We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Northophall hotels

Northop Hall Country House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chester Road, Northophall CH7 6HJ, Wales
Hotel amenities
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Northop Hall Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northophall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Warren1212 Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    47
    34
    22
    16
See reviews for
62
105
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (259)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

None of my usual choices of hotels in the area had rooms on the day other than Northop Hall Country House Hotel. Great little find. Lovely homely run hotel with a very friendly welcome and the smell of a log fire nearby. OK, the room was not the usual modern standard, but was fine none the less. There were a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Warren1212 Thank you for your review following your recent visit, I was pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit, and the 'Team' looked after you. Thank you also for the accompanying photos, and pointing out the water stain on the carpet from the radiator, which you will see has been repaired but regret there has been further seepage from... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very well appointed Hotel. The furnishings are impressive, especially the fire in the lounge, and the Restaurant smacks of quality. The Chef did not fail to deliver food of the highest quality whether it was A La Carte or the Bar Menu. The staff were efficient and friendly - Amy deserves special mention - nothing was too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LNL58 Thank you for your great review following your recent stay with us, and made a special mention about our restaurant and enjoyed your meals and certain members of staff - Amy and our Reception team are frequently mentioned in reviews. We look forward to welcoming you on future visits to North Wales, and I hope I may have... More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thus is a nice hotel in a great location which has become tired and in need of work to bring it back up to a decent standard. The food was excellent but the room was cold, small below standard with a God awful shower curtain that sticks to you as the bathroom is way too small

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian W, Thank you for your review following your recent visit, we were pleased your enjoyed your meal. I was sorry to hear you found the bathroom small/ shower curtain problem - we do have various room types as you will appreciate, given the age of the building, and sounds like one of our single rooms. The rooms in... More 

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this Hotel for two nights in order to attend a 40th. birthday celebration. On arrival we were shown to our room which was very comfortable and warm. Everything in the room worked we had no complaints. A box of chocolates and card were left for my wife as it was her birthday the day we arrived. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MartsueJ, Thank you for your great revue following your recent visit to Northop Hall. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your kind comments about the 'Team' who do go out of their way to look after our guests - your kind comments will be appreciated by all concerned. We... More 

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel itself is beautiful and set in lovely grounds. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was excellent but our room was very cold. The radiator when it eventually came on was hardly warm so we went to sit in the lounge bar with a nice big open fire blazing. However by 10.00pm this too was getting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Strebor1510, Thank you for your review following your recent visit, I was pleased to see you found the 'Team' were keen to look after you and you enjoyed breakfast. I imagine you stayed during the recent cold spell when we did have some heating problems, which are now resolved, we have recently had a new boiler installed which should... More 

Winsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came back to find the hotel and staff, still the same......fantastic!! A True Gem ! Dinner and breakfast was absolutely amazing, hats off to the chef! We found the bridal suite very cosy and warm. Reading some of the negative reviews i cannot believe they are talking about the same hotel, Don't worry about booking, you will have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liam E, Thank you for your great review, we were delighted to see you enjoyed your overnight visit to Northop Hall. Your kind comments will be appreciated by all the 'team' here, who do work hard to look after all our guests. We do like to receive rave reviews such as yours, however at times if we don't meet... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The first and hopefully the last time I visit this hotel. Arrived at around 5.30pm and the room was absolutely freezing. When I went down to reception to ask if there was a problem with the heating, I was informed that the heating was on a timer that could not be altered and I would have to wait until after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laurie D Thank you for your review, I was sorry to hear about the problem you experienced on your recent visit with the central heating. Last week we had a new control panel fitted, due to a fault with the old timer and controls. It appears that when this was installed the times were not set as before, and... More 

Northwest
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived four of us for a weekend of good food and rest. We went into the dining room for dinner at 8pm and there was about 12 people already there Two of us chose duck the other two hake and goats cheese tartlet. The waitress came to inform us that they had run out of duck so my husband... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear maggiemayNorth, I was sorry to read your review following your visit last weekend. We introduced a new menu a couple of weeks ago, which I'm pleased to say has proved to be very popular, and have looked at the bookings and meals served on the day in question, and note we were unexpectedly busy throughout the day, and you... More 

Worcester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

I would advise people to avoid this hotel at all costs. They running an almost scam saying you pay £30 for a room, when in actual fact it is £110. They do not honour their agreements. Terrible customer service!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scarlet, I was sorry to read your review, which came about as a result of a clerical error with a third party booking site, which was explained when you attempted to book 5 rooms for 3 nights next September at £10.00/room/night for bed and breakfast - which should have read £110.00/Room/ night We do work closely with a number... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

I visited with work back in September 2014. I was there overnight due to being called to a conference held onsite last minute due to a technical issue. My room was a Twin room, it was large, contains two very nice beds and nice decor. Plenty of sockets for charging devices, nice shower and bathroom. I was near a stairwell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ranbo123, Thank you for your great review following your visit in September. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for all your kind comments. The Team here do go out of there way to look after all our guests, and note that you appreciated being able to eat from our Light Bite... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Northop Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northop Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Chester Road, Northophall CH7 6HJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Northophall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northop Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Northop Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northop Hall Country Hotel
Northop Hall Country Northophall
Northop Hall Country House Hotel Wales/Flintshire, North Wales

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay