We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Arrochar hotels

Claymore Hotel

Arrochar | G83 7BB, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (732)
  • Photos (370)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (268)
  • Location
  • More
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Arrochar
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

732 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    296
    148
    61
    48
See reviews for
91
369
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just home from a 4 day stay at the Claymore. We travelled with National Coaches. We both agree that it was one of the best National Holidays that we had, and we have travelled with them all over the country for many years. The Claymore is a beautiful building steeped in history a bit dated but what the heck for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked a trip to this hotel with National Holidays and had a really brilliant time. The coach driver Alex was from the area and knew all there was to know about the history and scenery. We did 3 different trips visiting Loch Lomond Callander Inverary Fort William and Oban and they were all excellent. I suppose the fact that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel set in lovely grounds,over looking loch long.booking in at reception was quick & easy.hotel could do with a lick of paint in most places,room was 314 which over looked the loch on ground floor. Clean & tidy,only down fall was no shower.but if you go to reception they will give you one that fits on the bath taps.high water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scarborough, North Yokshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just returned home from here with National Holidays coach tour. We were given our room key and were immediately disappointed with the room (203). It was the smallest twin room I have ever seen. The bedding was covered in greasy stains, the carpet was filthy and the bathroom was covered in mould. We must have had the smallest window in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser. I'm disappointed to read that you were unhappy with your room. I'm also very concerned about the reasons why. There is no way we would allow greasy stained bedding to be put on to beds, carpets to be filthy and bathrooms to be mouldy. This simply does not happen. Please don't report... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is my 2nd visit to this hotel and I thoroughly enjoyed it apart from the weather this year was glorious when we arrived on the Friday afternoon but rained on the Saturday and Sunday but still enjoyed trips out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Its always great when guests come back . We must be doing something right.! Many thanks for your review. Kind regards, Gary Watson. More

Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location next to the beautiful loch. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Food was super. Needs showers in the rooms though but a hand to tap hose was provided when we asked. Nice walks and a few shops to look at close by. The walk in front of the hotel is fun for kids who like looking for crabs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Super title!! I need say no more! Regards, Gary Watson. More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just returned from a three day break with national holidays.Goodness me what an exquisitely picturesque location. Delicious food with good vegetarian choice served expertly and quickly by the friendly staff.If you like a good laugh the entertainment is similar to hi de hi in the 1950s!The only let down was the room.Thin walls,foisty smell and desperately in need of refurbishment.However... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of your stay at the Claymore Hotel. I will pass on your comments to canny little Barbara! Come back again soon. Regards, Gary Watson. More

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Where do I start, this has got to be the worst hotel which I have ever stayed in . As soon as we entered our room , the foisty smell hit you straight away , even though the window was open , when we closed the window the smell was overpowering . The mirror door on the wardrobe felt like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

You were obviously very unhappy with the hotel yet there was no request to speak to any of the management. We go to tremendous efforts to make sure everyone is happy and it's disappointing to find out from comments put on the world wide web. I would ask that all guests raise any issue with management while staying at the... More

Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've just returned from a National short break to Scotland, we stayed at the Claymore Hotel which is situated not 30 yards from Loch Long, it is very picturesque. We were in a twin room which was more than adequate for our needs, the room itself was spotless and was cleaned every day. I find the food on these coach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

What a really nice review. Thank you. Your comments are much appreciated. Kind regards, Gary Watson. More

Longueuil, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here last week on a 5 day National Holiday excursion. As others indicate, the rooms are a little tired and could use some sprucing up. Our bathrooms did not have a shower, but the water pressure was great and we had plenty of hot water. So overall, I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Great location, front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser. I'm so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and the staff you mentioned will be delighted that you have remembered all their names!! Kind regards, Gary Watson. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Claymore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Address: Arrochar | G83 7BB, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

370 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (371)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (96)
Viewed
View from room (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (196)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
96

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Claymore Hotel to your Saves list