We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Commodore Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
12 Battery Place, Rothesay, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Commodore Guest House
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Commodore Guest House
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    17
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
39
43
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cold room, dangerous kettle and prices appear to be fabricated according to season and whether you are likely to return. Generally too much interest in what I was doing for my taste. Not a fan. Sorry again but I did stay and it was not great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The owners are extremely welcoming, friendly, warm, kind, professional, knowledgable about the Isle of Bute as well as Scotland's people, land, and history. We had a beautiful room with just as beautiful a view. The breakfast is great! Fresh fruits, muesli, cereal assortment, toast and butter, jam, fresh eggs, sausage, ham (well, full hot Scottish breakfast), vegetarian sausage as well,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your super genuine review of my home, it was fantastic having you stay with us and such praise from the Assistant Director of Property Operations and the Electrician at the Waldorf Orlando voted the Luxury Hotel of the year and the Hilton Orlando, voted The Best Hotels in Florida by Choice Awards, we have put your review... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this great guest house. The rooms were very comfortable. The owners were very friendly and welcomed our dogs.( even cooked sausages for the). They could not have been more helpfully. I will return next year. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, aw your wee dogs were just lovely and I am glad they enjoyed the sausages, all of your family were just lovely and we will see you all again next year for the anniversary. Thank you once again. Hazel, Harry & MJ. More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Had to make an unplanned stay in Rothesay due to my husband being taken into hospital. The owners of the Bed and Breakfast were most kind and considerate in the circumstances and made my enforced stay a pleasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we hope your Husband is now back to full health now. Thank you for phoning to let us know you were home safe and well. Thank you once again for your kind review. Hazel & Harry More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Abusive, aggressive owners. Cheap breakfast. Dangerous electrical equipment. Insufficient heating. Thuggish 'take it or leave it' attitude - with an underlying vague threat of violence. Avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

We don't know who you are, we have never seen you in our puff, it is obvious you have never stayed here, ALL of our electrics are fully up to date and we have the certificates to prove that for anyone who wishes to see them, our breakfasts "shoddy", well that definitely tells me you have never stayed here, we... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Was at this accomodation glasgow fair Friday on waverley paddle steamer, and for rothesay Highland games with our little grandson. This is a first class guest house. Lovely room which is spotless clean. The room we had had a lovely sea view across sweet rothesay bay. Harry and hazel are perfect hosts and very informative . The breakfast in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we were glad you all enjoyed your stay with us here at the Commodore and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Haze More 

Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

I would like to thank Hazel and Harry for a wonderful stay at the Commodore. The rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. The only critisisms I would have is that the showers in at least two of the rooms were not very powerful and the wifi was intermittent in my room at least. Breakfast was excellent and the inclusion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the Wedding, and boy were you lucky with the weather, sorry about the shower pressure but when everyone is getting ready at once running the hot water the pressure drops slightly even with the new tank we put in. Hope to meet you all again one... More 

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

stayed at the commodore with 2 friends as soon as we where in the door we where treated like old friends and told to make ourselves at home. rooms where nice and clean and well kept . heather cooks a great breakfast with best black-pudding I've tasted in a while would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Michael for your kind review, I was glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good days walking, we will see you again soon. Hazel More 

Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Had a wonderful time at the Commodore. Hazel made a fabulous breakfast and our room was just what we needed. Hazel gave us lots of advice on local amenities. Defiantly recommend staying here. We will stay here again if we return to Rothesay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Commodore and appricated all our efforts to make our Guests stay as comfortable as possible, it was lovely having you both staying with us and we will see you and Bill in the not to distant future. Haze x More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Commodore, our room and ensuite were both lovely, the hotel is beautifully situated overlooking the water and only a short walk to the ferry, the shops and the pubs. The breakfast was excellent and Hazel and Harry the owners were very friendly and helpful giving us advice on things to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we were glad you enjoyed your stay and the Isle of Bute, it was a pleasure to meet you both and hopefully it wont be long till you are both back again. Hazel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question