We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Portpatrick Hotel

Hotel website
Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TQ, Scotland
Special Offer
£20 WEEKEND OFFER
The Portpatrick Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013
Suntravellers65 Glasgow, United Kingdom
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    130
    44
    22
    11
See reviews for
27
202
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (313)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Portpatrick Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visited this hotel in late May 2013 and returned last weekend (27 July).On both occasions we were happy with our room, our reception and our stay was made all the better by the friendly, efficient and helpful staff. The meals are always edible and usually both imaginative dishes and attractively presented. The public rooms are nicely furnished and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Your comments on the staff are very kind. Thank you for that. As you say, a 108 year old building does take some upkeep, especially with the weather beating it takes in the winter. We try our best to keep on top of it but its not always easy to repair everything we want to all at once. More 

South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

we have been on a few coach holidays and found the accommodation below standard but this hotel was a surprise. the foyer was very comfortable and there was another two sitting areas which were very nice one with a large screen tv,the carpets through out looked new. the staff were very helpful and approachable. there is a lift to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. The bathroom has just been finished in that room. This is part of our on-going upgrading. The slopping ceiling determined the bathroom had to be laid out. More 

Larne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last Sunday for one night, it is set in the finest location in Portpatrick and overlooks the village and the bay, a view to die for on a sunny summers evening. Whist our room was very comfortable and clean, it was in desperate need of being refurbished, it was like something out of the 1980's.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. The public areas were the start of a refurbishment. We have in place a plan to complete the hotel. We can only do this a little at a time. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel sits in a beautiful location, lobby area is beautiful, friendly gentleman on reception on arrival, we paid quite a hefty price for a shabby room, dirty green coloured carpet, would benefit from upgrading to the same perfect standard of the lobby, breakfast must be the children's portion, full breakfast was tiny! Lady who served us could do with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I’m sorry your experience was not as expected. Hopefully, if you return, you will experience, as the vast majority of our guests do, is a much nicer time. More 

Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed at the Portpatrick Hotel for one night last weekend. I had booked through booking.com and requested a room with a sea view and was happy to pay to upgrade. The manager at the hotel phoned me and left a message to say he would see what he could do.. (it was worth the request to hear the Irish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

It is very refreshing to read a review where someone actually appreciates the value for money we offer. We are not, nor do we pretend to be a 5 star hotel, we do try our best to ensure everyone who stays, enjoys it. Thanks again for this review. More 

Rotherham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a rewarding little haven after a lengthy, scenic drive. A rich in character, French-chateaux, inspired, structure, with a most welcoming staff with Phil the manager, plus his Irish No.2. Breakfast and dinner were well prepared and professionally served.There was no entertainment, but it was enough to savour the idyllic, grandstand, situation after a tasteful days cliff-top and uncommercialised harbour-strolling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind comments. Portpatrick is the type of place where people return time after time.. I hope we see you soon. More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Arrived after a long day with Simon, an excellent driver, to find that pre-ordered flowers for my wife's birthday were not in my room as arranged. Spoke to an Irish gentleman on reception who took this error out on one of the receptionists. I received no apology and had to "get him out of a hole" by having them delivered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I ‘m glad you got your flowers. The normal procedure for this is to order them yourself through interflora or someone similar. This way you get exactly what you want for your partner. The Irishman (Melvin) chose to take this on himself and get flowers for you. Unfortunately he forgot to orginise them for your... More 

Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fantastic harbour view from our room Staff were very very good Meals were ok but it is a budget holiday so dont expect too much Room was good but the shower had a mind of its own plenty of hot water so had to resort to baths mattress was not very comfortable you could feel the springs But at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are very fortunate with the views we have. I will pass on your comments to the staff. Hopefully we will see you here again soon. Thanks again. More 

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a long weekend break and our final destination was The Portpatrick Hotel. We arrived on Friday evening and despite a very strong breeze the sun was shining and it was quite warm. Got out of the car overlooking this beautiful little fishing village and the lightly painted houses looked really picturesque in the sunshine. We were greeted at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. All 108 year old hotels tend to have water issues which is very unfortunate. Our wine is £5.55 for a 250ml glass. It has not, as you say, reached the £6 mark just yet. We have a bottles on sale for only £14.95 with a £1.00 off voucher for your next bottle. Competitively priced I... More 

South Shields
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and was a very comfortable stay but the rooms really do need re-decorating and refurbished. The location is great and the view from the rooms is amazing overlooking the harbour but the rooms really did let the place down. It was a clean and well sized room and couldn't fault the staff or the breakfasts.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are in the process of costing to refurbish bedrooms. This can be quite a slow process with the costs involved. Thanks again for the review and hopefully it won’t be too long before your back visiting once more. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (137)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question