We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Commodore Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
12 Battery Place, Rothesay, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Commodore Guest House
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Commodore Guest House
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    107
    17
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
41
44
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (136)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here with a group of biker friends and after a week of touring Scotland, this was the most clean, tidy friendly hotel we stayed, breakfast was great with cracking food. The staff and owners where so friendly, and helped me after l was unwell. I would go back here to stay anytime, well recommended to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

3 nights B&B with Harry and Hazel, our friendly hosts. Our room (quite bijou - with added en-suite) had a sea-front view where we could watch the Calmac car ferries come and go along with all the pleasure craft from tallish ships to Cornish Shrimpers. 5% off food vouchers for meals in Harry Haw's restaurant every time - arguably the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Very expensive, small cold rooms, confusion over price differing with what agreed on arival and charged at the final bill. Dismal shower. 2 nights stay, second night moved to even smaller room in the annex because no space left apparently at the Commodore,which was not correct, with VERY low water preasure in toilet and shower unable to flush loo. Anex... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

I have stayed at the Commodore guest house twice before in the past five years, so I was somewhat surprised to find such negative comments about it from somebody who had "stayed at the Commodore". However having realised that Hazel and Harry were still running it, I booked my stay with my daughter. Our stay was wonderful. The rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your genuine review, it was absolutely fabulous to have you and your daughter back to stay with us, and thank you for your kind comments about Breakfast, we do try and please all of our Guests that stay with us here and it is very much appreciated when this is acknowledged, once again Thank you and we... More 

Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Weekend trip to the island with extended family. Some of us stayed in the Commodore guest house. Very well catered for by Harry and Hazel. Really comfortable beds and breakfast was fab. Would have no hesitation in recommending to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your genuine review and Thank you for your kind words it was great to see you and your lovely family last weekend, we hope to see you again in the future. Hazel More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Cold room, dangerous kettle and prices appear to be fabricated according to season and whether you are likely to return. Generally too much interest in what I was doing for my taste. Not a fan. Sorry again but I did stay and it was not great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

The owners are extremely welcoming, friendly, warm, kind, professional, knowledgable about the Isle of Bute as well as Scotland's people, land, and history. We had a beautiful room with just as beautiful a view. The breakfast is great! Fresh fruits, muesli, cereal assortment, toast and butter, jam, fresh eggs, sausage, ham (well, full hot Scottish breakfast), vegetarian sausage as well,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your super genuine review of my home, it was fantastic having you stay with us and such praise from the Assistant Director of Property Operations and the Electrician at the Waldorf Orlando voted the Luxury Hotel of the year and the Hilton Orlando, voted The Best Hotels in Florida by Choice Awards, we have put your review... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

I stayed in this great guest house. The rooms were very comfortable. The owners were very friendly and welcomed our dogs.( even cooked sausages for the). They could not have been more helpfully. I will return next year. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, aw your wee dogs were just lovely and I am glad they enjoyed the sausages, all of your family were just lovely and we will see you all again next year for the anniversary. Thank you once again. Hazel, Harry & MJ. More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Had to make an unplanned stay in Rothesay due to my husband being taken into hospital. The owners of the Bed and Breakfast were most kind and considerate in the circumstances and made my enforced stay a pleasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we hope your Husband is now back to full health now. Thank you for phoning to let us know you were home safe and well. Thank you once again for your kind review. Hazel & Harry More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Abusive, aggressive owners. Cheap breakfast. Dangerous electrical equipment. Insufficient heating. Thuggish 'take it or leave it' attitude - with an underlying vague threat of violence. Avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

We don't know who you are, we have never seen you in our puff, it is obvious you have never stayed here, ALL of our electrics are fully up to date and we have the certificates to prove that for anyone who wishes to see them, our breakfasts "shoddy", well that definitely tells me you have never stayed here, we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
Bay Glenburn Hotel
Bay Glenburn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
7.0 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
18.8 mi away
Auchrannie Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ardyne
Ardyne
#3 of 20 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay