We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Madison Hotel

#7 of 135 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Madison Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 135 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
CRSFortWorth Fort Worth
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    243
    98
    47
    33
See reviews for
120
467
46
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1011)
  • Mar-May only
    (268)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (273)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (283)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (187)
All months
Fort Worth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very attractive appearance ... trendy. Only there one night, but there was a repeatable disconnect between talk and service promised, which was disappointing. Had to pay in advance & nonrefundable, which is not an attractive feature.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walled Lake, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked this hotel through Hotwire so got the smallest of their rooms...a queen room. Small but ok for the two of us. Looked nice but there was some shoddy workmanship in the wood looking flooring in the entryway...large spaces between the boards which created a tripping hazard. Obviously the boards were cut to the wrong size when installed and left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Madison was wonderful. The service was exceptional. The hotel is exquisite and the view from the rooftop is one of the best, if not the best in Memphis. I recommend valet parking, especially if you are not familiar with the Memphis area. The morning breakfast wait staff at Eighty3 the hotel's restaurant was not the best, but this was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The customer service was awesome! The furnishings were amazing. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The problems 1) no vending machines so you were forced to use the mini bar in the room and 2) no vents in the bathroom. Nothing major but still.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madison, MS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have season tickets to the Orpheum and been staying down the street. This was our first try with the Madison but it certainly will not be our last. The hotel is beautiful, location is perfect for restaurants and theatre and the Twilight bar on the roof is a wonderful experience. The view of the Mississippi River is breath taking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisle, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel was very clean, with an attractive decor. We stayed in a junior suite. The suite was attractively decorated. Very large bathroom with both a walk in shower and fancy tub. Our room overlooked the rooftop of another building with a partial view to an alley. The mini bar was fully stocked although with exceptionally overpriced items. The rooftop patio... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angie H, General Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and were pleased with your guestroom, bathroom and our Rooftop space. I appreciate your comments about the USB ports and about the honor bar prices - certainly, something we will evaluate. Thank you for choosing the Madison. Sincerely, Angie More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Really enoyed my stay. The rooms were very nice. We stayed in a Jr Suite that had a jacuzzi and rainforest shower with a separate living room. I was told that the other Jr. Suites was much smaller. Great customer service from valet parking to the front desk. In walking distance to Beale St.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Best place in the nicest part of town overlooking the river. It was centrally located however paking was around the corner, Our restaurant was flight and it was within walking distance wish I could have stayed a second night but was booked

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kristy S, Director of Sales at Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review! We are in the perfect location for sure. Please come back anytime and just plan on staying longer next time. Hope you have a great Memorial Day weekend. All the best, More 

Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived on Friday May 15 and there was no valet in sight. Just a sign that said valet parking $29 a night. After unloading the car, my husband took it around the corner to park it in the garage there. Total cost for the weekend parking two minutes from the door walking, $15! What a deal. Glad there was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angie H, General Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Madison and I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your guestroom, Twilight Sky Terrace rooftop and the food in eighty3. I am disappointed that my staff was unprofessional in the restaurant and I am glad to hear that Management addressed your concerns. I too wish that we had our own parking facility but I... More 

San Carlos
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i have written many reviews for Trip Advisor, and most of them quite positive. This one, however, will not fall into that bucket. After spending almost $800 dollars for a three day weekend and paying in full 5 months in advance, I expected this boutique hotel to deliver on both quality and service, but it failed on both. In spite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angie H, General Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to make me aware of your concerns. I will meet with the Front Office team and Valet Captain to evaluate scheduling. We obviously could have communicated the delays in retrieving guests vehicles in a better fashion. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the room type you booked. We have many different room... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

580 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (242)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (64)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (77)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (288)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Executive Double Deluxe Room (32)
Viewed
Executive King Room with Riverview (35)
Viewed
Junior Suite (43)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (36)
Viewed
King Suite (49)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay