We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bull Hotel

15 Black Bull Street, Duns TD11 3AR, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duns
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Black Bull Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal at the Black Bull on new year's eve. Thanks to the chef and the super friendly and efficient waitress, who ensured us a great time despite being the only people in the restaurant! We appreciated the local ales on tap too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsdoggy
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

It was 2010 when I last stayed here and was very pleased with accommodation and the restaurant was then excellent. A Christmas meal in 2015 was a real disappointment. Should one expect a bit more than token recognition of the time of year in the restaurant's festive decoration? Traditional fare gave the impression of looking toward quantity rather than quality.... More 

Helpful?
Thank David B
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

We visited the black bull as it seemed the only pub in Duns that allows dogs. We were guided to a small snug type room. Bar meals cost about £10. Food was ok. Staff very friendly and helpful. Old style country pub. Decor could be improved.

Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

Warm, friendly and welcoming. The pub is classic. We arrived during a rugby game and were wrapped right into the action. The room was cozy and felt like a guestroom in someone's home. All you need in a clean and tidy ensuite with a comfortable bed.

Helpful?
1 Thank MVTraveler31
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and I was not disappointed. Don't be put off by the slightly shabby look and particularly the untidiness on the 1st landing. The room we were in, the Cockburn,, was beautifully decorated with sumptuous curtains and bed-linen, a massive, very comfortable bed, a huge telly and it was very cosy warm... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank EileenMac
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as a friend was getting married in the area. After a very long journey to get to Duns it was such a pleasure to be welcomed in to a cosy double room with en suite that was immaculate and very homely. The owners have obviously thought carefully about their guests needs as there was bottles... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Holly B
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Very friendly pub but food a bit disappointing. I needed to find a place to eat and the local bistro was fully booked so I tried her.....it's ok but not brilliant. There are other pubs in the town but this looked to be the best for food.

Helpful?
Thank Rob L
BlackBullHotelDuns1, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to read you were disappointed with your recent visit. Could you perhaps elaborate on what you found disappointing? Cooking, presentation, service? I'm unsure on when you visited or what you had so it makes it difficult to discuss the issue with our chef/servers. We appreciate all feedback so that we can continue to maintain a high standard... More 

Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We stayed on 17th July and were met with a warm and friendly welcome. The real ales were a big plus, the food was wonderful and we had a spacious, well appointed room that met all our requirements. As we were leaving early the next morning, before breakfast, we were offered a choice of a continental breakfast brought up to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
BlackBullHotelDuns1, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I'm very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Real ale is definitely a big plus point for a lot of our visitors so I'm glad you noticed we have it on offer! Hope to see you again if you return to the area. Kind regards, Hayley More 

Tranent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Sat out in the garden for coffee. Very peaceful and listened to the birds. The hotel was very quiet, only three other customers. Inside the décor looked tired. Can't say much about food as I did not have any. Staff seemed to have vanished. Would come back just to sit in the garden. Clean toilets

Helpful?
Thank IslaT54
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015 via mobile

I wasn't staying at the hotel but went in for lunch one day whilst out walking the dog. Staff were very friendly, food very reasonable and the beer garden out the bag was lovely. They are dog friendly (in the bar and beer garden) and gave me water for the dog too.

Helpful?
1 Thank KB915
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duns
6.4 mi away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Chirnside Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirnside
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lady Penelope's B&B
5.2 mi away
One Green Hope Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Bank House Duns
#7 of 9 in Duns
3.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ravelaw
Ravelaw
#4 of 9 in Duns
5.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Wheatsheaf Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swinton
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities