We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Ascog hotels

Chandlers Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chandlers Hotel to your Saves list
Ascog Bay, Ascog PA20 9ET, Scotland
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (205)
  • Photos (42)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (62)
  • Location
  • More
Chandlers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ascog
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ascog
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    49
    14
    14
    24
See reviews for
17
129
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

Booked a groupon deal for the easter weekend and had to pay for an upgrade to a superior room as there were no standard doubles left, which we were happy to do. We took our 12 week old daughter for our first weekend away as a family. The room we were put in was a small double room, certainly not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Largs, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a most enjoyable stay at this hotel in August. Paid for the sea view which proved to be a good decision. The food was superb and the staff very helpful. No hesitation in recommending a break here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reggio Calabria, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What better place to begin your road trip round Scotland. A romantic room, superb food and the most personal of service. We decided to start our discovery of Scotland here on Bute and chose Chandlers. We were not disappointed and if anything raised our expectations for the rest of our journey. We were greeted like long lost- friends and couldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here with a deal offer to celebrate our anniversary. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owners were very hospitable and looked after us well. They have a wonderful decking area outside, and on our first morning after breakfast we sat there. It was very hot and had amazing views. Dave the chef produced amazing breakfasts and a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights at this establishment and we have to say that it was not an enjoyable experience. The room was to the rear of the hotel which looked out onto a large ivy covered banking. This blocked out a great deal of daylight and combined with the decor made the room gloomy and unwelcoming. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I, like the last reviewer was planning a trip up here. looking at trip advisor i found this hotel. On reading the reviews i found it refreshing how the owner found time to defend her castle. In fact my partner and friends all regularly check the site to see whos visited and the feedback its a great talking point ...... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Kilmarnock
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was looking at a voucher offer for this hotel so decided to look on trip advisor for some feedback..I must say the response to peoples negative remarks by Allison Gibb are second to none..Well done Allison..I totally admire your honesty about some of the not so desirable customers you have had to stay..What do people expect for the price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was considering staying here having seen an online offer, but after looking at the shocking response and unprofessional attitude from the manager in her responses I will definitely not be considering this. ! To begin a reply to a paying customer's constructive criticism with " I see that your bad mood has continued.."and to include comments such as "... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
allisongibb, Manager at Chandlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on a hotel that you haven't even visited. I'm amazed that you someone from within the industry would stoop to this level, however I will respond to your comments to put your mind at rest that I have read them... The offers that we are running are space fillers, as... More

Largs, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a two night voucher stay at this hotel. The only good things about the place are the breakfasts and the person serving it. The rest of the staff need a lesson in people skills. The room we had was worse than small with a view of a steep banking 3ft from the window that blocked out all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
allisongibb, Manager at Chandlers Hotel, responded to this review

Very disappointed that your bad mood has continued. We don't have any rooms with a steep bank 3 ft from the window as the property is detached and vehicles drive around three sides of the building - the other side only has The Clyde in front! As for your lumpy had bed - hmmmmmm - our beds are replaced regularly... More

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently spent my first year anniversary here. Splendid weather to be had and the food served at dinner was simply superb. I had roast lamb shank where the meat simply fell off the bone. Served with grilled vegetables it was sublime. My wife had a rather interesting honey chicken dish that was rather tasty. The rooms are laid out in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Chandlers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Chandlers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandlers Hotel

Address: Ascog Bay, Ascog PA20 9ET, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Ascog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Chandlers Hotel Ascog, Isle Of Bute

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chandlers Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer