We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Tremadog B&Bs / inns

The Golden Fleece Inn

Market Square, Tremadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Golden Fleece Inn to your Saves list
The Golden Fleece Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
67%
Ranked #1 of 5 Tremadog B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Anita H
  • Overview
  • Reviews (136)
  • Photos (15)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    38
    26
    13
    5
See reviews for
18
69
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited the Golden Fleece last year and it was top of our revisit list for dinner this year. Beautiful interior, wonderful staff and simply delightful food. Our little boy was too tired to eat his meal but the staff made such a fuss of him and very kindly boxed his meal up for us to take back to our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely feed back! We will look forwards to welcoming you back! Kind Regards Stuart and the Team More

kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice Inn I have to agree with other travellers when they say it's a little pricey to stay here. Beds were very comfortable... Everything was clean. Had the little extras like biscuits, hot chocolate and water which was replenished both days. Bar was very busy and friendly. Menu choice wasn't great especially for vegetarians. Nice little town. Overall good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feed back, please understand that the price you paid reflects that you have booked during the summer season, this is a peak trading time and prices reflect this across the whole area not just our selves, We are always willing to offer a wider choice for vegetarians, if you stay / dine with us again its worth... More

Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We found the golden fleece by chance while holidaying in the area this week. The bar was busy and every table full. We ordered a meal from the bar menu as the restaurant was full and I have to say the meal was delicious and well exceeded our expectations The staff were very friendly and attentive, we will definitely pay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a fabulous review, I pleased to hear you enjoyed everything. If you are visiting the area again in the future don't forget we offer great accommodation too! The best prices for our B&B are available direct through our own website and include breakfast (agents don't). Kind Regards Stuart and the Team More

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As regular travellers, we decided to look for something different from Premier Inn or Travelodge. Using these as yardsticks for comparison, the room at the Golden Fleece is over-priced. Whilst it is spacious and functional, I felt that the 'shabby chic' was misplaced and unnecessary. I have to say that my wife felt that I was being a bit harsh.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feed back. I'm sorry you felt we were over priced in comparison to a travelodge. Out of interest I just did a price check for tomorrow in our local travelodge and they were only £1 cheaper than us! I am quite aware that they do special offers during non peak... More

Henfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Warm welcome and shown to a nice (premier) room overlooking the wide street. However, be aware that the street lighting is on all night, the smokers sit under the window with their cigarettes and the bus stops there too. The staff seemed to be more interested in dealing with computer and staffing issues than with the guests. For the 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm Glad you liked your Deluxe room. However I'm puzzled to how on earth you though the bus stop was outside your window? The bus stop is actually located 2 doors down and around the corner from us outside the Restaurant that you ate in, not quite outside your window really... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here as a great location to climb Snowdon the following day. It is around 20 minutes from the ranger path route up the mountain. The room was quirky (room 1), although it was very hot as no air conditioning. As this room was facing the road there was some noise with the window open till around 11.30pm. room had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. As we are located in listed buildings we are currently unable to install air conditioning, and to be fair I think it is some thing you would perhaps expect in a hotel that you were paying a lot more money for opposed to a B&B. That being said I do appreciate... More

Wirral
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A last minute two-night break to re-charge batteries in Wales resulted in us finding a very friendly pub/inn as a base to look around the area. The staff were lovely - very friendly,nothing too much trouble and our bedroom was spacious, clean and newly refurbished with attention to detail. We chose to eat in the restaurant on the Tuesday evening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! I'm glad you enjoyed everything we had to offer you as guests, our aim is that everyone enjoys their stay as you did and its always great to hear back from guests. You'll be pleased to hear our beer garden is now open and is shaping up nicely with just a... More

Craigavon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay in the golden fleece was disappointing, the cleanliness wasn't great in the room and bathroom, only curtains on window but as the street lighting is very bright it seemed like daytime even at 2am. The food isn't great and over priced, under staffed at breakfast time, the 2nd morning we left the restaurant with no breakfast as even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay here with us. As I understand it you were on a tight schedule and even though you requested a early breakfast you turned up late hence you weren't able to eat because you were late! Kind Regards Stuart and the Team More

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself is charming and the rooms were very spacious, very clean and with all the amenities you'd need all in a picturesque setting. I'd definitely recommend staying here and would stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for a lovely little review, I do hope if your planning another visit to Wales you will chose to stay with us again. Remember the best rate is always obtained by booking direct and its the only rate that includes breakfast. Kind Regards Stuart and the Team More

Bromborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I should start by saying that the best thing about this place are the staff, from the bar staff through the restaurant staff to the breakfast staff, they were all superb. Never 'in your face' attentive but always available if required and nothing too much trouble. We stayed in the Madoc across the way from the main building, rooms newly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future. Remember to book direct for the best rate also the only rate to include breakfast! Kind regards Stuart and the Team More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Golden Fleece Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Golden Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Address: Market Square, Tremadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tremadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Tremadog
The Golden Fleece Inn Tremadog, Wales

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the historic market square of Tremadog (The Birth Place Of Lawrence Of Arabia) The Golden Fleece Inn is a truly traditional and quite unique family run Welsh Coaching Inn with a modern outlook on service and standards. Aside from our outstanding Real Ales, extensive wine list and fresh locally sourced food, we also encompass a Bistro for private dining and hotel quality B&B. You will find us recommended in many North Wales & Showdownia guides including The Good Pub guide, The Lonely Planet, CAMRA Northern Ireland, Our Tuesday night live folk jamming sessions have always been popular and are a great mid week entertainer. Our Jam session has been running for over 2 decades now and is listed We have also featured heavily in the press with wonderful recommendations and articles from newspapers such as The Guardian, Our intimate bar provides the perfect location for a romantic, drink or a quick catchup with friends over a real ale, a glass of wine or even one of our Welsh spirits including Five vodka, Brecon Gin and Penderyn whiskys. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Golden Fleece Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer