We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
300 North Second Street, Memphis, TN 38105 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

930 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room was okay. Not as clean as I would like. Beds were comfortable, but walking in and out of parking garage was really inconvenient and the lower lobby was not clean. The staff was friendly and generally helpful. The WiFi was free, but really slow. This was my first stay at a Crown Plaza hotel and I was really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison L
texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Major renovation going on. The entire first floor is closed, so you enter through the basement parking garage into a temporary room with a desk for check-in. The computer system was down and we had to wait for 30 minutes before they could code our keys. The "bar/restaurant" is in a very old ballroom and their credit card system was... More 

Helpful?
Thank gozur

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An appalling experience! Apart from the fact that the hotel had not told the UK Holiday company that they were having major building works, this place would still be receiving the most negative of reviews, mainly because of the appalling quality of their staff. Admittedly when we were met by a receptionist wearing a hard hat we knew it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Timatten
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First off you're going to charge me for parking while, unlisted on the reservation site, you are in renovation. Not cool. I'm pretty sure my room was renovated recently due to what looked like a new bathroom design but my TV did not work, the toilet ran all night, paint was already peeling in the shower (brilliant move not installing... More 

Helpful?
Thank TKRockville
Slidell, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Check in was thru garage, and in a basement, I was unaware of the Construction going on when I booked this hotel, we had a big gap in a vent in the heater which allowed the cold temps to enter the room, we called the desk but it took about 2 hours before maintenance ever showed up, we were attending... More 

Helpful?
Thank BarbaraM702
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes, the first floor is CLOSED due to remodeling. However, the staff here are amazing. For example, Darryl Hulon. He took care of me even though I mistakenly failed to change my arrival date after my client moved the meeting a day. Yes, the restaurant, bar and reception are all in the basement as they soldier on. Breakfast was great.... More 

Helpful?
Thank robinbayvillage
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I rented 2 rooms for a family visit to Memphis last Halloween. I found the rooms to be very clean as I am a fanatic about hotel cleanliness. The hotel bar was a little pricy on drinks. They had a shuttle bus that was very convenient. We used the valet parking as it is only a few $ more than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle_M_reviews
Curtis R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent visit this us. I appreciate your constructive feedback. Out hotel is undergoing an extensive renovation of our guest rooms and public spaces. I apologize that you had an issue with a leak from the bathroom above. This issue is being addressed. I'm sorry that you didn't... More 

missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked thru Expedia. Our room was 228 on second floor, located at the very end of a hallway. The hotel is undergoing a massive renovation. The lobby is in a temporary location as well as the Restaurant. Our room was one of the newly updated. The double beds were ok on comfort, mine sank a little in the middle. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank biscuitRose
Curtis R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear biscuit Rose, Thank you for your feedback of our hotel and service after your recent stay. Your comments will help us make necessary improvements to our operation. Yes, we are going thru a very extensive renovation of the hotel. We appreciate your patience with the noise and construction dust. I'm disappointed that the cheese cake wasn't enjoyable and I'm... More 

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although it's ± a 15 minute walk from Beale Street, this hotel is perfect for people wanting to see Memphis at an affordable price. They offer a free shuttle service anywhere downtown until 22h30, which is excellent. The hotel is going to be renovated shortly and the plans look really nice. We had breakfast at the hotel one morning and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dazzagordi
Vancouver, wa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a "spire" member these were my experiences. 1) The room that I had reserved was unavailable they didn't have a king size bed instead they gave me two double size beds. 2) when I got to my room at midnight the door was open to the hallway I called the front desk they asked if the room was OK... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike H
Curtis R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Mike, I'm sorry that you experienced so many difficulties during your stay. We are undergoing a significant renovation of the guest rooms and public spaces, but that doesn't explain all the issues you encountered. I want to assure you that I've addressed your concerns with the Executive Housekeeper and the other appropriate personnel. We've added additional signage to the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#16 of 134 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peabody Memphis
#6 of 134 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 stars 2,307 reviews
Downtown
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#13 of 134 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Madison Hotel
#10 of 134 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay