We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northop Hall Country House Hotel

Chester Road, Northop Hall CH7 6HJ, Wales
Hotel amenities
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northop Hall
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
rucky_10 yorkshire england
Add Photo

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    145
    51
    40
    24
    18
See reviews for
65
113
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (278)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
yorkshire england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just returned from a 1 night stay at Northop Hall country house hotel. What a truly amazing place !! The hotel is beautiful. Staff are really attentative. nothing is too much trouble The grounds are lovely. I can not praise and reccomend this hotel enough. An expedia trip, £69.00 b and b for 2 people, it was worth every penny,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
58 Cox Drive Wagait Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

From the time of booking the staff were polite and helpful. On arrival the staff were again polite and very helpful. The room was perfect to our needs and had a King bed which is a change from the double beds in other places we have stayed. The evening meal was perfectly cooked and well presented. The hotel,is,set on acreage,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Recently stayed here overnight as we were staying for a wedding reception. Our room 308 was very nice, but other people in our party stated their room wasn't nice at all and even said they were very dirty. I think some rooms have had a makeover and these are fine, however the rooms that haven't been done yet leave a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an old building set in lovely grounds. It has a lot of history and retains much of its character (staircase, furniture, creaking stairs). The staff are helpful and the breakfast was good. On the down side, the chairs in the restaurant are very uncomfortable and the bed wasn't much more comfortable - a shame really, as these are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have returned to this hotel for our first wedding anniversary and found it to be just as amazing as we remember. This hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and is very tranquil. We ate in the chequers restaurant and found the food to be very tasty - I had the lamb dish and my husband had the pork which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here last night after a beautiful Wedding Reception held at the Hotel. Our room was filthy we had to dust the four poster before getting into it, the bathroom was full of cobwebs and very dirty a flimsy shower curtain over the bath that stuck to you when showering and flooding the bathroom. Under the bed has not been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne S We were pleased to see you enjoyed the wedding held at Northop Hall, however I was disappointed to see your comments about the four poster room you occupied, and notably criticism of the housekeeping, in this particular room. I understand you did make your views known when you checked out, and I have investigated your comments personally,... More 

Heswall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Attended a wedding at this hotel. The staff are brilliant and very attentive. Set in beautiful grounds. The food was stunning, you could tell it was all cooked fresh. My only criticism would be, that the hotel looks a little tired, but I suppose that's part of the charm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lee G Thank you for your great review we are pleased you enjoyed your visit whilst attending a wedding, I was pleased the Team looked after you, and thank you for your kind comments about our grounds and your meal. I am sorry you thought the hotel is tired, we are constantly making improvements, with refurbishments and decorating, which... More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for a meal with friends. Long wait to be served at bar. Limited menu, very expensive, very disappointed with food, no vegetables served. Staff started to set up tables for breakfast whilst we were eating main course - very off putting, could have been done discretely and quietly. There was only 6 people eating. Very expensive drinks at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CR201528 We were sorry to read your review following your recent visit, and disappointed with your feedback. We review our menus frequently in line with fresh seasonal produce and the dishes which are all cooked to order, and it unusual to receive negative feedback, as a great deal of care is placed on all the dishes prepared by the... More 

Oswestry
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very pleasant staff, clean and tidy room and the restaurant food was very good. The room which we had was a little dated, hence we gave 4/5 instead of 5/5. Restaurant was somewhat quiet on Saturday night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dewi D, Thank you for your review following your visit last weekend, I was pleased to see you enjoyed your visit and in particular enjoyed your meal in Chequers Restaurant. I note that you marked down the score for the room you occupied, and imagine it is one of the rooms not yet refurbished, as we have now completed... More 

Heighington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
62 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited for a wedding which was perfect. The staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The grounds are beautiful and the public areas are full of character. The big let down was the rooms we had booked 3 rooms and boy were we disappointed, they were in DESPERATE need of a refurbishment looking like 80's bedsits instead... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SparkyG, Thank you for your review, and your great comments about our 'Team' here that looked after you during your visit for a wedding. I was pleased to read that you liked our grounds and public areas, however I was disappointed to see your comments about the rooms you occupied. We have refurbished a number of rooms in recent... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay