We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Colwyn Bay hotels

Whitehall Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Cayley Promenade | Rhos on Sea, Colwyn Bay LL28 4EP, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Whitehall Hotel to your Saves list
Whitehall Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
82%
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Colwyn Bay
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Patrick C Bangor, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (40)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    5
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been visiting rhos from time to time. I always stay in this guests house. The room is always been cleaned. The staff are nice and friendly. The kitchen is clean and the food is always served from fresh. The food is cooked. The cook is helpful and friendly. However, sometimes there are some rude, stuckup guests in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I took my partner to North Wales for his birthday and booked the Whitehall last minute. On a positive note the room was clean and the breakfast very nice and freshly prepared. However, in this day and age you would not expect the following . 1. Masking tape holding the skirting board together 2. Cardboard sellotaped to the wall where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TonyMD, Owner at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay with us was disappointing. Many of your issues could have been resolved very easily, had you talked with us about your concerns. 1. The door has been finished but the wallpaper suffered during the work. We plan refurbishment of this room shortly 2. The plumber will re-tile the bathroom part of the wall between... More

Caterham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They say first impressions are all important and boy are they right. After a lovely drive up the A5 and along the Conwy Valley I was looking forward to a cheery welcome as I checked in before making my way to the cricket I had come to see. I've always found Guesthouses and B&Bs far more welcoming then the Travelodges... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TonyMD, Owner at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

This guest argued with my wife at the outset and things did not improve. Our normal way of dealing with dissatisfaction at the outset is to offer a free ride to another hotel which may be more to his liking. We regret we did not do that in this case. His review makes several assumptions and statements that are not... More

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

stayed sat 24th may. lovely hotel very friendly but was surprised they had no evening meals on and you wasn't allowed to have take away in your room . was told about carvery near by but they stopped serving at 6pm so had to go even further looking for something to eat. might want to think about offering sandwiches or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TonyMD, Owner at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we wish more persons would take the time to let us know what is required to meet their needs. We can provide meals any day that we receive the order before 9.30 am. Menus change daily and the chef needs the time to ensure that fresh produce is used. We have tried offering meals... More

Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This family run hotel is one of the best, yes a little tired,but don't let that put you off,a lovely quite sea side hotel with views to die for and lovely food from mine hosts Tony and Maria. Book in and and enjoy the delights of North Wales.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here in September and have lost count of the times we have visited this hotel. Always a warm welcome. Breakfast is special and evening meal just to our liking. Everything freshly cooked and locally bought. Tony and Maria are only too happy to deal with any special requests. Did enjoy our after dinner chats with them. We particularly like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TonyMD, Owner at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. We must admit that we find it very easy to please you as you have been so many times that we know your preferences.. As you talk so openly, it has always been easier to serve you because you let us know your likes and dislikes. It is very kind of you to chat... More

surrey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

First stayed at the Whitehall in 2001, in 2002 met my husband to be at the hotel although I did not know it at the time ! The World Cup was on and the hotel had a lovely atmosphere. We have returned many times and our latest stay was on Thursday 22nd August 2013. Tony and Maria are still as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TonyMD, Owner at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

Great to see you again - and to know that you are closer than before. You reminded us how long we have been here and it really is great to see people coming back - and with children now grown up. We can remember them 'matchmaking' furiously without either of you being aware! Thank you for your kind words. Maria... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

4 of us stayed for 2 nights in 2 twin rooms. Cost us £60 each which included a full welsh breakfast made to order (well thats what we had, they did have a menu). Our only complaint would be the showers in our rooms, as theres no water pressure. The owners tony and maria were wonderful people, very helpful along... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TonyMD, Owner at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We know that you caught fish - but we did not get a chance to taste them! Perhaps next time. We are sorry that you did not mention the shower problem when we were chatting with you. It could have been sorted very swiftly as it was a problem with the settings, the pressure... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

stayed here in feb-march 2013, cant praise the hosts enough, pleasant friendly expirienced people who are always happy to help. the rooms are spacious and modern, warm and tidy. parking is good out of season with local ammenities within walking distance. access onto the a55 is easy and the view as you look out of the front doors of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked a room with a sea view for our honeymoon, the room was a perfect size for myself and my husband, the room was clean,tidy and comfortable. The hotel itself was warm and welcoming, and was cleaned by the maid daily. Maria and Tony offered us a warm reception upon our arrival and provided excellent meals throughout the 3... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Whitehall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Whitehall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehall Hotel

Address: 51 Cayley Promenade | Rhos on Sea, Colwyn Bay LL28 4EP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitehall Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Whitehall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehall Hotel Colwyn Bay, Wales

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer