We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Livingston B&Bs / inns

The Livingston Inn

Save Saved
You added The Livingston Inn to your Saves list
Main Street, Livingston EH54 7AF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (63)
  • Photos (8)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
The Livingston Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Livingston B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingston
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    10
    9
    26
See reviews for
7
15
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned after staying in the Livingston Inn for three nights, was a bit apprehensive about the stay due to previous reviews but was pleasantly surprised. There was a lot of work going on and notices were displayed informing you that this was happening we no disruptions during our stay. Our room was adequate, bed was comfortable, everything worked in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed four nights at the Livingston Inn. On arrival, we were a bit concerned as we noticed alot of work going on and thought this may impact our stay but thankfully the disruptions were minimal. Our room was extremely small and one of us had to climb from the bottom of the bed to actually get in it! Having... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff where very friendly and the food was very nice . The hotel is a charming coach inn . Plenty of parking in quiet village location . But when it came to the room Tv did not work Bed side lamp bulb was broken The shower in the morning had to hold it as would not stay in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

That is what it said in our rooms. They seem to be updating the building. It's a very old inn, but they are still lacking a lot. Nothing else around either. We ate at the restaurant which was nicely done and the bar seemed to have a big crowd. Perhaps with time they will improve. Floors are super squeaky and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
livvyinn, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Wendy R Thank you for your review and comments, As mentioned by yourself we are currently upgrading the building which is proving tricky due to the high volume of guests we currently have and also due to the age of the building, We are working on refurbishing all rooms and other areas of the building including sorting the problem... More

Edinburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We recently used this Hotel for guests. The booking process and communication was terrible. Staff are not friendly or helpful. There manner has a lot to be desired. Food is expensive and not a good standard. We will never use them again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
livvyinn, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Hi The Write road, Thank you for your review I ask that you please contact myself and confirm the dates you stayed so I can look into who was working during your stay and report your comments and investigate further as I am disappointed to read the negative comments with regards to my staff, With regards to your review on... More

Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed for 3 days it was terrible mold and shower flooded every were was moved and shower didnt work they said they would fix it came back and shower was still not fixed , he then opened a spear room and told me to use it . NOT HAPPY

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
livvyinn, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Lee Jeans Thank you for your review, as you are aware we have been trying to contact you using the email address you left, As per letter issued following report we had carried out, The reason the bathroom flooded was what seems to be as a result of you failing to close the screen door correctly, However we do... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and would not go back...me and my party we're in the bar area eating cake celebrating a birthday and was told by a staff member we wasn't aloud to eat food in the bar unless it was bought from then even tho we had 4 rooms and an apartment booked for the night.... I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
livvyinn, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Georgieboi1 Thank you for your review however we would respond as follows: We acknowledge the flat is not currently in our opinion decorated to a high spec or have what I would deem as having modern beds when you stayed and I thank you for your pictures, I am thankful you highlighted damaged/vandalism caused by other guests. As we... More

Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Surly staff made this stay unpleasant. Because we couldn't find a table in the bar sat at the nearest dining table. We weren't asked to move, but the bar staff were making loud comments about our being there. The breakfast was not good. When it arrived I picked the greasy bacon up on my fork and it dripped with grease,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
livvyinn, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Diane Thank you for your review I can confirm that the colours of the rooms have been changed in the refurbished rooms and we are currently working towards completing all rooms, I personally hate the magnolia colours as well however unfortunately we inherited these when we purchased the business. I am disappointed to hear you never enjoyed the breakfast... More

Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Booked a room, left my stuff and went out for the evening. Returned to find that my key did not fit the outside door, locked out. No night service, no answer on phone. Had to find other acxcompodation Appologies the next day, but no refund, fobbed off. Was told a few weeks later that the hotel was now under new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
livvyinn, Manager at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Duncan W Thank you for your review, however would highlight that your bad experience happened when the building was owned by previous owners and not myself or my partner, As I am sure you would appreciated we cannot be held responsible/liable for incidents or issues that arose during the previous ownership outwith our company's control. Many Thanks More

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We recently ended up here for a late Sunday Lunch and were the only 2 diners in at the time. The food was very, very good. I had the home made burger and my husband had the pork which he raved about. I am sure that this place will become much busier when word spreads about how good the food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Livingston Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Livingston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Livingston Inn

Address: Main Street, Livingston EH54 7AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Livingston Inn Scotland

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Livingston with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Restaurant
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Livingston Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer