We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Livingston B&Bs / inns

The Livingston Inn

Main Street, Livingston EH54 7AF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (60)
  • Photos (8)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
The Livingston Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Livingston B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingston
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    9
    8
    26
See reviews for
7
14
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

That is what it said in our rooms. They seem to be updating the building. It's a very old inn, but they are still lacking a lot. Nothing else around either. We ate at the restaurant which was nicely done and the bar seemed to have a big crowd. Perhaps with time they will improve. Floors are super squeaky and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
livvyinn, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Wendy R Thank you for your review and comments, As mentioned by yourself we are currently upgrading the building which is proving tricky due to the high volume of guests we currently have and also due to the age of the building, We are working on refurbishing all rooms and other areas of the building including sorting the problem... More

Edinburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently used this Hotel for guests. The booking process and communication was terrible. Staff are not friendly or helpful. There manner has a lot to be desired. Food is expensive and not a good standard. We will never use them again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
livvyinn, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Hi The Write road, Thank you for your review I ask that you please contact myself and confirm the dates you stayed so I can look into who was working during your stay and report your comments and investigate further as I am disappointed to read the negative comments with regards to my staff, With regards to your review on... More

Travelers are raving about these Livingston hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 days it was terrible mold and shower flooded every were was moved and shower didnt work they said they would fix it came back and shower was still not fixed , he then opened a spear room and told me to use it . NOT HAPPY

Was this review helpful? Yes
livvyinn, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Lee Jeans Thank you for your review, as you are aware we have been trying to contact you using the email address you left, As per letter issued following report we had carried out, The reason the bathroom flooded was what seems to be as a result of you failing to close the screen door correctly, However we do... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and would not go back...me and my party we're in the bar area eating cake celebrating a birthday and was told by a staff member we wasn't aloud to eat food in the bar unless it was bought from then even tho we had 4 rooms and an apartment booked for the night.... I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
livvyinn, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Georgieboi1 Thank you for your review however we would respond as follows: We acknowledge the flat is not currently in our opinion decorated to a high spec or have what I would deem as having modern beds when you stayed and I thank you for your pictures, I am thankful you highlighted damaged/vandalism caused by other guests. As we... More

Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Surly staff made this stay unpleasant. Because we couldn't find a table in the bar sat at the nearest dining table. We weren't asked to move, but the bar staff were making loud comments about our being there. The breakfast was not good. When it arrived I picked the greasy bacon up on my fork and it dripped with grease,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
livvyinn, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Diane Thank you for your review I can confirm that the colours of the rooms have been changed in the refurbished rooms and we are currently working towards completing all rooms, I personally hate the magnolia colours as well however unfortunately we inherited these when we purchased the business. I am disappointed to hear you never enjoyed the breakfast... More

Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Booked a room, left my stuff and went out for the evening. Returned to find that my key did not fit the outside door, locked out. No night service, no answer on phone. Had to find other acxcompodation Appologies the next day, but no refund, fobbed off. Was told a few weeks later that the hotel was now under new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
livvyinn, Manager at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Duncan W Thank you for your review, however would highlight that your bad experience happened when the building was owned by previous owners and not myself or my partner, As I am sure you would appreciated we cannot be held responsible/liable for incidents or issues that arose during the previous ownership outwith our company's control. Many Thanks More

Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We recently ended up here for a late Sunday Lunch and were the only 2 diners in at the time. The food was very, very good. I had the home made burger and my husband had the pork which he raved about. I am sure that this place will become much busier when word spreads about how good the food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BATHGATE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I popped in here for a lunch whilst passing, it was very quiet with only 4 customers. The menu was a little scruffy and in need of some changes how ever when the food came it was nicely presented and it was nice. I wouldn't rave about the place but I am led to believe it is under new management... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
annan dumfries
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed 11/12 Dec 13 Sarah / Tom just taken over. Really nice people. They have good plans once the festive season is over. Staff friendly and helpful About 1.5mile walk(away from roads well signposted) to Livingston Centre a shops. Rooms tidy and clean food was good but limited menu until new head chef starts in January 2014. We had intended... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Sayed there on the 2nd and 3rd december and new owners have just taking over (sarah and her boyfriend). the place was warm and clean the sheets were clean and smelt lovley. the beer was A1 and the breakfast was outstanding and all for £25 a night. the livy inn has been going through a bad patch but the new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Livingston Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Livingston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Livingston Inn

Address: Main Street, Livingston EH54 7AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Livingston Inn Scotland

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Parking Restaurant
Number of rooms
12

See which rooms travelers prefer

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Livingston Inn to your Saves list