We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kiltaraglen House

Certificate of Excellence
Staffin Road, Portree IV51 9HR, Scotland
Kiltaraglen House
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (119)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Tamuning, null, Guam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When we tried to contact them their was no answer and when we arrived initially no one was there. We drove around and later someone was home. Parking was fairly inconvenient to unload suitcases and it was rainy and windy.The rooms were a bit well used and the heat went off at night. The laundry they did was costly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Franklin, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In a perfect location, just a nice walk from the best restaurants in Portree and at the beginning of the trail to the top sites on Skye (Old Man of Stor, Kilt Rock, Uig, et al). Quiet, clean and comfortable, just what the weary traveller needs after the trip to the Isle of Skye.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Delighted that you liked us enough to leave a review. Thank You. It helps us keep our 'wee' house on the list with Tripadvisor. Many thanks for taking the time to review and we do hope to welcome you back some day. A big thank you meantime and Best regards from us all. More 

Fairport, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights here. Very comfortable and clean accommodations. Very good breakfast. Walking distance to town center. Friendly family running B&B. Would stay here again. TV and internet in room. Down stairs living room available to relax in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. As we are such a small business, it is difficult to get the number of reviews to keep us on the list! Thanks. We are delighted that you had a good stay, found us a comfortable place and that we served a good breakfast - so important to start the... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a really good stay at Kiltaraglen, the owners were extremely friendly and made the whole stay excellent. Great breakfasts and incredibly clean accommodation. Would recommend to anyone planning a holiday to Skye

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Hello and a belated Thank You for your review. We are pleased you had a great stay and that you liked the breakfasts! We do usually say this, but in all honesty, we would be delighted to welcome you back some time. Thanks from us all until we meet you again. Pam, Kevin, Calum and Rachel More 

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Stayed here for the first time last year with my husband, son and daughter. Found it when googling for B&Bs in Portree and decided it looked really good. We weren't disappointed! The kids had the twin room which although not en suite, it has it's own bathroom across the corridor and dressing gowns are provided. We had the double room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. Sorry we didn't get to see you again, but so glad you enjoyed your stay and that Calum, Rachel and Mena looked after you well. While you were visiting Kiltaraglen, we were making our way home through the Caledonian Canal with ASPIRE our new boat (Spindrift was our previous boat). We were so lucky with... More 

Wethersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Rachel and her husband make you feel at home with a delicious hot breakfast, a cozy room with ensuite. They are just a seven minute walk to the town square. They know the area and referred a super restaurant. Thanks Rachel for a very nice and clean place to spend the night and enjoy the Isle of Skye.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments. I shall pass on your praise to Rachel, she deserves a pat on the back for the care and attention she provides, as does Calum. Sorry we did not get to meet you during your stay, but perhaps you may return to Kiltaraglen at some point. Thanks from us all. Pam and Kevin, Calum and... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We stayed for a week in the "Garden Wing" which is self catering. The accommodation is very comfortable and well equipped. Plenty of space - very large living room, conservatory which overlooks a lovely garden, shower room, kitchen, large bedroom with en suite including a Jacuzzi bath. Friendly helpful welcome by the owner - we fully recommend Kiltaraglen House and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Hello from us all at Kiltaraglen. Thanks so much for taking the time and giving the Garden Wing such a nice review. We do think it is a great base for a holiday here. A pity we didn't get to meet you while you stayed here, but I see Calum and Rachel looked after you well which is all that... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Stayed in the self catering accommodation for 2 nights last week whilst on a tour of the west coast on my motorbike. Stayed in the garden wing. Dont think there can be anywhere better on skye. Really great place, clean, really big and spacious the upstairs bathroom is really nice with a huge jacuzzi bath and a masisve window that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, sorry that we were away and did not meet you during your stay, but it seems that the Garden Wing ticked all the boxes for you! Many thanks for taking the time to review us, it helps keep our ratings up when folks respond, whatever their comments. As we are just a small family... More 

Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Me and a pal went up to Skye touring on our motorbikes for 2 nights. Phoned on the Saturday afternoon, checked in Sunday evening. All the information given to me by telephone was exactly what we experienced when we arrived. Very straight-forward Really warm and friendly owners, great welcome, fabulous breakfast. spotlessly clean and tidy, really good value for money.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Richard, we all hope to see you again. The craic was good and it was a pity that we were off on the boat and didn't get to see more of you both. I think that the great weather you had would have helped make your stay great! Thanks - till next time. More 

Newark
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were met by a very friendly and welcoming owner Pam, and shown to our room which was in the eaves of the house it had a good size ensuite shower room with a comfortable bed. Once in the room we noticed there were no toiletries and we had to ask for these, Also on inspection of one of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. Great that you liked the room. Though we are sorry you did not feel comfortable not locking the door. We don't have locks on any of our bedroom doors as Kiltaraglen is our home. You are right, we do store some stuff in the inaccessible cupboard behind the bedside table. We are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities