We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Kings Road, Llandovery SA20 0AP , Wales
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Castle Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    122
    81
    33
    9
    9
See reviews for
29
136
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (254)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night working in the area. It is in the centre of Llandovery so essy to find amd has a private car park at the rear. Everyone was freindly and welcoming on arrival and showed me to my room. The building is reallyw old and full of charecter and staricase creaks but has been modernised enough to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Really enjoyed my stay at the Castle Hotel, and is definitely the best looking hotel in the town. Would have been really good but unfortunately there were people sitting outside at the back near our bedroom window until the early hours and kept us awake. Nice breakfast and clean rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our room was very comfortable, allowing space to sit in comfort. The evening meal was delicious and beautifully presented. We would love to stay here again, particularly as it is so close to the castle.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked in for one night in one of the best rooms and we were not disappointed. The room was superb a bit noisy as its on the main road but apart from that very comfortable. The staff were helpful and pleasant. The only disappointment was the food. The hotel prides itself on the quality of food but our was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Icing on the cake here for us was the room upgrade. Lovely comfortable bedroom on top floor. Some traffic noise as A40 runs through town. A good nights sleep though and nice relaxing breakfast Only one negative comment, no cold water running from bathroom taps. Both taps ran hot water! Great stay, thanks

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the stay. I think that we discussed the traffic situation as you were leaving. I guess that the A40 was a mere Drovers track when the Castle Hotel was built although it was a Stage Coach Route which may have been a bit noisy at times, The hot water situation is a bit of a poser, since... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On our long drive from Porthmadog to Swansea the Castle looked like a welcome beacon on a dark night. Sadly appearances were deceptive on this occasion as the welcome we got was quite cold. There was five in our party and we split up to use the facilities. I rambled through the lobby and noted all the lovely snug seating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Whilst I would agree that your party should have been enthusiastically greeted upon entering the building, I would ask that you understand that we have all been working some very long hours of late and that generally when people head straight to the "facilities" they head straight back out again afterwards (despite the public conveniences in the car park -... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am here at the Castle Hotel as I write. It is 03.50am. I have still not been to sleep. It is only a Tuesday night. There seem to be no other guests yet there was a lot of laughing and cackling and hee heeing and much loud talking as if they were in the same room as me and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

This is absolutely shocking and the situation has been taken very seriously indeed. All staff involved have been disciplined (one has been dismissed) and training given to the junior manager who was on duty to help them deal with such situations. I will contact the guest directly to offer an unreserved apology. More 

Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food only- we didn't stay as we live fairly local. Having visited the Castle on several occasions over the last few years and never been disappointed it was the first place we thought of for Sunday lunch having just returned from holiday and not wanting to cook. We walked in, stood at the bar and were ignored by the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you found the welcome a little flat at The Castle. We are working on staff training at present. I think what may have been encountered here however was a severe case of morning sickness which clearly you would not be sympathetic towards in your ignorance of it. We will endeavor to ensure that... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were put in a room over a disco with no sound proofing. We could have been at the disco which didn't end until well gone midnight. After that guests were in the bar until well after 1.00am and we could hear the shouting and laughing word for word. Then staff started clearing up after the wedding - scraping tables... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

For the benefit of prospective guests this particular instance was an unfortunate mistake as the receptionist who took the booking believed this couple to be with the wedding at the hotel whilst they were in fact attending another wedding in the town. They were not charged for the room and a gratuity has been offered. We are very very sorry... More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Clean, comfortable rooms. Lovely steak dinner at the restaurant and home baked biscuits served in the afternoon. Surprisingly poor breakfast with overcooked eggs, pathetic smoked fish and very ordinary jam in little plastic sachets.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
10.5 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
20.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#8 of 13 in Llandovery
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 13 in Llandovery
5.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay