day Food" It does not say any where on it that it is us... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Expensive food, poor quality. Bad service. Don't bother going as you will feel ripped off. Bet the manager doesn't eat there. Can't wait for managers denial after reading other comments. Apparently their cheap nasty burgers are delivered fresh every day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

I'm disappointed to read your review which appeared immediately after you left! I happen to agree with you that the burger was not of our usual standard, we are currently addressing this situation. I am however disappointed that you fail to mention that after you complained (in such a rude fashion that other diners commented on your unnecessary tone) we... More

Mojacar
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from break in the Golden Fleece first the good points staff very good friendly and we ate in the resteraunt 3 times as food and service was very good . Bad points booking through late rooms not recommended as we were not in the main inn but the royal madoc across the road which is a work... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for placing your honest review. I'm really pleased you chose to eat with us 3 times during your stay and that my team delivered both good food and service consistently. Booking via an agent doesn't necessarily mean you end up in an annex, there are only 3 rooms in the golden fleece its self with a further 4... More

Brynarth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a fantastic time, The Golden Fleece is a warm and cosy pub with friendly, helpful staff and lovely locals. We stayed in one of the rooms upstairs in the pub which was clean, comfortable and was serviced each day. The food here is exceptional, we had a Sunday lunch and an evening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review we look forwards to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Stuart and the Team More

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We booked the Golden Fleece Inn whilst visiting family with my elderly and infirm father. This was the hotel closest to the family. From the moment we first telephoned to the minute we left we were made to feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. My father wakes late but the staff made up a breakfast tray for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I'm glad we were able to make you feel so welcome. I'm also pleased you enjoyed the food on offer. I do hope you return in the future, we look forwards to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Stuart and the... More

Blaenavon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We booked this hotel as a last minute night away. On arrival we were met by two pleasant gentlemen and shown to our room. We were taken out of the main pub and taken next door where our room was. On entering this building we were greeted with a hallway that was apparently still a work in progress. The walls... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you honest review. We have been refurbishing the hall way you refer to and I expect it to be completed by the end of the month. I'm glad you liked your room (which is currently having a beautiful new bathroom fitted and will be complete by next week. We do have sloping floors in some places in... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Stayed with a 2 night voucher deal and had a small but elegant room in the main Hotel. The restaurant is very good and we ate there on both nights, Breakfasts were, however, a shambles. There was a new sysem of offering individual cups of coffee only from the one waitress, which always took some time- consequently there was an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your honest review. I'm sure you have probably seen we did have some issues with breakfast due to new systems and a turn over of staff. I'm glad to say this has dealt with since you stayed back in May and we seem to be getting positive feed back. I'm glad this didn't spoil your stay and that... More

Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Booked 2 nights stay at the Golden Fleece in late September, on arrival we were told our rooms would be in the royal Madoc hotel across the road. The hotel was undergoing renovation which wasn't a problem. Our room no 19 was newly decorated with a comfortable bed and spotless bed linen/towels. Tea/coffee facilities were provided, plus hairdryer and iron.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Golden Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Address: Market Square, Tremadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tremadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Tremadog
The Golden Fleece Inn Tremadog, Wales

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay