We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northop Hall Country House Hotel

Chester Road, Northop Hall CH7 6HJ, Wales
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    157
    55
    45
    24
    18
See reviews for
69
120
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (299)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I have just returned from a 1 night stay at Northop Hall Country House for our 1st Wedding Anniversary. We were married here, so it brought back beautiful memories of our special day. An amazing lady called Dot organised our stay for us via email. She made it possible for us to stay in the Bridal Suite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i went to a wedding evening do on sat 22nd,bar prices were normal hotel prices, the bar area was the worst I have seen dirty glasses everywhere had to have drinks in glasses not normally used for the drink as there was no one washing glasses, the top of the bar was wet with beer spillages ect ,i thought the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martyn _Chriss, Thank you for your review following your visit last weekend, I was sorry to read some of your comments. We are usually busy at weekends with weddings and other parties and prepare staffing rotas well in advance to take account of the levels of business expected, however last weekend we were let down at short notice by... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I stopped here last Saturday night as we wanted something close to Chester which we were visiting the same and the next day. This hotel is in a quiet village not too far from the City but far enough away to feel you are away from the hustle & bustle. A lovely building sat in acres of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carol T, Thank you for your great review following you recent visit to Northop Hall. I was delighted to read your constructive comments, about the booking process prior to your arrival, then a detailed review of your visit. Your great comments about our 'Team' will be appreciated by everybody here - thank you. I have noted your comments about... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really peaceful place and nice inside. Staff were courteous and helpful and breakfast was delicious. The room was adequate for our needs and it was nice to have a slightly different layout from the usual hotel room. A walk in wardrobe of sorts between the bedroom and bathroom. My only slight criticism would be the shower curtain pole which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scott B, Thank you for your great review following your recent visit to our hotel, we were pleased you enjoyed your stay at Northop Hall. I have noted your comment about the shower curtain and apologise for any inconvenience, we will see if a more satisfactory rail can be used in future. We hope we will have the pleasure... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here last night, had a single room, which was small but perfect. The grounds are really nice, beautiful trees and very well kept. Nice friendly little bar, staff very helpful and attentive , excellent choice for breakfast and beautifully cooked. The hallways and rooms are a little dated, but extremely clean and well kept. Very good value for money,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wallasian, Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Northop Hall. I was pleased you enjoyed your visit and the ''Team' looked after you. Your comments about the hallways to the bedrooms have been noted, and are in the process of being addressed, which we hope to complete in the autumn as this work will be quite... More 

Teesside
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We upgraded to a superior room which was large and well appointed. However it was quite a walk from the reception area. The hotel public areas had an ambiance of a members club. We arrived around lunch time and the room was not ready; this wasn't an issue as we sat in the bar and had a very well presented... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Teeside, Thank you for your great review following your recent visit to our hotel. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and all the 'Team' here looked after you. We look forward to welcoming back on future visits to North Wales, when I hope I may meet you to thank you personally for your feedback. Kind regards, Tony Holland More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

The two Rooms 307 and 308 we had for a week, were Dirty and tired they needed a lick of Paint, through Out, the Curtains in the rooms, kept on coming of the rails when closing them, the main doors to the rooms wouldn't close properly behind u, when going out, so u had to make shore u slammed them,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kevin H Thank you for your review following your recent visit with your family. I was disappointed to see your comments about certain aspects of your stay with us, and have noted your criticism's about the two bedrooms you occupied. We are constantly improving our bedrooms and the corridors are due to be decorated and carpets replaced in the... More 

Swansea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

The room was spacious and clean but the bathroom was very dated and could do with a refurbishment. We had a lovely view over the car park to the enormous grounds. The bed was fabulous, so comfy and we both slept well. There was a wedding when we were there but we didn't hear any noise.Breakfast was average but plentiful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara H Thank you for your review following your recent visit, I was pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I have noted some of the points you made, and in particular the poor WIFI connection in some areas of the hotel. We are currently in the process of switching WIFI provider from satalite... More 

Eastriggs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

I stay here one night a week on a weekly basis. The hotel itself is surrounded by beautiful grounds and has an ideal setting for wedding pictures and weddings itself. Staff and service are second to none with a happy and smiling team and breakfast itself has a good variety of cereals and cooked breakfast which is huge!! Look forward... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lynn G, Thank you so much for your great review. I was delighted to see that the 'Team' here look after you on your frequent visits. We do understand that having to work away from home is not easy, and finding somewhere that makes your regular trips more enjoyable is very important. I hope I may have the opportunity... More 

Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

First visited this hotel 25 years ago when it was part of a promotion. When i wanted a day at Chester Zoo i thought of it and booked myself and husband in. Just as good as 25 yrs ago! Just off a major road so easy to get to and well placed. The zoo was about 20mins. Despite having a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lynand, Thank you for your great review following your recent visit, I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel was as good as you remembered from a visit in the past. We are ideally positioned for many places of interest around North Wales and visitor attractions in the Chester area. We were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northop Hall
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
0.0 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
Soughton Hall
Soughton Hall
#3 of 3 in Northop
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Plas Hafod Hotel
Plas Hafod Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mold
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Village Urban Resort Chester St David's
3.3 mi away
Mountain Park Hotel
Mountain Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flint
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay