We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The West Arms Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Llanarmon DC | Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Special Offer
Complimentary Prosecco
The West Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
L H B
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    220
    87
    24
    15
    8
See reviews for
34
241
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (354)
  • Mar-May only
    (134)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
B
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent one night here in July, and I didn't want to leave. The hotel is lovely, my room was clean, comfortable, and with a nice modern bathroom. Everything was provided that you would need - hairdryer, iron, tea making things. A very comfortable bed. I was in Room 12. The location is fabulous - really quiet, in a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the West Arms for 3 days while attending the Eisteddfod and visiting north Wales. Staying in an historic property is always a special event...a unique blend of ancient and modern. The provided breakfast was well presented with many options available for light to robust appetites. Most surprising for us was the outstanding chef and varied lunch and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review - we are very happy you enjoyed all aspects of The West Arms ....hopefully by the next time you visit (which we hope you do), the wifi improvement will have taken place! However the calm tranquility and peace of the village sometimes is more soothing without modern technology, including the interruption of mobile phones! More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just back from a night with mates. All in all a fabulous time was had by all. Hotel itself was lovely, very olde world. Dinner was absolutely lovely, everyone enjoyed it. However, on the downside, I was in room 2 which although it had an enormous bed, had no view apart from another building and the staff smoking area!! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we really enjoyed hosting your group as you were all in great spirits and seemed to have a fabulous weekend. Room 2 is one of our more basic rooms due to the location with no view and is reflected in the price. We always explain that this room is above the kitchen - however... More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second stay at the West Arms and we were not disappointed. The accommodation is full of character and very comfortable, with lovely cosy areas to sit in including the formal dining room and the lounge bar. Lovely friendly and helpful staff, fantastic food, great location, what more could you want ! A big thank you to Steve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely little hotel with lots of character. Very peaceful and beautiful spot. Room nice ,cosy and spotless. Evening meal was just fab and breakfast didn't disappoint .staff very pleasant and helpful, especially Steve with his lil tip and his map of what to do and where to go. 👍 had a lovely stay and then a great day. Would recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were so lucky with bright warm sunshine to be in such a superb location! All staff were pleasant, welcoming and helpful, hotel full of character. Dinner was excellent, clean spacious room and ensuite (separate shower and bath), large comfortable bed and great breakfast in the morning. All-in-all a great night, loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review - we are really pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future... More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We negotiated a deal by telephone for 2 nights B&B during the week of good weather at the end of June 2015. It included one evening’s meal consisting of first and main courses plus complimentary glass of Prosecco. Some dishes on the menu attracted a surcharge but there were plenty of alternatives to choose from without having to pay more.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Ray for such a detailed review - we are really pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future... More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently stayed overnight at the West Arms. It has loads of character and great food in lovely surroundings. Steve and his staff did all they could to make our stay an enjoyable one. Would definately stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! We really do appreciate everyone's efforts in posting a review - especially the positive ones! More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night at this great hote situated in an undiscovered part of Wales. Staff friendly and obliging, food superb and room excellent. Shower massive and a bath as well! Best bacon ever tasted for breakfast. Older Worlde excellence. We were in room 15 which had a great view. Only problem, ran out of Timothy Taylors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great comments - so sorry we ran out of Timothy Taylors - obviously you have great taste! We can always offer cask alternatives but if you visit again, (which we hope you do - such lovely guests), please let us know in advance and we will make sure we have abundant supplies...... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely location and characterful property. Creaky floors and odd staircases abound and just add to the enjoyment if you appreciate individuality. We enjoyed the evening meal (some unusual items such as delicious duck samosa) and freshly cooked breakfasts with top quality ingredients. The room had a large and comfortable bed with nice linen and was very clean. The bathroom unfortunately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. The room you were allocated is slightly cheaper than our standard rooms, due to the fact it has not got a country outlook . However it is a comfortable room as you state in your review. On noting your comments, we are now bleaching the grout... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0.0 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.0 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
15.9 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 12 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
14.5 mi away
White Lion Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Ready to book?