We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chandlers Hotel

#1 of 1 Hotels in Ascog
Certificate of Excellence
Ascog Bay, Ascog PA20 9ET, Scotland
Chandlers Hotel
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    56
    20
    18
    28
See reviews for
20
150
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (235)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading some of the previous reviews by the obvious grumpy guests below we were not too sure what to expect. On first view driving up the hilly driveway the hotel looks a little tired, but then so does the area overall. On entering the hotel though the greeting you get soon puts this to the back of your mind.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and my partner stayed here over the Easter wkend with the groupon deal although when booking only twin rooms were left so had to pay an additional £80 to upgrade although the room was spacious and the view over the sea was beautiful so didnt begrudge this too much! Although binoculars in the room were broke lol We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a brilliant time was there on a family break with my partner and two children every thing was taken care of food was excellent catered very well for the children rooms were very clean and tidy very friendly would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thanks to Allison and Andrew for a lovely stay. The hotel was ideal for either a relaxing break or walking around exploring Bute. We enjoyed the food which was in plentiful supply and suited us foodies down to the ground. Thanks again for the warm welcome and great service. We will be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sold as luxurious accommodation which this hotel is certainly not. Rack rate is £55 pppn. What we paid via groupon deal, £69 per couple for 2 nights including continental breakfast s all the hotel is worth. Like the island, this hotel is in serious need of a makeover.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The two day break at this hotel started ok although we didn't think the £40 upgrade to a small room with paper coming from the wall and a mirror lying on the floor was worth it so we asked if we could be moved to a better room. Claire was helpful and moved us to a far better room which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I spent two nights at Chandlers at the end of the winter season. You might expect that having paid less through a Groupon deal at this time of year we might have been slightly disappointed. Nothing could be further from the truth. Quite frankly, any shortcomings were heavily outweighed by the warm welcome and cosy surroundings. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FALKIRK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The bedroom (Fraser) was really small and decor was in serious need of an upgrade. The room would have been OK for one night but not suitable for a three night stay. The bathroom was spacious but not overly clean. The food was quite good but alcohol was seriously expensive.The bedroom had one uncomfortable wooden chair and the window overlooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
allisongibb, Manager at Chandlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, all comments are digested & where appropriate used to improve on our service. The room that you were in was on the list to be decorated this week. It has been done now and looks great. Obviously it is unfortunate that you were the last people to use the room... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were here on a two day groupon deal that we cut short because of possible ferry problems. The receptionist was kind and helpful if somewhat loquacious. Public areas of the hotel are very clean and well appointed. Sadly our room,"Hamilton", was rather small although with a nice view through a small dormer window. Disappointingly it was not well looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
allisongibb, Manager at Chandlers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry that the decoration of the room upset you but as we explained, that room was due to be decorated this coming week - it has now been done along with the carpet and looks great. You were only given that room as it was the only... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We also arrived for a 2 night break with groupon, when I phoned to book we were told we would have to upgrade as none of the groupon rooms were available on the dates I requested. when we did arrive we met Clair , the receptionist ? ... We asked her a few questions about the island as we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
allisongibb, Manager at Chandlers Hotel, responded to this review

I'm replying to your review to clarify a few points and then I'd like this matter to be closed as you are one of the rudest people i have ever come across. You requested dates and a double room using your groupon voucher, your only option was to upgrade if you wanted a double room. Your comments that there were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question