We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Tremadog B&Bs / inns

The Golden Fleece Inn

Market Square, Tremadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Golden Fleece Inn to your Saves list
The Golden Fleece Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
68%
Ranked #1 of 5 Tremadog B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Andy523 Craigavon, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (128)
  • Photos (14)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (24)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    35
    24
    12
    5
See reviews for
18
65
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our stay in the golden fleece was disappointing, the cleanliness wasn't great in the room and bathroom, only curtains on window but as the street lighting is very bright it seemed like daytime even at 2am. The food isn't great and over priced, under staffed at breakfast time, the 2nd morning we left the restaurant with no breakfast as even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel itself is charming and the rooms were very spacious, very clean and with all the amenities you'd need all in a picturesque setting. I'd definitely recommend staying here and would stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bromborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I should start by saying that the best thing about this place are the staff, from the bar staff through the restaurant staff to the breakfast staff, they were all superb. Never 'in your face' attentive but always available if required and nothing too much trouble. We stayed in the Madoc across the way from the main building, rooms newly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Soke on Trent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very clean, traditional pub. An excellent well stocked bar and a relaxing atmosphere with ambient decor.very friendly and helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble for them when ordering your meal. My wife asked on a few occasions if they could prepare her a fish that wasn't on the menu and they obliged. An excellent varied choice of food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad you enjoyed meals, our skilled chefs are always happy to adapt our menu offering for any of our customers as long as we have the ingredients in we will do our best to meet any request. We look forwards to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Stuart and the Team More

Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed with my wife at the Fleece earlier this week, it is an old fashioned Welsh stone Built Pub and Hotel and the owner Stuart is making a great effort to make it a visit that is all you might expect. We were put into the building across the road, The Royal Madoc, which is currently being refurbished and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place your lovely review. I received your your wine recommendations and I shall enjoy sampling them once I track some down. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our teams hospitality. We hope to see you in the future. Kind Regards Stuart and the Team More

Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A colleague and I stayed here for one night on a recent business trip, it was interesting to be shown across the road to our accommodation where they are obviously renovating an old hotel, the entrance was a bit offputting but my room was newly decorated and very clean and comfortable. My colleagues room was similar but quite small. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. We are as you correctly state currently renovating the Royal Madoc Hotel at the moment. All the rooms currently in service there have been refurbished and you rightly point out that the entrance reception area hasn't yet been done. This is something we will be doing in the very near future and I fully... More

Tring, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was across the road in a building being refurbished by the Golden Fleece. The entrance is very scruffy and the hall dowdy. There is no one on hand here if there is a problem which makes me a little nervous. Our room is newly decorated and the smell of paint is very strong which is not nice and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Madoc building is being refurbished at the moment however all rooms which are in service have been refurbished. There is 2 managers and a member of staff who live in the Madoc building and are on hand if there are any problems. Our contact details are listed in the very first page of the... More

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spend two nights here with friends, and had a very pleasant stay. I understand renovation is ongoing, so maybe we were luckier than some, but we had no problems with our room (over the pub) and the breakfasts and the one dinner we had there were absolutely fine. Would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are as you say undergoing renovations, the room you stayed in was one of the older ones, so I'm pleased you liked it. We look forwards to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Stuart and the Team More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

unfortunately the pictures on the web page are not a true reflection of the Golden Fleece, it's very dowdy, but in fairness they look as if they are renovating this place ,We were put in accommodation across the road, very scruffy entrance, the room was clean but had a fusty smell to it ,the bathroom needed renovating and little touches... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

First of all let me start saying how disappointed I am by your review! You arrived with what one can only describe as a negative attitude. The web pictures are a true reflection of our rooms and the rooms displayed on the website you booked through. The issue you had and openly ranted about was that you didn't like the... More

Pettswood
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food....taste less, served on a plate that was slanted....hard to eat a lasagne like that, the place was grubby, and breakfast was like a greasy spoon...but worse. And the bedroom was a joke, Will not be staying again....

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Well I hardly know how to reply! You lasagne was served in a bowl which had a slanted rim, it wasn't a plate as you romanticise. I totally refute your claim that the place is dirty and even in other negative reviews you will find that people state the rooms are clean! You never made a complaint whilst here, we... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Golden Fleece Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Golden Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Address: Market Square, Tremadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tremadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Tremadog
The Golden Fleece Inn Tremadog, Wales

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the historic market square of Tremadog (The Birth Place Of Lawrence Of Arabia) The Golden Fleece Inn is a truly traditional and quite unique family run Welsh Coaching Inn with a modern outlook on service and standards. Aside from our outstanding Real Ales, extensive wine list and fresh locally sourced food, we also encompass a Bistro for private dining and hotel quality B&B. You will find us recommended in many North Wales & Showdownia guides including The Good Pub guide, The Lonely Planet, CAMRA Northern Ireland, Our Tuesday night live folk jamming sessions have always been popular and are a great mid week entertainer. Our Jam session has been running for over 2 decades now and is listed We have also featured heavily in the press with wonderful recommendations and articles from newspapers such as The Guardian, Our intimate bar provides the perfect location for a romantic, drink or a quick catchup with friends over a real ale, a glass of wine or even one of our Welsh spirits including Five vodka, Brecon Gin and Penderyn whiskys. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer