We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bull Hotel

15 Black Bull Street, Duns TD11 3AR, Scotland
Black Bull Hotel
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had some business in the area for last few weeks and have eaten here several times now. And each time gets better. Clearly obvious there is a chef who knows how to make and present food. We had the most delicious fish meal which was really quite outstanding. Starters of haggis and black pudding bon-bons was such a treat. One... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called in on the "off chance" of some lunch, on Sunday afternoon, having been to view our daughter's wedding venue nearby. We received a warm welcome and (to my delight) found a good selection of local real ales. Enquiring about food, we were initially told that yes, we can serve you lunch, but it might have to be in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Having booked an evening meal just before Christmas, we found it very disappointing and indeed well below the standard we had expected. The traditional turkey was obviously a processed turkey roll cut into Very thin slices. The "stuffing" was like rubber and the chipolata sausages were equally rubbery and undercooked. The Christmas Pudding had obviously been reheated in the microwave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

Don't normally make a review on our local pub/restaurant but we stay local and have had many many meals here including Christmas Day two years running. The food is locally home produced food. The bar sells real ale. For a Christmas Day meal I have to say it's the best around and very reasonable As I say we eat here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We were staying near Duns and went in on Saturday lunchtime for some shopping and a bite to eat. We asked at "The horns" for a good place to eat and were directed by the landlady to the Black Bull. We had a meal and a glass of beer. The meal was excellent as was the service. Thank you Pammy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duns, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Two trips this month and the Black Bull is easily the best restaurant in Duns. All the food is well presented and everyone has particularly enjoyed the desert menu. With most main courses under £10, it is very good value too. And Scottish-size portions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlackBullHotel_Duns, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. I'm very pleased you enjoyed both of your visits, it's great for us to see people returning! Hope to see you again soon! More 

Waltham Cross, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Pleasant place to stay, with staff all very helpful..facilities a bit limited, but clean and well maintained old building. Parking limited at the side of the property, but plenty on road, nearby. Staff in this family run business can't do enough for you to make your stay enjoyable..The daughter in the restaurant (Mum has a crucia ligament problem and currently... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BlackBullHotel_Duns, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure having you here. I'm not 100% certain what you mean by facilities being limited but I think you would have stayed in the family suite, which is 2 bedrooms with a shared bathroom, unfortunately there's not a lot we can do to change this. Being... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Our golfing party has visited the Borders for the past 7 years staying at various hotels. The Black Bull is the best we have stayed at. Hayley daughter of the owner and chef did a fantastic welcoming job. The breakfasts were out of this world. David Fereday Ryton Tyne & Wear

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlackBullHotel_Duns, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us! It was a pleasure having you here, such a friendly group of guys. We hope to see you again next year when you return to the area! More 

Shipley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

We did not stay but this is your only appearance on Trip Advisor, as a hotel. We were staying in a self catering cottage nearby and decided to treat ourselves one day. We made the right choice. All the food was fabulous, well cooked and presented. I was especially impressed with the children's menu - more than the usual chicken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackBullHotel_Duns, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! I'm very pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us. We believe that children should get to enjoy good, homemade food just as much as the adults when they come in & I'm glad you were impressed with our selection. The beer garden is the perfect place to sit... More 

Edinburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

As a regular visitor to Duns to stay over locally with family near Chirnside, no visit is complete until we've had an evening meal at the Black Bull Hotel. The service is attentive and friendly. The food is simple and always to our taste. Good value too. House Merlot is enjoyable and they always have some guest ales in to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackBullHotel_Duns, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'm very pleased that you like to return when you visit family close by, we always appreciate seeing familiar faces! Our guest ales prove to be very popular! Currently our permanent ale is Tempest Cascadian which is brewed in Kelso and we always have another 1 or 2 ales on offer. We look forward to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question