We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Northophall hotels

Northop Hall Country House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chester Road, Northophall CH7 6HJ, Wales
Hotel amenities
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Northop Hall Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Northophall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
SamuelPP Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    44
    32
    21
    16
See reviews for
62
103
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (251)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would advise people to avoid this hotel at all costs. They running an almost scam saying you pay £30 for a room, when in actual fact it is £110. They do not honour their agreements. Terrible customer service!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scarlet, I was sorry to read your review, which came about as a result of a clerical error with a third party booking site, which was explained when you attempted to book 5 rooms for 3 nights next September at £10.00/room/night for bed and breakfast - which should have read £110.00/Room/ night We do work closely with a number... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited with work back in September 2014. I was there overnight due to being called to a conference held onsite last minute due to a technical issue. My room was a Twin room, it was large, contains two very nice beds and nice decor. Plenty of sockets for charging devices, nice shower and bathroom. I was near a stairwell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ranbo123, Thank you for your great review following your visit in September. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for all your kind comments. The Team here do go out of there way to look after all our guests, and note that you appreciated being able to eat from our Light Bite... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We got married here late last year and enjoyed the most perfect day! Dot and Sam were so helpful in the run-up to the wedding and on the day itself. The staff in general couldn't do enough for us and we were so pleased that our guests all had a great time and felt equally well looked after. We booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GoGoGadget2011, Thank you for your great review following your recent wedding over the Christmas period. We were delighted to see that everything went well on your special day, and thank you for your kind comments about some of our Team, who do work extremely hard to make such occasions that bit more 'special'. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Flintshire, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Booked with a family of 10 for Christmas dinner all paid for in full nearly a month prior, the meal was ok but what really ruined it was a large bill over £250.00 at the end of the meal only having 2 bottles of wine and 4 lemonades for the children !!!! We went to reception to question the bill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cerifromdaquay, Thank you for your review, which we were sorry to receive, particularily after the error with your account was dealt with on the day of your visit, and you will recall that I apologised to you personally at the time, for what was a genuine mistake. The Receptionist on duty on Christmas Day, is frequently mentioned in reviews... More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

We recently attended for a friends party which was held at a nearby golf club. Myself and my wife booked in as a little treat, on arrival the building is beautiful and oozes character and history. The reception area is truly beautiful with various cladding and a sweeping staircase. We had chosen the superior room, on our trip from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Davies M86, Thank you for your review following your recent visit, we were pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and made a special mention of the 'Team' that do work especially hard to look after all our guests. We were also pleased to see you enjoyed lunch in Chequers Restaurant and breakfast the following morning. We... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

What a magnificent hotel, a beautiful building, attractive comfortable rooms, good food but above all excellent, friendly and helpful staff, we were made to feel very welcome, i will defiantly stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael R, Thank you for your great review following your recent visit, we were delighted to see you enjoyed your visit and everyone here looked after you. We look forward to welcoming you on future visits to North Wales, and hope I may meet you personally to thank you for taking the time to give your much valued feedback.... More 

North Wales
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

We were planning to meet family members from Manchester for lunch before Xmas and looking for a half way venue to meet at we decided to go to Northop Hall Hotel on Saturday 13th December. I had emailed the hotel 3 days before asking if I needed to book a table for a bar meal and received a prompt reply... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PeggySue1, Thank you for your great review following your recent family get together, we were pleased you enjoyed your visit, and were looked after well. We look forward to you and your family returning on many future visits to Northop Hall. Kind regards, Tony Holland More 

sedbergh, cumbria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Stayed 4Dec2014. Booked to stay 2 nights whilst visiting Chester. First impressions was nice entrance, cosy. We were allocated room 315. Top of stairs through the door, along a corridor, through another door and along another corridor. At the back of the hotel. Room not as oldy worldy as the entrance. So a bit of disappointment. Furniture cheap looking. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dawnSedbergh_C Thank you for your review, I was sorry to see you didn't enjoy your visit. I have spoken to the members of staff on duty during your visit to investigate your feedback, and also noted other points you made. The problem with the water in the shower was due to a fault on the mixer which has been... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Had a lovely family meal here on 15th November. Staff were friendly and attentive. Good atmosphere. The food was hot and tasty. My only critisism would be the price of the drinks. Two brandy and lemonade and two pints and one redbull set us back £20 but other than that everything was brilliant. I would eat here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natasha H, Thank you for your review following your 'Family Lunch' at Northop Hall, we were pleased you enjoyed your visit. I was sorry to read that you feel our bar prices are more than you would expect, which I believe are in line with similar venues such as ourselves, due to the costs of running a property of... More 

England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We have just arrived home from a 2 night stay at Northop Hall. We had a lovely time. The Hotel was booked through LateRooms. I have to eat wheat & gluten free food, & this was put on the notes section when booking. However this was not passed on to the hotel so made choices very limited on the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elvisthecockatiel, Thank you for your review following you recent visit to Northop Hall, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I was pleased to hear that once we were made aware of special dietary requirements, the staff did everything they could to look after you. We are lucky to have a 'Team' that go the extra mile... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Northop Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northop Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Chester Road, Northophall CH7 6HJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Northophall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Northop Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Northop Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northop Hall Country Hotel
Northop Hall Country Northophall
Northop Hall Country House Hotel Wales/Flintshire, North Wales

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay