We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Rothesay hotels

Bay Glenburn Hotel

Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKS FROM JUST £72!!!
Save Saved
You added Bay Glenburn Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Glenburn Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
75%
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Orangemonkey2011 Birmingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    203
    84
    29
    26
See reviews for
73
258
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My room was in need of refurbishment. The bathroom had a small bath with a shower that has a narrow flow, the water is very hot but does vary in temperature while having a shower. It was obvious that people had been smoking in the room due to the number of cigarette butts outside the window. The dinning room gets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was built in the 1890s and is half way up a hill. Its a hotel that mainly seems to cater coach trips that stay for three or four days - but they also have rooms available on self drive. Most people seem to be over 50 and the evening entertainment is skewed to this. The hotel has seen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just back from the Glenburn and had a superb weekend. We have stayed here many times and this old hotel just gets better. We had sea view rooms which were warm,clean and comfortable. The food is fine and the staff in the dining room are efficient and courteous. There was cabaret on both nights (Elvis and Johnny Cash tributes) who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely posting and very much appreciated. Great to see you back again at the Glenburn. I will pass on your kind comments about entertainment and staff to all concerned thank you. We look forward to you returning to visit us again in the not to distant future. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had stayed at this hotel the 2 years previously for the new year 3 day break and it had been good but on this stay the following was sub-standard . We were put in the basement extension which was damp there were no lifts despite one of our party being 85yrs of age. The hotel staff were helpful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. You were are actually allocated rooms on the ground floor we do not have basement rooms which would be below ground level. What I would suggest if you decide to book again ask for a room that is serviced by the lift. Very sorry that you found the bar staff... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from hotel room was great food was excellent All the dining syaff were great Loved everything bout hotel Just a short walk to pubs the golfers bar and grapes bar is great Will be defo going back in near future Keep up the good work

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Big thank you for posting great comments on our site and yes please do come back and see us again just don't leave it to long. And I will tell the rest of the Glenburn team to keep up the good work and many thanks again for your review. More

NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

fantastic holiday,, Bute is stunning, the hotel is very nice and well equipped, the food is outstanding as is the young staff team who see to your every need with a three course meal served to you within 45 minutes, Paul in particular out wiater is a very nice young man.The room was large with both a bath and an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting such a terrific review and great to see that you really enjoyed your holiday with us. It is a beautiful Island and thank you for mentioning that, I will let the rest of the team know that you have mentioned them in particular Paul. Hope you come back to visit us again thank you. More

merseyside
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the hotel is simply wonderful,,,,food....my room....the island of Bute...all very nice..staff so nice ...the entertainment was spot on...the MC Gary..was brilliant and his side kick sang songs from the west end musicals,,,sorry cant recall his name..but had a wonderfull voice....lounge area lite airy and comfortable..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

What a great review to reply to thank you. Well by all accounts you have enjoyed your holiday with us and we really do appreciate when you take the time to write your review. James is the singer that you refer too and yes what a voice. Many thanks for your comments about Gary and the staff hope you come... More

Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Six of my friends and I arrived at the Glenburn Hotel for two nights with my cousin from Australia. We were really surprised that none of our rooms had a shower or shower hose. We had to ask at reception for jugs so that we could wash our hair. The food and service in the dining room was good. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your posting and your kind comments about the food and service in the restaurant. We only have a handful of rooms that don't have showers so what I would recommend if you book with us again request a room with a shower that way you won't be disappointed. Thank you once again for taking the time to... More

Kippax,
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

when I booked this holiday a few days before we went on the 11 august 2014 to the glenburn hotel Rothsay ,I was asked where I would like to be picked up I said wakefield they said ok 8-25am bus station.my wife and I were picked up at 8-20 and taken to normaton which is a stones throw from where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I can't comment on your pick up at the start of your holiday but sorry to see that you did find some aspects of your holiday dissappointing. We have shampoo and bath and shower gel available at reception which we could have supplied you with if you had requested some. We are and have been... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our recent coach holiday with National Holidays. Shearings offer the same trip and charge far more for the equivalent holiday so save money and go with National Holidays. We paid a little extra for a sea view room and found it well worth it as the view was amazing, the wild red deer were seen one evening right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. The deer that you seen spend most of their time living in the grounds of the hotel and have done for years. Thank you again for your review and hopefully you will return in the future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bay Glenburn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Glenburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Glenburn Hotel

Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Glenburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
Bay Glenburn Hotel Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

180 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (171)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)