We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Braemar hotels

Fife Arms Hotel

Mar Road, Braemar AB35 5YL, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Fife Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Fife Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
43%
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Braemar
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Marlene M Dumfries, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (380)
  • Photos (101)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (110)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    119
    84
    60
    75
See reviews for
52
180
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My parents recently had the misfortune of staying at this hotel. Threadbare carpets, peeling wallpaper, a dirty valence, broken windows, ceiling paper held up by staples, the list goes on! It's insulting that this hotel takes money, it's past tired - it's dead!

Was this review helpful? Yes
falkirk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

They say you get what you pay for, well maybe in some areas of this hotel, certainley not the rooms. Could not accept the first room we were given, accepted the second one but only just. So in need of a major refurbishment. Used by coach tours so a busy hotel, excellent location with stunning surounding areas. Cannot complain about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel with a David Urquhart tour, to Balmoral Castle and Aberdeen. For what we paid it was excellent value. We upgraded to a superior room, which was in need of some refurbishment, we ignored the threadbare carpets, however the room was a good size, single beds and bedding very clean and comfortable, fluffy towels which were changed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thornaby-on-Tees
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff are doing their best. The chef(s) are doing their best.The food was good and sufficient.The management are efficient. The owner(s) are responsible for ancient furniture and furnishings and carpet that was more hessian backing than pile.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arboath, Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel the night before arriving as a day-away treat for myself and my daughter. The receptionist on arrival wasn't very welcoming, not even a hello or a smile. I paid for the room and we went up the lovely staircase, covered with a faded and dated carpet to our room. I was very disappointed when we got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
clydebank
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On a positive note, the staff in this hotel work very hard and were very pleasant. However, there are many negatives. I was part of a David Urquart Braemar bus trip and on arrival my friend and I were allocated a room on the 3rd floor - unbelievable! Without going into to too much detail, the carpet was filthy and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
EDINBURGH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were at the Fife Arms for a two night dinner bed and breakfast break in July,we were well looked after by front of house Sara, who could not do enough to help us with all our needs. This hotel is a great location to visit surrounding areas

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aberdeen
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Seriously, how much would it cost to fit a shower to the room? This hotel is in the dark ages and has to get sorted out, the room had a dirty worn carpet, a tiny telly and no shower!! Toast at breakfast was hard and cold breakfast was also miserly, 1 only of each item. Entertainment was laughable! The only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
fifearmsmanager, Manager at Fife Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for the feedback regarding your stay. I can assure you that we will take action where we feel it necessary, I am sorry that you felt disappointed with your stay. Regards, Gil McHugh More

Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent four days at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was good and plentiful and the beds comfortable. There was always plenty of hot water and the public rooms were very pleasant. On the whole the hotel seemed in need of refurbishment but the holiday was great and we enjoyed the entertainment in the evenings. Thank you..

Was this review helpful? Yes
fifearmsmanager, Manager at Fife Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diana, Many thanks for taking time to review your recent stay with us here at The Fife Arms. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your visit and delighted that you found our staff welcoming. We are very proud of our hard working team and receive many compliments about their service and friendliness. I take on board... More

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best things about the Fife Arms Hotel: - Cheap price, £70 B&B for a twin bedded-room in early July - Fantastically spacious room - Comfortable beds - Lashings of hot water, a bath tub and nice big bath towels - Helpful and obliging staff - Wondrously old fashioned-styled but spacious Ladies' toilets - Hints of glory days long past... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
fifearmsmanager, Manager at Fife Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jean, Many thanks for posting your review and passing on your comments. I was pleased to read of the positive comments but of course was disappointed to read the issues that you faced particularly with regards to the restaurant breakfast service. In general we receive positive feedback for our breakfast which is prepared and served to order from the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Fife Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Fife Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fife Arms Hotel

Address: Mar Road, Braemar AB35 5YL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fife Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fife Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Fife Arms, In the stunning village of Braemar, now under new management of Steven Turton with over 20 years experience in the trade. The fife Arms is owned by Harts Hotels group, orginally called "Hunters Fife Arms", and built by the Duke of Fife, in the 19th century. The hotel is on the door step to Balmoral Castle, just 9 miles down the road!, glen shee, ski centre is also near by for those who love the winter sports. WE LOOK FORWARD TO WELCOMING YOU! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
84

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer