We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Rothesay B&Bs / inns

The Esplanade Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Esplanade Hotel to your Saves list
4 High Street, Rothesay PA20 9AR, Scotland
Hotel amenities
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Rothesay B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothesay
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    4
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here twice on a recent visit - the second time only because a family friend wanted to go. On both occasions my husband and I were acutely aware of the very overseasoned food. We tried the steak pie and the chicken special the first visit and the chorizo cassoulet and lasagne the second time and all were very salty.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
20 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Not the most appealing building from the outside, and the interior could probably do with a facelift too, but as a lunch venue it is ideal. Situated in the town centre, a short walk to the ferry and with views across the bay, it is handy for locals and travellers alike. The menu selection was pretty standard fare, soup, toasted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cumbria
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Last week was my first visit to the Isle of Bute, and I was staying from Monday to Friday at the Glenburn - a fifteen minute walk into Rothesay. Went into the Esplanade Hotel on Tuesday looking for Pinot Grigio, as they were charging an eye watering £19.50 per bottle at the Shearings hotel! The co-owner, Angela I think, was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rothes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Called in for a coffee cream scones, they came hot, with your own little pot of jam and fresh cream so much nicer than the spray in a can stuff, liked it so much we called in the next day for more. We also were back with family, again a lovely enjoyable evening, and before we left the manageress asked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had friends up from England last weekend at took them to the Esplanade for a meal because we go there all the time. The food was, as usual excellent, the staff as always were professional and courteous, the visit made a great impression on my friend and his wife. Thank you everybody at the Esplanade for making my friend and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a cracking weekend visit to this quirky little hotel! You get what you pay for nowadays and I was more than happy with my experience as a stay in a no frills older hotel is what I was looking for and I have no complaints at all as the room was very clean, the bar was well stocked and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Visited this hotel on a recent day trip to Rothesay as friends who had previously stayed here recommended we try out the food, we were not disappointed, the food was fantastic. The staff were very professional and made us feel very welcome. Next time we are visiting Rothesay we will returning to this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Falkirk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We visited Rothesay on a day trip recently during the spell of good weather. As we were catching the last ferry home we thought we should get something to eat first. We spotted the Esplanade and as it says the "locals eat here". Quite a nice view over the pier and bay and it was not to busy. One of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
figaro15, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I do hope you enjoyed your meal. Comments we take seriously and if there is something that we have got wrong, we will always give consideration to change. On the menu, Macaroni & Cheese comes under our pasta section which states clearly that chips, salad etc.- see under side orders. £5.95 for Macaroni &... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Visited the hotel the other day for cream scones and coffee. They had a lot of customers from tour buses and the staff seemed as if they couldn't care less about how they treated everyone because most people wouldn't be back anyway. We had squirty cream (and not whipped cream) with a hot scone, so as soon as the cream... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
figaro15, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to read about your experience. Our scones are hand made by our in house baker and we usually receive excellent feedback. The cream comes in a seperate dish and although we have never had any complaints, we agree with you that 'squirty' cream is not the answer - we are now changing to whipped. Did you notice the small... More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I live on bute and have been trying to find a place to eat breakfast before 10am. Island life is somewhat slow to get up and get going here, I took my family who were up visiting for a week to the Esplanade. We were seated near the window overlooking the ferry terminal, a nice view being ruined by some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
esp4, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Very disappointed to read your review but none the less always interested in getting feedback. If you live on the island you will be aware that the Esplanade is a very popular, busy bar/restaurant. Our customer is very important and our staff (most of whom have been with us for some time) are generally known for good attentive and courteous... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Esplanade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: 4 High Street, Rothesay PA20 9AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Esplanade Hotel Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Rothesay with
any amenities