We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Lochgoilhead B&Bs / inns

The Goil Inn

Main Street, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland (Formerly Lochgoilhead Hotel)
Hotel amenities
The Goil Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Goil Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 2 Lochgoilhead B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014
Fandabbydosey Glasgow
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
13
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Goil Inn
See the most recent reviews
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Fantastic as always at the Goil with all the team. Can't recommend this place enough even if just for a drink or a quick meal. Stayed here around 4 times in the rooms which are clean, modern and suits our needs. Good location for the village or up into Drimsynie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of The Goil Inn. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope that you return again soon! More 

Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Very clean bar area and toilets. Food-where do I start! All from frozen! Vegetable broth-just barley with no veg. Chilli prawn salad: no chilli, 5 prawns and little salad! Cullen skink- full of potatoes that were hard hardly any fish. Chicken goujons dried up as were beans. Will never eat here again very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review The Goil Inn, and sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food. We regularly get positive feedback from guests, but will investigate your comments. Thanks. More 

Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel, but its not an experience I'd want to repeat! The bar area is very modern and fresh, but the corridor to the bedrooms was a narrow, dark and depressing place. The bedroom, No.2, had fantastic views over the loch, but the room itself was very basic, the bulb had gone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, sorry to hear of your disappointment of your stay at The Goil Inn. We are in the process of upgrading the hotel to bring it into line with our other accommodation, but understand this isn't any excuse for the poor experience that you had. We will investigate this and do hope that you return. In the meantime, if... More 

Stirling
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Upon opening the entrance door there was a stale, charity shop-esk smell, which I said to my Husband wasn't something I could smell while I ate! As the place seemed the nearest in sight to go to eat for lunch with a child after a walk, I opened the next door, which was like entering a totally different place! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the review of your visit to The Goil Inn. We have just recently renovated the inside of our hotel, and have plans to update the front of the building soon as well. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meal, and some of the service you received. We will investigate this. Overall, we do hope... More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here as a small group - 2 nights in September. First positives - Superb location, and public areas on ground floor tastefully decorated. Negatives - guest rooms are basic- but to be honest were clean and comfortable - but refurb required - corridor to guest rooms particularly depressing. Breakfast was just OK ... and greatest let down was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the feedback on your stay at The Goil Inn, it's much appreciated and allows us to plan ahead to the future! Sorry to hear that you weren't impressed by the food on offer, we will investigate this and work on improvements. We hope that you will return to The Goil Inn, and if there is anything... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

we arrived at loch goil after a trek across the 'wilderness' from dunoon. we had gone to book a boat for the day and only called in for a drink but on seeing how clean and (I felt) stylish the place was we decided to eat there. we had 3 meals which were attractively and promptly served and the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the feedback on your stay at The Goil Inn, glad you enjoyed the break! We pride ourselves on being friendly and welcoming, so delighted that this was proven on your recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, and if there is anything which you would like to discuss further please do... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This is clearly a corporation sucking the life out of what could be a great place. The food is well below average. You can tell it's "locally sourced" from a supermarket. We had the ham and haddie, the ham being of the plastic, square variety sold in packs of 20 slices for a pound. When I asked why they served... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the feedback on your stay at The Goil Inn, it is appreciated and helps us make improvements in planning ahead for the future. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food on offer; we generally receive good feedback for our meals, so will look into this. We do hope that you return... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We called in after hiring a boat on the loch, there was 10 of us, 6 adults and 4 children. We had no problems getting a seat, it was quite empty but filled up during our visit. The bar area was very nice and we had a window seat with clear views of the loch. Staff were very friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the feedback on your stay at The Goil Inn, glad you enjoyed the break! We aim to offer a friendly, welcoming place to relax with food or drink and are pleased that this was portrayed in your most recent visit. We hope you return to The Goil Inn, and if there is anything which you would... More 

glagow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

'The Goil' has undergone a recent refurb inside and looks very nice and clean. I had eaten here prior to it's transformation and was reasonably impressed - so I had high hopes!! What a major disappointment. The menus is incredibly limited, and for vegetarians practically none existent. Portion v price- I feel is weighted very much towards the price. Value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the feedback on your meal at The Goil Inn. Sorry to hear that you felt disappointed with the food. The menu has only changed slightly since the refurbishment, however we are constantly looking to improve so will investigate your comments. We do hope to see you again, and if there is anything which you would like... More 

Scotland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a bite to eat and was happy we did. The hotel is situated next to the shore with stunning views up loch Goil. It was busy probably due to the lovely weather but had no problems getting a seat ! The hotel looks very modern and clean which is always a good start when your going for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the review of your stay at The Goil Inn. The hotel has just recently been renovated, and we do pride ourselves in being a friendly hotel that will always offer a warm welcome to anyone arriving. Delighted that you enjoyed your meal here and we do hope that you return again in the near future. If... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Goil Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goil Inn

Address: Main Street, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland (Formerly Lochgoilhead Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Goil Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goil Inn Lochgoilhead, Scotland

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay