We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Rothesay hotels

Bay Glenburn Hotel

Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£10 A NIGHT DEALS!
Save Saved
You added Bay Glenburn Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Glenburn Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
76%
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Rothesay
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Jimva_8 scotland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (471)
  • Photos (140)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (183)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    193
    76
    25
    26
See reviews for
67
245
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

went a coach trip to Rothesay on the Isle of Bute , staying at the Glenburn Hotel . Hotel was a grand building of lovely architecture . The staff were friendly and welcoming . Rooms were clean and basic but nice and homely too. get a sea view stunning . There was a small lift but effective as we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

What a fantastic review and a big thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our site. The staff really do appreciate getting mentioned I will make them aware of your comments. Glad to see you enjoyed what the hotel and the island had to offer and we will look forward to seeing you again. Thank you More

Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

just had a 5 day 4 night holiday 7th july- 11th july booked late sunday afternoon, 6th july had a fantastic time from being collected on time by the feeder bus, too being picked up by the main bus, driver paul was brill & then to arrive at the glenburn a truly fantastic view from the bed room well worth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for your comments on our site and yes indeed Gary our host is mad but great. We would be more than happy for you to recommend us and in fact we would be very grateful if you would. Hope you come back at visit us again and many thanks for your posting. More

Bellshill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As seniors, we have just returned from a Fri. to Mon. 3 nights (11th-13th July), bed, breakfast and evening meal at the Glenburn hotel-Rothesay. Arriving, the hotel is spectacularly situated overlooking the very well kept floral promenade. The service we got was A1. Please convey our thanks+gratitude to general manager Robert Cameron and the reception staff. To restaurant manager Dave,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Big thank you for a fantastic posting and great to see that enjoyed your break with us. You were in the perfect room for seeing the deer who graze on the back lawn daily and occasionally make their way to the front of my cottage and eat my flowers. I will make sure that the staff that you have mentioned... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just got back after spending the weekend at the Glenburn which we have visited many times in the past but this was our 1st visit in 3yrs and we where not disappointed.....There was 8 of us and each and every one of us had a great stay and as always the staff could not do enough for us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Well we hope you don't wait 3yrs until you visit us again and many thanks for a great review. We do believe that we provide good value for money holidays and it is always good to see when guests mention this. Hope to see you again soon. More

Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have just returned from a Shearings 5 day break, what a beautiful setting overlooking the river Clyde. The hotel is a beautiful old manor house in its own grounds, with wild deer grazing on the rear lawns. We had a side room but still had a view of the bay and the ferry. Gary the entertainments person was excellent and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review very much appreciated. I will make sure Klaudia, Dennis and Gary are made aware of your kind remarks and thank you once again for taking the time to write your review. More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited with the extended family to celebrate my dad's 70th birthday. The Glenburn is a striking building with a breathtaking view over the Firth of Clyde. Inside, the decor in the communal areas requires substantial rejuvenation in order to bring it up to the standards you might expect of a 3-star hotel. However, some of the rooms have been upgraded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on our site. As you say the views over the bay are breathtaking and as you will see from other postings this gets mentioned a lot. Sorry to see that you found some of your stay not up to what you expected but can I mention that we are not... More

Chatham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival we were pleased with our room on the third floor, had side sea view, but as bay curved, it was a full on view of sea and mountains. Room spacious and comfy, sash cord broken so we had to prop window up to get some air and the shower uncontrollable, going from hot to cold as it liked.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review by all acounts you enjoyed your stay with us. I will look in to the issue with the shower and I am really sorry for any problems that this may have caused. I will let Gabriella know you have mentioned her. Hope to see you again sometime soon. More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

fantastic views, entertainment boring, food ok, waiters lovely!, bedroom dirty with thick dust around edges of carpets, cracked washbasin no shower screen or hook for shower-head had to hold in hand, lumpy bed. room 406.Lovely Island

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on our site. Sorry to hear that you found parts of your holiday not enjoyable. This room has a hand held attachment it is not classed as a shower this is why you did not have shower screen and so on. I will speak to the housekeeper about the other... More

Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this hotel during June 2014 and had mixed feelings about our stay. The hotel exterior is stunning and in a scenic location overlooking the bay but inside looks a little dated and tired. The food was excellent value for money and there was plenty to do inside the hotel (cocktail bar, ballroom etc) but you step outside the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your posting. As you have said you have mixed feelings about your stay with us but did enjoy the location of the hotel and the good value for money holiday that we provide. My apologisies that you found the bed uncomfortable we could have changed it for you had we known. I will pass your kind comments... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed her 28th and 29th June. We had a superior room on first floor and it was superb. Views to die for. The entertainment on Saturday night very good although we did not participate on the Sunday night. The function hall in on first floor and very modern with a splendid view of back gardens. There's a nice bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind thoughts on our site. On the whole you have enjoyed what the hotel and the island has to offer and as you say great weather always helps. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the service you received in the restaurant and I will look in to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bay Glenburn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Glenburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Glenburn Hotel

Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bay Glenburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
Bay Glenburn Hotel Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

140 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (131)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you’ll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it’s up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn… socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town’s shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
200

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer