We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Skeabost Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Skeabost Bridge, Skeabost IV51 9NP, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skeabost Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Skeabost Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    74
    120
    42
    15
    9
See reviews for
25
191
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (260)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room was fine but the meal was not very good. Had stayed in the hotel on two previous occasions two years ago and I was very happy but not this time unfortunately. The hotel was very busy and very noisy late at night - was woken up by people walking and chatting loudly when walking down the corridor past my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I am late in putting up this review because I genuinely didn't know what to say. We stayed in April just before the season started and before the hotel changed hands. I guess I'm hoping things will be different now but perhaps folks could give the new owners the benefit of the doubt as they must have had an uphill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I cannot praise this establishment enough. Perfect location. After two nights we found it hard to leave. Friendly and thoroughly professional staff throughout, special mention to the housekeeper for letting us up the tower for the incredible view. We felt like we were at home whether in the bar, the restaurant, or by the open fire in the lounge. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this with the previous owners and the new owners were fine about honouring the booking at the same price. As soon as we entered the hotel it felt like home. Open fires, big comfy sofas and some really friendly staff make this hotel a great place to relax. The food was amazing, although the menu varied little for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
35 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The new owners had only been in for about 2 months but you could already see from the work done that this hotel is going to be something special. When we first arrived I thought there were too many staff for the size of hotel, but goodness they certainly worked really hard once the restaurant opened. They were super efficient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portree
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Over the past few years this Hotel has had several owners and the standards have been variable. We went for evening meal to celebrate my parents wedding anniversary. I'm glad to say the service and food were very good. Three courses and a drink coming in at around £25 per person. The new owners seem to be turning this place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bradford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel has recently been taken over by a new company and is still in the throes of getting everything sorted out. But the signs are promising. Lovely rooms - well furnished and facilities excellent. Food extremely good, and breakfast outstanding. When we went the central heating had broken down but heaters provided in the room. Also the computer had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NW England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having read a review here from only last October, my wife and I were looking forward to eating at the hotel while renting a local holiday cottage. The review said that this was extremely dog friendly and that the reception couldn't do enough for the guests. Or the dog. Unfortunately, this is no longer the case. If you want to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has recently been taken over. I made my booking direct with the previous owners but there was no problem with the new owners honouring my deal. I loved my stay here & 100% will return! The hotel is in a great location, 5 miles out of Portree. Nice and quiet in the countryside. On arrival the 1st thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Neil855, Manager at Skeabost Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Noms 1012 Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are now 3 months into our new ownership and the drive and determination from each of our staff has made this a much easier process. The hotel has been completely carpeted, we have brand new curtains and fabrics in all of the bedrooms. The twin room you were... More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently came to the restaurant here and the place itself looked nice. But when we were seated someone took our drinks order and we were left waiting for 10-15 mins with no menus, they offered us drinks after giving us menus but we said someone had offered us some already. 5 mins later someone came back and asked what drinks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Neil855, Manager at Skeabost Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Randomperson 30 Thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry we did not perform to our usual high standard on the night you chose to visit us. We have had a couple of new members join our team recently and after reading your review instigated further training for them. I am sorry I did not get... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay