We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Village Hotel Chester St David's

St. David's Park | Ewloe, Ewloe CH5 3YB, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Chester St. David's)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Village Hotel Chester St David\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,018 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Grubby bedroom and bathroom, awful food. Had to go to reception and ask for towels as there was no telephone directory, skirting board peeling away in bathroom, taps stiff and overall poorly kept. Bedroom felt grubby with poor paintwork and decor.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 159stephen
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Visited 'The Pub' for lunch and was very disappointed. Decor dull and food dull, very little taste and served on food boards that had seen better days. Charged 50p for a small squash for a 3 year old - you should be ashamed! The only saving grace was that the staff were very friendly and very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne J

Travelers are raving about these Ewloe hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Promotes free wifi but able to get on very poor reception! Nice decor, Starbucks cafe is a nice touch, but the hotel pub is rather expensive for what it is. Chester centre is further than first expected

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 274ninah
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a pleasant stay at this hotel. I was expecting it to be nearer to Chester but it is just over the border in north wales! The staff were all really nice and informative and the hotel was clean and well presented

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natbraid
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel with leisure club and starbucks,pub and restaurant. Food really niceand good quality, all hotel staff friendly. Rooms modern and clean bathroom clean but little dated compared to room, only problem super hot room with no temperature control or aircon so was boiling but overall really good value for money and would return,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mark s
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Disappointing compared to other Village hotels stayed at. A dated hotel in need of modernisation. Staff need to be reminded about customer service and how to make them feel valued.Car parking is difficult and cramped and the hotel was very busy with functions which meant spaces were at a premium. Not fun with several bags to carry in late on... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary F
VillageStDavids, General Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this review

Dear Mary F, Thank you for your review I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectation compared to other Village Hotels, this is very disappointing to read. I am also sorry to read that the reception team did not deliver the level or customer service that we would expect of them. I do hope that we... More 

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall very average stay, hotel was clean and staff service was great. However hotel and rooms are dated, require modernisation and would benefit with more natural lighting and a main light in the room rather than just bed side lamp and one on dressing table. Room was satisfactory with TV and clean bathroom, however noisy from people walking past room... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank t123569
VillageStDavids, General Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this review

Dear t123569, Thank you for your recent review, firstly thank you also for your kind words regarding the team and service at the hotel. I am sorry to read of the lack of lighting in your room. We are going to look at some sample rooms to try and improve the wattage of the lights to further improve this. I... More 

West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in the winter warmer special £89 for dinner b+b which was a great bargain but the hotel needs some attention - free wifi is terrible as well and 3G was very sparse so wifi needs improving! Set menu was nice in restaurant, burgers was really dry though - shame but the starters were great! Breakfast was delicious. Reception staff... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EmDan1
VillageStDavids, General Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this review

Dear EmDan1, Thank you for your review it is great to read that your enjoyed your stay. I can confirm that we undergo a WiFi refurbishment the final week of March that will see our coverage and speed improve. I do hope that we see you again at St David's. Many Thanks Stuart Davies More 

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Room comfortable, bed comfortable, pillows a bit too soft for my liking. Noisy at night in the corridors if there is a theme night on, found was woken up in the early hours by noisy guests and banging door. Breakfast adequate. Staff pleasant and helpful. A bit far out from Chester if you want to explore.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank margreth634
VillageStDavids, General Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this review

Dear margreth634, Thank you for your review, it is good to read that you enjoyed your stay, I am sorry to read that your stay was disturbed by other guests. Thank you also for your kind words regarding the team here, I look forward to sharing this with them. We hope to see you again very soon. Many Thanks Stuart... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Tremendous room, facilities and services. Absolutely loved it. Would definitely recommend. The room especially was fantastic. So comfy and not look like any other hotel room. Definitely going again soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 504nigels
VillageStDavids, General Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this review

Dear 504nigels, Thank you for your very kind review, it is great to read that you had some an enjoyable stay with us and that you would look to return. We hope to see you again soon. Many Thanks Stuart Davies More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

166 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (127)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewloe
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
6.8 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.7 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Mollington
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
11.3 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#2 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay