We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kiltaraglen House

Certificate of Excellence
Staffin Road, Portree IV51 9HR, Scotland
Kiltaraglen House
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    102
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
78
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the great pleasure to spend three days on Skye at Taraglen House in late April. And to say, we had nothing to complain about would outright unfair: It was simply wonderful. Calum and his parents created a wonderful place to stay in their lovely house, radiating enchanting friendliness and hospitality from the first moment on. Next time in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Wow, Thanks so much. We are all thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We love it when we get it right! Let's hope your next visit will be just as good. Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Best regards from us all. More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the Garden Wing of Kiltaraglen House for 5 days after our Wedding and we couldn't fault the place. We arrived on a very stormy night and were made to feel very welcome by Kevin who showed us to the cottage and explained the layout noting that if we needed anything we only had to ask. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review, much appreciated and another great big thank you for the feedback you gave us at the time. It is so helpful when our guests engage with what we are aiming for and your suggestions have been adopted as part of our welcome routine. We really do hope that we see you again at Kiltaraglen and... More 

Dornbirn, Austria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Three of us stayed in the Garden Cottage, we liked it very much. Pam gave us a very warm welcome, and exchanging some emails before our stay was pleasant and the replies were always quick. Two others of our group were in the B&B and I guess they liked it as well. Concerning the review before mine: Seriously complaining about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Oh thank you for your kind words, coming at such a nice time to lift our spirits after our earlier poor review! We are so glad you and your traveling companions enjoyed your stay with us and we understand your comments about the fan. Actually the mirror light in the cottage works without the fan running and although not quite... More 

Tamuning, null, Guam
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

When we tried to contact them their was no answer and when we arrived initially no one was there. We drove around and later someone was home. Parking was fairly inconvenient to unload suitcases and it was rainy and windy.The rooms were a bit well used and the heat went off at night. The laundry they did was costly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Oh Dear! We are so sorry you have had such an awful time at Kiltaraglen and generally on Skye. Though you are quite wrong to suggest we are closing in July.! Kevin and I will be running the bed and breakfast and self-catering after we say goodbye to Calum and Rachel - off to pastures new after their wedding!. To... More 

Franklin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

In a perfect location, just a nice walk from the best restaurants in Portree and at the beginning of the trail to the top sites on Skye (Old Man of Stor, Kilt Rock, Uig, et al). Quiet, clean and comfortable, just what the weary traveller needs after the trip to the Isle of Skye.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Delighted that you liked us enough to leave a review. Thank You. It helps us keep our 'wee' house on the list with Tripadvisor. Many thanks for taking the time to review and we do hope to welcome you back some day. A big thank you meantime and Best regards from us all. More 

Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

We spent 3 nights here. Very comfortable and clean accommodations. Very good breakfast. Walking distance to town center. Friendly family running B&B. Would stay here again. TV and internet in room. Down stairs living room available to relax in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. As we are such a small business, it is difficult to get the number of reviews to keep us on the list! Thanks. We are delighted that you had a good stay, found us a comfortable place and that we served a good breakfast - so important to start the... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Had a really good stay at Kiltaraglen, the owners were extremely friendly and made the whole stay excellent. Great breakfasts and incredibly clean accommodation. Would recommend to anyone planning a holiday to Skye

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Hello and a belated Thank You for your review. We are pleased you had a great stay and that you liked the breakfasts! We do usually say this, but in all honesty, we would be delighted to welcome you back some time. Thanks from us all until we meet you again. Pam, Kevin, Calum and Rachel More 

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Stayed here for the first time last year with my husband, son and daughter. Found it when googling for B&Bs in Portree and decided it looked really good. We weren't disappointed! The kids had the twin room which although not en suite, it has it's own bathroom across the corridor and dressing gowns are provided. We had the double room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. Sorry we didn't get to see you again, but so glad you enjoyed your stay and that Calum, Rachel and Mena looked after you well. While you were visiting Kiltaraglen, we were making our way home through the Caledonian Canal with ASPIRE our new boat (Spindrift was our previous boat). We were so lucky with... More 

Wethersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Rachel and her husband make you feel at home with a delicious hot breakfast, a cozy room with ensuite. They are just a seven minute walk to the town square. They know the area and referred a super restaurant. Thanks Rachel for a very nice and clean place to spend the night and enjoy the Isle of Skye.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments. I shall pass on your praise to Rachel, she deserves a pat on the back for the care and attention she provides, as does Calum. Sorry we did not get to meet you during your stay, but perhaps you may return to Kiltaraglen at some point. Thanks from us all. Pam and Kevin, Calum and... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We stayed for a week in the "Garden Wing" which is self catering. The accommodation is very comfortable and well equipped. Plenty of space - very large living room, conservatory which overlooks a lovely garden, shower room, kitchen, large bedroom with en suite including a Jacuzzi bath. Friendly helpful welcome by the owner - we fully recommend Kiltaraglen House and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Hello from us all at Kiltaraglen. Thanks so much for taking the time and giving the Garden Wing such a nice review. We do think it is a great base for a holiday here. A pity we didn't get to meet you while you stayed here, but I see Calum and Rachel looked after you well which is all that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities