We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Glenburn Hotel

Hotel website
Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Glenburn Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bay Glenburn Hotel
Share an Experience

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    233
    102
    37
    29
See reviews for
89
297
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (576)
  • Mar-May only
    (152)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (139)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (176)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (109)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

From the outside, this hotel looks amazing and sets a tone that speaks of grandeur. Unfortunately, once inside, things get a bit disappointing. Our problems started when we walked into our room. I instantly felt like we'd been put into what must once have been a stationary cupboard. The room was tiny and poorly heated and no matter what, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having spent 3 nights at this hotel I have to agree with many others, from the outside this hotel looks splendid but unfortunately the inside doesn't match. We only went once to the evening entertainment but the singer wasn't very good but then again some of the older people were singing along. The meals were just fine as were the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Brilliant 4 day break. The hotel was comfortable but in need of a make over. The staff were brilliant, James provided some great entertainment. The bedroom was spacious and the bed was comfortable the seats in the room were odd a tubular metal chair and stool??? The food was Ok but someone should tell the chef what veg they have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great comments about the staff we really do appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts on our site. James is on tonight so I will make sure I pass your comments on to him. Hope to see you back at the Glenburn More 

Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is the second time we've been so it can't be bad,it's true the hotel does need some attention,creaky floorboard's,slightly worn carpet's,the place is over a hundred year's old,think of it as an adventure.The hotel is in a fantastic position with view's that are second to none.The people who work there look after you great,though we did have a problem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great posting so much appreciated as you say views from the hotel are second to none. My apologises your waitress seemed to disappear but will look in to this and also the issues that you had with the shower. Big thank you for lovely comments about the staff and the entertainment I will be sure to... More 

Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

There's no getting away from the fact that the hotel is very dated and needs modernised. The carpets are threadbare in a lot of places and the decor is ancient. Like all the other Shearings hotels we've been in the food was really nice but the service was woefully slow every one of the four breakfasts and dinners we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for you taking the time to post your thoughts on our site. Sorry you missed out on Gary our host but hopefully he will get back to a full recovery and get back to work soon As you say Brian has a superb voice and he is a really nice guy I will pass on your kind remarks... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Have recently stayed here with a Shearings coach trip. We were amazed how cheap the trip was, so probably should have expected a poor experience. The hotel, as stated by many others was in dire need of decoration and maintenance. As also said by others the staff were all pleasant and obliging, they must get so embarrassed by the complaints.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review but sorry to see that you did not enjoy what the hotel had to offer. I will certainaly look in to all the issues that you had with the bedroom my apologisies once again that you found your break not to your liking. Many thanks for your comments about the staff. More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Hotel has very good staff Bayview hotels require to spend a lot of money to Refurbish this hotel from the 1970s time period is what most of the rooms resemble the best of the rooms are the superior rooms , windows are filthy paint work required every where.Investment by the company better lighting the hotel has the most stunning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on our site. We actually do have refurbishment going on in both inside and outside of the hotel which is ongoing but it is a huge building and this takes time. Thank you for great comments about the staff they are a great team and also the entertainment I will... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked into glenburn hotel on bute , yes room rate was reasonable, but Iam afraid it was dated and no help to find our room. Took us a while to get there. When we went for breakfast it was made before we where asked what we wanted to eat , very poor , maybe good for the bus tours that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry to see that you found your break not to your liking. But we do appreciate you taking the time to psot your review on our site. More 

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is dark needs a few more lights in certain areas. Our room 212 was dark but did have a sea view, bedside light needs attention wires loose. Unable to open window very stuffy. Shower was either scalding or cold no in between, bin in bathroom broken, towel rail never worked looked burnt out to be honest. Waiting staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your posting and your lovely comments about Krysztof who is still waiting for his eye operation. I have looked in to the issue you had with the towel rail and it is working the green light actually has to be turned off for the rail to come on. My apologisies you had problems with the shower but... More 

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading some unkind reviews We were not expecting very much of the Hotel but what a lovely surprise from the efficient booking in, the spacious, spotless twin room with excellent bathroom. Room 102 which has a wonderful sea view and very comfy beds with pristine white bedding suited us perfectly. From the large airy dinning room with helpful friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at Bay Glenburn Hotel, responded to this review

Great posting great comments so thank you for that. We do believe that we provide good value for money breaks so thank you for mentioning that. By all accounts you really enjoyed what the hotel had to offer and I will pass on to all concerned your kind comments. Many thanks again hope you will return to see us again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

200 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (190)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question