We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The West Arms Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Llanarmon DC | Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Special Offer
Complimentary Prosecco
The West Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
N_31644 Stafford, United Kingdom
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    80
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
32
205
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (308)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely location. Beautiful surroundings. We stayed in room 12, corner room at the bottom of the building. Powerful shower and nice bathroom. We arrived mid afternoon, it was cold and windy outside so set up a place in the bar area. One of my only issues with this hotels as the cost of hot drinks. A cup of tea was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

We are really glad you had a lovely stay with us - thank you for taking the time to post a review. We quite agree that white sliced bread served with a Cheese Board is totally inappropriate and disappointing. We can only apologise with the excuse that it must have been served by an inexperienced member of staff ....however this... More 

Oldham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently had an over night stay on a Travelzoo voucher which was extremely good value for money. The location is idyllic if you want to get away and relax. We went on a walk and the scenery was stunning. All the staff at the hotel were friendly and made you fieel welcome. The food was excellent on the whole.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We've just spent two nights in the Willow Suite and it was mostly good What took the edge off for us was little niggles like no one cleaned / tidied the room for the duration of our two night stay, and it felt like we were being awkward just because we asked if we could order breakfast when we'd been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - we are pleased you enjoyed yourselves on the whole - but wish to apologise for the room not being serviced. We had allocated the smaller suite to you but decided to upgrade you to the larger suite at the last moment and your room was missed off the housekeeping list the following morning for this... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just returned from a lovely overnight stay using a Travel Zoo voucher. Good value for money, food excellent, staff very helpful and friendly, would definitely return. Locally known as the Hidden Valley.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rhyll, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

a fun journey down narrow lanes to get there but well worth it. Really in the middle of nowhere but a warm welcome, great friendly staff , great food and good beer. Due to a slightly noisey group of Dutch guests (just enjoying the,selves) , we were upgrade to the bunny warren suite. It's on 3 floors!!! Full cooked breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northants
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A second visit to this hotel. It will be repeated as soon as possible! Torn between posting a review and keepin very quiet about this fabulous retreat! The staff were all warm and friendly, the food was beautifully presented and well cooked with a wide menu to chose from.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting your view and we are very pleased you were impressed with The West Arms and all it has to offer. This means a lot to all of us that we are doing our job properly and every guest's satisfaction is of paramount importance...thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon -... More 

Merseyside England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is absolutely no doubt that the hotel is in a very pretty area our only enjoyment of which was spoiled by the wind and rain. We had a standard room which was pleasant with a recently refurbished bathroom and a decent amount of apace overall. The room was a bit cold when the heating was not on full but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This certainly is one of the best kept secrets in Wales. The food is nothing less than gourmet and the rooms are filled with period charm , open fires,the most friendly and attentive hosts we had lunch there with friends and we all rated it amongst the best places we have had the pleasure to dine in in Wales. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and taking the time to post it - we hope you will visit us again soon. More 

Denbighshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were married at the West Arms and returned for our anniversary, our wedding was both magical and very special as was our return. We stayed in Willow a very elegant and very comfortable suite. Once again Grant and his team excelled themselves with delicious food. In summary great food, beers, wine and of course a warm and friendly setting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review - we are chuffed you appreciate everything we offer at The West Arms and the area....we have lovely guests and you are certainly included in that category. May we take this opportunity to thank everyone who makes the effort to post a review and extra thanks to those who love The West Arms as much... More 

Stone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

we stayed at the West Arms for two nights in the Bunny Warren, a bit disappointed we felt it needed refurbishing, it was extremely cold in the bathroom and bedroom on our first night, extra heaters had been provided but obviously took a while to kick in...The evening meal on both nights was very good, breakfast was lovely and hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are Eco friendly and conserve energy whenever possible, but not at the expense of our guests. However perhaps you arrived early in the afternoon? We always have heaing timed to come on around 4 pm for the rest of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question