We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Duns B&Bs / inns

Black Bull Hotel

Save
You added Black Bull Hotel to your Saves list
15 Black Bull Street, Duns TD11 3AR, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Black Bull Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Duns B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duns
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We were staying near Duns and went in on Saturday lunchtime for some shopping and a bite to eat. We asked at "The horns" for a good place to eat and were directed by the landlady to the Black Bull. We had a meal and a glass of beer. The meal was excellent as was the service. Thank you Pammy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duns, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Two trips this month and the Black Bull is easily the best restaurant in Duns. All the food is well presented and everyone has particularly enjoyed the desert menu. With most main courses under £10, it is very good value too. And Scottish-size portions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackBullHotel_Duns, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. I'm very pleased you enjoyed both of your visits, it's great for us to see people returning! Hope to see you again soon! More 

Waltham Cross, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Pleasant place to stay, with staff all very helpful..facilities a bit limited, but clean and well maintained old building. Parking limited at the side of the property, but plenty on road, nearby. Staff in this family run business can't do enough for you to make your stay enjoyable..The daughter in the restaurant (Mum has a crucia ligament problem and currently... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlackBullHotel_Duns, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure having you here. I'm not 100% certain what you mean by facilities being limited but I think you would have stayed in the family suite, which is 2 bedrooms with a shared bathroom, unfortunately there's not a lot we can do to change this. Being... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Our golfing party has visited the Borders for the past 7 years staying at various hotels. The Black Bull is the best we have stayed at. Hayley daughter of the owner and chef did a fantastic welcoming job. The breakfasts were out of this world. David Fereday Ryton Tyne & Wear

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackBullHotel_Duns, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us! It was a pleasure having you here, such a friendly group of guys. We hope to see you again next year when you return to the area! More 

Shipley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

We did not stay but this is your only appearance on Trip Advisor, as a hotel. We were staying in a self catering cottage nearby and decided to treat ourselves one day. We made the right choice. All the food was fabulous, well cooked and presented. I was especially impressed with the children's menu - more than the usual chicken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackBullHotel_Duns, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! I'm very pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us. We believe that children should get to enjoy good, homemade food just as much as the adults when they come in & I'm glad you were impressed with our selection. The beer garden is the perfect place to sit... More 

Edinburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

As a regular visitor to Duns to stay over locally with family near Chirnside, no visit is complete until we've had an evening meal at the Black Bull Hotel. The service is attentive and friendly. The food is simple and always to our taste. Good value too. House Merlot is enjoyable and they always have some guest ales in to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackBullHotel_Duns, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'm very pleased that you like to return when you visit family close by, we always appreciate seeing familiar faces! Our guest ales prove to be very popular! Currently our permanent ale is Tempest Cascadian which is brewed in Kelso and we always have another 1 or 2 ales on offer. We look forward to... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was a cute little place, clean with all the amenities you need; even had bottled water and tea and coffee in the room! The bed was a bit uncomfortable - it was a king size bed, basically two singles pushed together, so there was a big dip in the middle. There were some big spiders too, but I'm really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackBullHotel_Duns, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I can only apologise for the spider in your room, unfortunately they can't be told where to stay away from. If you return & have the same problem, please let us know & we will be happy to remove it for you. I'm sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable, you are correct in saying... More 

Lincoln
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Had a lovely smiley meal on Friday night. The service is fantastic and the food is delicious. Lovely big portions and quality homemade food. There is plenty to chose from and brill selection for kids and veggies (both of which in our party) Would not hesitate to recommend this place. Will defo be returning. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackBullHotel_Duns, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! I'm so pleased to see that you enjoyed your meal. We try to make sure there's something for everyone and being a vegetarian myself I know how frustrating it can be to only have 1 choice from a menu so we do try to have a variety. As for the children, we believe... More 

Duns, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times for a meal, can't fault it, staff are lovely and welcoming and friendly, meal was cooked perfectly and staff couldn't do enough for you, will be back again soon and would recommend to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haddington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Our lunch was delicious, i can recommend the duck and lamb. Lovely friendly atmosphere, service excellent and staff were very welcoming nothing was too much trouble. . We will definitely be back. And the ladies toilets were nice! :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Black Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Hotel

Address: 15 Black Bull Street, Duns TD11 3AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Duns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Duns, Scotland

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay