We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Esplanade Hotel

4 High Street, Rothesay PA20 9AR, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothesay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Esplanade Hotel
View Map
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went over for the day and asked a local for a recommendation for lunch the esplanade was suggested. Well the lunch was excellent, Home made curried sweet potato soup then we had another starter scallops black pudding and bacon with salad absolutely scrumptious. Followed by spotted dick which did not disappoint. Two glasses of wine all for £33.30. Excellent value... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janice G
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

This is a typical old, tired but clean establishment, the pub/restaurant is very busy and food looks good, I can say breakfast was fine! There is no double glazing and unfortunately doesn't help with the drunken revellers passing by the main square through the night which did get very noisy. The bed had a plastic protective cover that crinkles every... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara_C187
figaro15, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Barbara for your review. You are correct, the restaurant is always busy and it is where the locals eat. Yes, we are a bit old fashioned but very clean and the rooms are also reasonably comfy. What happened with the bed we do not know. These are expensive beds and we use mattress protectors (not plastic) for good hygiene... More 

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

Lovely welcome and good service. We had the haddock which was excellent but the chips were not as good. We were told that it was the type of potato. Overall lunch was very good and I would recommend this resturant.

Helpful?
1 Thank undian
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015 via mobile

My husband and friends and I have just spent 2 nights in this iconic hotel, from the moment we arrived until the we left we were treated to a wonderful experience in Rothesay hospitality, the room although not ensuite were simply decorated and catered for every need, we had a room overlooking the square which was lovely, we ate in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan160752
Dunoon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Stopped at this lovely hotel for dinner last Sat 25th Oct with my husband and 3 children. Food was delicious and would definately go back. The staff were very friendly and it was a lovely atmosphere. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
Hednesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Visited Isle of Bute for day trip in Rothesay and decided to have a coffee - we are fussy coffee drinkers and their coffee was made from freshly ground coffee beans. Managed to get a table on their 1st floor restaurant in the long window overlooking the bay, stunning view of sunny blue sky and departing/arriving ferries. Decided to stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anita H
Jersey Channel Islands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Ate here twice on a recent visit - the second time only because a family friend wanted to go. On both occasions my husband and I were acutely aware of the very overseasoned food. We tried the steak pie and the chicken special the first visit and the chorizo cassoulet and lasagne the second time and all were very salty.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank aliandderek
figaro15, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Not very good for our ratings but we suppose we need to take the good with the bad. Very over seasoned food? Its off to the kitchen to see what's going on and for a wee taste. The result? Well I like the food and being the busiest restaurant in Rothesay, I think I am... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rothesay hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Not the most appealing building from the outside, and the interior could probably do with a facelift too, but as a lunch venue it is ideal. Situated in the town centre, a short walk to the ferry and with views across the bay, it is handy for locals and travellers alike. The menu selection was pretty standard fare, soup, toasted... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Finlay122
Cumbria
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Last week was my first visit to the Isle of Bute, and I was staying from Monday to Friday at the Glenburn - a fifteen minute walk into Rothesay. Went into the Esplanade Hotel on Tuesday looking for Pinot Grigio, as they were charging an eye watering £19.50 per bottle at the Shearings hotel! The co-owner, Angela I think, was... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeoneCumbria
Rothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Called in for a coffee cream scones, they came hot, with your own little pot of jam and fresh cream so much nicer than the spray in a can stuff, liked it so much we called in the next day for more. We also were back with family, again a lovely enjoyable evening, and before we left the manageress asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank 667Kath667
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
7.0 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay Glenburn Hotel
Bay Glenburn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ardyne
Ardyne
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bayview Hotel
The Bayview Hotel
#10 of 19 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities