We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Braemar Lodge Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Glenshee Road, Braemar AB35 5QY, Scotland
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Add Your Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    30
    14
    6
    9
See reviews for
21
46
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second trip to the Cabins at Braemar for a quiet weekend break in March. The cabins are spotless, we were in number 7 which also had a bath. Everything needed for a self catering break is in the cabin and they are in very quiet grounds so its a very peaceful place, we will definitely be back.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

a one night stay as the snowgates were closed. a large room, clean and comfortable although basic in standards. open fire downstairs in small lounge area. nice breakfast in morning, overall value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in bunkhouse which was excellent for our large family group. The restaurant was fantastic and we really had the best aberdeen Angus steaks any of us could remember.Kids meal were good too and the restaurant looked refurbished the waiting staff were excellent and really helpful. We would all go back .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Heidelberg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

This place might be perfect for people who come from the village like the hosts and do not expect great friendlyness or professional hospitility. It is what we call "a wannabe posh place" in Berlin. The price is really okay, but a look on the menu of the restaurant tells the whole story: baked fish and chicken salad, well... (Bye... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RonnieMoore, Owner at Braemar Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

with reference to your review Menu Main courses from our present menu 1. 10oz Scottish Aberdeen Angus Sirloin Steak 2. Double Cheeseburger 3. Breast of Maize Chicken 4. Fillet of Scottish Salmon 5. Chefs Roast of the day 6. Battered North Sea Haddock (wait for it) 7. Oven Baked Sea Bass ??? 8. Chicken Salad ??? I have counted twice... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

we arrived at the hotel for one night and had a warm welcome at the front door from a lovely lady. very quick and straight check in. the room number 7 does need an update , namely better heating, and not much of a view. but it was pleasant and very clean. had a lovely meal at the restaurant the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RonnieMoore, Owner at Braemar Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

First I would like to Thank You for your review & would like to explain the following Departure next morning ? There should have been a notice on the inside of the door explaining Departure time / Restaurant opening hours / Breakfast time etc. which when you & myself looked for found (it had been removed.) Also, our staff always... More 

Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Arrived to a somewhat confused reception. Restaurant was pre-booked so couldn't have dinner. Bar was full. So I stayed in the bunkhouse and made my own dinner. If rating as a hostel only it would get 5 stars. I would probably try again if passing through Braemar just to see if the evening was an anomaly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RonnieMoore, Owner at Braemar Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for the nice review for our Bunkhouse We run a very busy Hotel and Restaurant which serves excellent food so we recommend to everyone to book in advance (Head Chef former Grampian Chef Of The Year) However I fail to understand how you rated our Hotel / Restaurant 3 stars when you did not or stay in... More 

Neverland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Lounge and bar area are lovely and climactic, typical scottish. There is a big nice fireplace which makes lovely atmosphere, but rooms could be better. There is 3-4 channels in tv, beds are small and is not worth it to pay extra for rooms with view. Staff are very friendly. Cooked breakfast is included, but I wouldn't eat in hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RonnieMoore, Owner at Braemar Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

With reference to your (false) review on 26th Nov 2014 Having contacted you and given you a chance to have this removed which you did not have the decency (manners) to do. I would like to make myself very clear You did not either (stay) in our Hotel or (dine) in our Restaurant Having made some inquiries I know which... More 

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We stayed in number 7 log cabin last week and after staying here many times before I have to say it just gets better. The hotel and log cabins are set in a beautiful spot with red squirrels running everywhere. The cabin was very clean and warm and has a bath which is great when you come off the hills... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bingley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We stayed for seven nights in one of the one bedroom lodges in the grounds of the hotel. On two previous visits we have stayed in the larger three bed roomed lodges. The smaller lodge was rather dark but it had everything we needed to self cater and quickly warmed up on the cooler October nights when we switched the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Trying to review the restaurant. We didn't stay at the Lodge. The restaurant was only "ok", although probably better than other options in Braemer that evening. For some reason, Trip Advisory wants me to review the Lodge rather than the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question