We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

West Point Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
102 Conway Road, Colwyn Bay LL29 7LE, Wales
Hotel amenities
West Point Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 12 Colwyn Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015
Allycarroll
Share an Experience

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    18
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
23
25
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Just got home from a lovely trip away. We took our little dog with Us and we were made to feel very welcome. Room was spacious and clean. Bacon at breakfast was tasty and our little pooch was even treated to her own sausage sandwich. Would recommend. Clean, comfortable and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

We were travelling with our 1,5 year old son this summer and stayed here 1 week!!! And we had the best hotel experience :-) The owners are very kind, helpful and happy to guide you during your stay here. Me and my family highly recommends this Hotel for your stay.. and don't miss the breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Myself and my parter both stayed here. I was more than impressed with the warm welcome we both revived and Jan and Mick where both very helpful. The hotel is in a great location just a stones throw from the main town. The morning breakfast is fantastic they really do go all out. There is a great atmosphere here and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Having searched the North Wales area for a decent bed and breakfast/hotel we stumbled across the delightful West Point hotel, we found the rooms to be spotlessly clean, fresh clean bedding and not a speck of dust or dirt anywhere... Take no notice of any negative comments on here, the service and standard of food is amazing, the staff friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights over August Bank Holiday. Our room was clean, comfortable, and of a higher standard than many big hotel chains we have stayed in recently. Thank you Jan for your warm welcome and kindness to us, and we enjoyed your cooking! Hope to see you again in the Spring. Dawn & John, Plymouth

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan L, Owner at West Point Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review dawn & John ,it was a absolute pleasure . See you both next year . Regards Mick and Jan More 

Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Our first impression was not good a rude member of staff greeted us with a bad attitude. My son and I both had a room each, his single room was small cramped and the bed was meant for a child the matress was a cheap noisy spring type and bed was too short for my son who is 6ft tall.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jan L, Owner at West Point Hotel, responded to this review

We don,t normally reply to review,s but felt we had to with this one . Firstly the booking was made with booking.com . We don,t have lifts people with special needs normally contact the hotel before booking . Your booking with booking.com no where was it mentioned that you required a lift.you choose the single & family room your self... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Well what can I say stayed here for work. Firstly the hotel should just be called a B & B not a hotel. Secondly the mattress that I slept on should have a health warning due to the springs coming out of it. Thirdly the smell of damp in the building was quite overpowering. Lastly the only good thing was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan L, Owner at West Point Hotel, responded to this review

We came at 7.30 As a favour for a early breakfast. Darren thanked us for a pleasant stay was very chatty , telling us he worked with disability basket ball players in Bristol . Thanked us for a lovely stay ,asked was every thing all right , Darren yes lovely thanks . ? More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

we stayed here as it was a dog friendly hotel x we could not have asked for more. room was clean and comfortable . nothing was a problem for mick and jan they made us very welcome . we always looked forward to breakfast it was always cooked fresh . A 2 star hotel that should be 4 star, would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed here for one night; I'd selected this hotel for its proximity to the railway station. We arrived fairly let, and got a rather perfunctory welcome. Our room (a twin, on the second floor) was not large, but it was clean and the beds were comfortable, and it had an en-suite. Breakfast was OK, if a little greasy; the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Although this hotel is rated a 2 star we got the feeling that it could have been a 4 star!! Mick and Jan...proprietors...were very freindly and we had a great welcome...hubby and me had one double room and my daughter and my granddaughter..1 year old...had another double room which was next to ours...travel cot and bedding was also provided at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question