We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
300 North Second Street, Memphis, TN 38105 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

845 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    231
    260
    218
    80
    56
See reviews for
165
288
34
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (845)
  • Mar-May only
    (226)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (292)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (213)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (114)
All months
united states
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

In town for one night. We got in later evening after dark and I thought it was so awesome seeing lights of the city when we entered the room, so awesome!! We were o the 9th floor and slept with our curtains open just to see the view when we got up. The air conditioner was cold. The room smelled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Curtis R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Googlybear, Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement of our hotel and team! Nothing is more gratifying than hearing we did a great job! We hope to see you soon and I hope you'll stop in and introduce yourself the next time you're in Memphis! All the best, Curtis Reitz General Manager More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent 1 night at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in downtown Memphis and it was great! The rooms were clean and comfy, the beds were great! Never having been to Memphis before, we chatted with the hotel staff to find our where to eat and what to do. Their suggestions were great and "D" the free Shuttle driver, was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Curtis R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear S G, Thank for your positive feedback and for taking the time to recognize "D" our shuttle driver. "D" is one of the top performers and we are fortunate to have him on our team! Please stop in and introduce yourself the next time you're in Memphis. Safe travels, Curtis Reitz General Manager More 

Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

They offered a stunning value if you paid in full ahead. I did. Zero regrets. My room was 50% cheaper than the hotel next door where I stayed for the Annual Autozone Vendor Conference June 1,2,3,4. They also provided the Board Room for our private meeting with international clients for only $100. My check in was perfect. My bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Curtis R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Robinbayvillage, Thank you for your positive feedback and for sharing it on Trip Advisor. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Safe travels, Curtis Reitz General Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very bad smell coming from the A/C in the room and noisy during the night. You know the reason? The gym is located on the 11th floor and if your room is located on the 10th floor you can imagine the fun if somebody uses the gym in the middle of the night!!! Not a good experience. There is an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Curtis R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear John J, Thank you for your candid feedback. I'm so sorry that you were less than pleased with your stay Our hotel was recently purchased and will be going thru a several million dollar renovation in a few weeks. The items that you mentioned in your feedback will be addressed. I'd be pleased to see you return after the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
134 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My room is very light, airy, spacious and CLEAN! The local news channel mentioned a mild earthquake here, along the Mighty Mississippi River fault line this morning! We were still in Kentucky! Whew! There is a small pool outside. There is also in-room dining!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we arrived at 1:00 am after traveling all day, we checked in and did the usual signing of paperwork, registering your vehicle. Which is the norm of every hotel. However No one told us we were going to be charged 17.00 per night to park. There are signs all over saying they are not responsible for any theft or damage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Curtis R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Marie, I was disappointed to learn of your surprise about the parking charge. In fairness, there are signs posted both outside and inside the hotel that explain the fee. It's explained again at check-in. All the hotels in downtown Memphis charge for parking. Indeed, our rates in comparison, are reasonable. The signs posted outside serve as a reminder to... More 

Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall a good experience, positive review by me. Pro: first of all super nice sst night Mgr. Darryl Hulon who assisted me in everything and made me feel at home; shuttle service to downtown and anywhere within a certain range; room price not to high; clean and big room; fitness center inside the hotel at 11th floor. Cons: the shuttle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Curtis R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Giovanni, Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Downtown Memphis. I appreciate you taking time to recognize Darryl, one on our night managers. Beginning in October our hotel will be going thru a complete renovation that will be transformative. This will involve complete upgrades of the pool area and fitness center that you... More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is supposed to be a 3.5 star hotel. IT IS NOT. I travel often and most of the time I stay in 3.5 to 4 star hotels so I believe I would be an expert if knowing if it is or not. The staff and lobby was very nice. However; the rooms and hallways were in terrible condition.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Curtis R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Sdkfour, Thank you for your candid feedback, although I'm not sure that you stayed at the Crowne Plaza Downtown Memphis. I noticed that the pictures you included in your review were not of our hotel. Our color scheme is brown and green; our guest room doors are white. I think you must have us confused with another hotel in... More 

Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only one night at the Crown Plaza in a "deluxe" room on "quiet" floor. Good sized rooms with the amenities you would expect, but very dated and a cleanliness ratio of only 2.5 on a 5 scale. Bathroom toilet didn't flush (fixed IMMEDIATELY by hotel staff) Rust around bathroom door frame near shower. WiFi didn't work on the top floors.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Curtis R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Hutch, Thank you for talking the share to share your feedback on Trip Advisor and for recognizing the responsiveness of our team. Our hotel was recently purchased and will be going thru an extensive renovation beginning in October. The issues that you were less than pleased with will be corrected soon. I hope that after our renovation is complete... More 

Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros: free shuttle to downtown, certain staff members were friendly and wanted to help (not all, but there were a few that spent time and effort to try to help) Cons: dirty rooms (had to switch 3 times) and was still left with clogged sinks and tubs, hotel is in need of maintenance, air conditioners can't keep up (room couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Curtis R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Inshaffer, Thank you for your candid feedback on Trip Advisor. I apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Our hotel was recently purchased and beginning in October will be going thru an extensive renovation that will address the issues you mentioned. We have many exciting changes in store and hope you'll return to our hotel once... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

225 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (126)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (63)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#19 of 134 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 134 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay