We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind

#43 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
3579 Hacks Cross Road, Memphis, TN 38125
Special Offer
Save 10% your next stay
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    65
    40
    32
    15
    9
See reviews for
42
19
8
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Little Rock, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Every single drain was backed up (sink and tub) and mattresses needed to be replaced. All sides sunk in. The hotel seemed full..maybe I had the room from hell. Besides that, the staff was absolutely amazing. Friendly, professional and courteous. Hampton has exceptional staff.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelsatSouthwind, Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this review

Dear Myra G: Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our hotel. Please accept my apology for the problems you encountered with the bathroom in your room. I have shared your comments with our Housekeeping Manager. We have taken measures to make sure we have corrected the issues you mentioned. We would love if you gave us another... More 

Huntsville, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything was dirty, my room smelled like ground beef. The bathroom was dirty. The internet didn't work, burns in the bathtub marble. Really just not great. The breakfast was good though. Will not stay again if the Hyatt is available.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelsatSouthwind, Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this review

Dear Jessie T: We are in receipt of your comments concerning your stay at our hotel. We apologize for the problems you encountered. We have seen you your issues and certainly hope we have corrected the problems. Again, thank you for your comments. Adrianne More 

Cookeville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The internet was down from 4 pm thru 830, which put ability to complete work tasks/resolve email issues timely. Staff was apologetic, but after a 'false alarm' on when it was resolved once, finally had the wifi up and running 90 minutes after they advised it would be. Also a hair or two on the floor and the vanity in... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelsatSouthwind, Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this review

Dear Tim S: Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind. Please accept my apology for the less than satisfactory service your received. I am glad to report our internet is properly working. I hope we have a chance to show you we have a good internet connection. Thank you for your feedback.... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The title says it. I booked and paid for a room in advance. When I arrived around Midnight, the clerk said they had overbooked and gave me a printed Google map to the Crowne Plaza. To their credit, they covered the price of the night. To their discredit, they didn't bother to call, txt or email (maybe their computer system... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelsatSouthwind, Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this review

Dear Carl B: I am in receipt of your comments concerning your reservation at the Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind. Please accept my apology for us having to relocate you to another hotel. There were circumstances we were not able to avoid which caused our room count to drop for the evening. Having another hotel take care of your travel... More 

Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The property is very well maintained. The desk staff was very friendly and I really felt welcome. As I walked to elevator another employee spoke to me and was very pleasant and I always find this to be a good sign. The king room was spacious and very clean. It is well decorated and comfortable. The only issue was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelsatSouthwind, Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this review

Dear Sirtrvlot: Thank you for your feedback concerning you stay at the Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We are currently working on a way to make our remotes more user friendly. Hopefully by the time you return to our hotel, we would have succeeded. Again, thank you for your comments. We... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a great place to stay. Very clean and the staff was wonderful. We were able to get directions to the event and recommendations on where to eat. They even have a shuttle for near by businesses. Breakfast was great, wonderful selection to choose from. We didn't try the pool but from the excited sounds from the kids in the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelsatSouthwind, Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this review

Dear 753susant; Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The next time you are in this area, please stop by our hotel. Adrianne More 

Lynchburg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was really nice except for one major problem. Upon checking in at 6 pm we were told we had that we had to wait for a room. We ended up waiting almost 2 hours for a room to be cleaned. This happened to a lot of customers that day and the next day also. The front to desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelsatSouthwind, Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this review

Dear Brian M: Thank you for your feedback concerning your experience at the Hampton Inn - Southwind. Please accept my apology for the issue you had at check in. The problems we, as a team, experienced that day were out of the norm for us and beyond our control. We have since then come up with solutions that will prevent... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Traveling for business and have been waiting over 7 hours to check in, almost 5 hours PAST the four pm check in time. We have watched NUMEROUS people get rooms while my poor coworker had been told "come back at 3".... "come back at 430"... "20 more minutes".... "30 more minutes"..... absolutely rediculous! I will never, ever stay at this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelsatSouthwind, Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this review

Dear Katelyn L: I am in receipt of your comments about your check in process. Please accept my apology for the delay in getting you and your coworker in your rooms. We certainly did not plan for such a long wait and were mortified to have had the trouble which caused such a delay. Please believe we have resolved our... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Check in and further assistance from Deatra as well as Georgiana made each pass by the front counter enjoyable. They are always smiling and friendly. The lobby and rooms have been modernized. A first visit had the sink fixtures loose from the wall but this second visit had everything in good order. For some reason both visits had stained tubs,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelsatSouthwind, Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this review

Dear Donald W: Thank you for your email concerning your stay at our hotel. The comments about our staff have been passed on. The ladies were so appreciative to have been mentioned. If you are in our area again, please make plans to stay with us. Regards, Adrianne More 

Jonesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

I was in town for a family reunion and it appears a baseball tournament was in town too. It would ha e been nice if the staff at check-in would have warned me and asked to put me on a floor lower than the teams. There's nothing like being caught off guard and being placed in a floor with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelsatSouthwind, Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this review

Dear Willis M: Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our hotel. Please accept my apology for the problems you experienced. It would be my pleasure to speak to you about your feedback. If you have time, please send me your contact information. My email address is adrianne.allen@hilton.com Again, I appreciate your feedback letting us know how we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
5.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
10.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis East/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#20 of 134 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay