We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Tighnabruaich hotels

The Royal an Lochan

Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Royal an Lochan to your Saves list
The Royal an Lochan
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
87%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Professor_Eric Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (285)
  • Photos (69)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (88)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    95
    16
    15
    6
See reviews for
17
214
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (285)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Royal an Lochan for two nights. Lovely location overlooking the Kyles of Bute. Quiet single track roads give sense of being away from it all, and yet not far from Dunoon ferry. Plenty to see and do in area - we went to the island of Bute for one day, and took up the Keith's recommnedation to visit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Relaxation is what we and the local area are all about. We don't do crowds, we don't do coach trips to see as many visitor attractions as possible. Most guests take a stroll into the village or possibly a short drive to another eatery of view point, or take a... More

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Royal an Lochan for one night and were so impressed we didn't want to leave! We received a warm welcome on arrival and were shown around the hotel before being shown to our room, which was a spacious ensuite with great views. The hotel is situated on the quiet shore front and has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review. As I write this response the sun is shinning through the open front door and the water outside is so still, however yesterday although it was dry it was a little fresher you can never get bored of this ever changing weather and scenery. We put a lot of effort into making sure our... More

Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only stayed one night and overall it was a very enjoyable experience. The evening menu in the dining room was a bit limited in that the some of the main courses appeared to be a larger version of the starters. However having said that dinner was superb and not over priced. Wine and drinks were also very reasonably priced.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great dining experience. Being known for our fresh seafood diners expect to see langoustine, mussels and scallops on both starter and main courses although we do as you say offer other dishes such as goats cheese and chicken starters to name a couple and a number of meat and... More

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We recently held an 80th birthday party for my mother at the 'Royal' and can not have been more pleased. We had 15 of us at the party including 2 people with food allergy/gluten sensitivity and there was never an issue with catering to their needs. Keith and Christine did everything possible to make it an absolutely fantastic evening. From... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review, I hope you all had a safe journey home to the various parts of North & South Carolina, USA. It was our pleasure having you as guests and celebrating Mum's 80th, we hope she liked the card and the extra little bits we put on for her. Wishing you... More

Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights at this wonderful hotel we purchased a coupon from 5pm.com and was brilliant value for money the hotel was stunning we couldn't fault it the rooms were gorgeous especially the bathroom and we'll worth paying for an upgrade to a sea view room the view was stunning and the food was amazing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

I have decided not to tell the Chef's about how you are raving about their food, we only have single doors out of the kitchen and I don't want them getting big headed!!! Seriously, thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and please carry on raving about our food. We are so happy that you enjoyed... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We recently stayed for a couple of nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our room was very comfortable with amazing views over the loch and the food was outstanding. The weather was mixed with very heavy rain one day but that gave me a very good excuse to stay in and watch the wildlife from my room and the lounge.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a lovely review. I love it when the winter sets in and we get a little quieter and I can sit in the front lounge and watch to sea and wind battering our shore line, there is something magical about the rain and the sea when you are in a nice cosy lounge. Thank you... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed over on a Sunday night in a sea view room at this hotel. We had a wonderful stay and were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay. The hotel has very comfortable bedrooms (we upgraded to a sea view room with a fantastic view on what was a lovely sunny day) and very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. The bedrooms with a bay window, I must say are my favourite if I ever need to chill and they are not occupied I will escape for 10 minutes sit in one of the comfortable wicker chairs and watch the world go by on the Kyles of Bute! Thank... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Grandchildren are off on hole so we have more chances to get away . Having spent many a year on holiday in nearby Kames with my grandparents and parents with our children it was some time since we were there. We were not disappointed with our stay at all although as we got the last room it was facing to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

We once had a TripAdvisor review saying that the road noise kept them awake at night, it turns out they had the wrong hotel!! We did chuckle because all you can hear at night in Tighnabruaich is the lapping waves and the Oyster Catchers, which are plentiful round here and nest on the beach in front of the hotel. For... More

Falkirk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

just returned from the above after receiving a present of an overnight stay .Our only regret was that we were unable to stay for a week!! "Room with a sea view" was spotless, comfortable and beautifully presented. The food was terrific ( both dinner and breakfast) and staff we met (Keith Christine , who are the owners, were more like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I must say when we first came to Tighnabruaich, to look at another hotel, we were blown away by the scenery, location and everything about this lovely village. We look forward to welcoming you back. Christine x More

Dunfermline
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed here last weekend, the band the Sneaks were great. Hotel is lovely and clean and well run, especially impressed with the table linen. nice touch with the work baskets for those " odd bits us ladies forget" food was delicious, all in all a great break at a great place. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

I totally agree with you The Sneaks are an excellent band and it was a pleasure to have them playing here as part of the Kyles Music Festival. Keith & I once went to very posh hotel where there was a similar set up of a basket of things you may forget and we both thought it was a lovely... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Royal an Lochan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Royal an Lochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal an Lochan

Address: Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Royal an Lochan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Royal An Lochan Tighnabruaich, Scotland

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As you arrive the magical beach side setting will take your breath away. If you enjoy supremely fresh seafood and game, comfortable rooms with stunning views, great individual hospitality and an area with fabulous seascapes with a island feel your stay at An Lochan will leave nothing to be desired. We are however only 90 mins from Glasgow and on a scenic peninsula. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
11

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Royal an Lochan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer