We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 93 Portree B&Bs / inns

Kiltaraglen House

Save
You added Kiltaraglen House to your Saves list
Staffin Road, Portree IV51 9HR, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Kiltaraglen House
Ranked #14 of 93 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
74
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (115)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for the first time last year with my husband, son and daughter. Found it when googling for B&Bs in Portree and decided it looked really good. We weren't disappointed! The kids had the twin room which although not en suite, it has it's own bathroom across the corridor and dressing gowns are provided. We had the double room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. Sorry we didn't get to see you again, but so glad you enjoyed your stay and that Calum, Rachel and Mena looked after you well. While you were visiting Kiltaraglen, we were making our way home through the Caledonian Canal with ASPIRE our new boat (Spindrift was our previous boat). We were so lucky with... More

Wethersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rachel and her husband make you feel at home with a delicious hot breakfast, a cozy room with ensuite. They are just a seven minute walk to the town square. They know the area and referred a super restaurant. Thanks Rachel for a very nice and clean place to spend the night and enjoy the Isle of Skye.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments. I shall pass on your praise to Rachel, she deserves a pat on the back for the care and attention she provides, as does Calum. Sorry we did not get to meet you during your stay, but perhaps you may return to Kiltaraglen at some point. Thanks from us all. Pam and Kevin, Calum and... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We stayed for a week in the "Garden Wing" which is self catering. The accommodation is very comfortable and well equipped. Plenty of space - very large living room, conservatory which overlooks a lovely garden, shower room, kitchen, large bedroom with en suite including a Jacuzzi bath. Friendly helpful welcome by the owner - we fully recommend Kiltaraglen House and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pammie03, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Hello from us all at Kiltaraglen. Thanks so much for taking the time and giving the Garden Wing such a nice review. We do think it is a great base for a holiday here. A pity we didn't get to meet you while you stayed here, but I see Calum and Rachel looked after you well which is all that... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Stayed in the self catering accommodation for 2 nights last week whilst on a tour of the west coast on my motorbike. Stayed in the garden wing. Dont think there can be anywhere better on skye. Really great place, clean, really big and spacious the upstairs bathroom is really nice with a huge jacuzzi bath and a masisve window that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, sorry that we were away and did not meet you during your stay, but it seems that the Garden Wing ticked all the boxes for you! Many thanks for taking the time to review us, it helps keep our ratings up when folks respond, whatever their comments. As we are just a small family... More

Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Me and a pal went up to Skye touring on our motorbikes for 2 nights. Phoned on the Saturday afternoon, checked in Sunday evening. All the information given to me by telephone was exactly what we experienced when we arrived. Very straight-forward Really warm and friendly owners, great welcome, fabulous breakfast. spotlessly clean and tidy, really good value for money.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Richard, we all hope to see you again. The craic was good and it was a pity that we were off on the boat and didn't get to see more of you both. I think that the great weather you had would have helped make your stay great! Thanks - till next time. More

Newark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were met by a very friendly and welcoming owner Pam, and shown to our room which was in the eaves of the house it had a good size ensuite shower room with a comfortable bed. Once in the room we noticed there were no toiletries and we had to ask for these, Also on inspection of one of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. Great that you liked the room. Though we are sorry you did not feel comfortable not locking the door. We don't have locks on any of our bedroom doors as Kiltaraglen is our home. You are right, we do store some stuff in the inaccessible cupboard behind the bedside table. We are... More

Dunfermline
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed in the Garden Cottage (a self catering cottage adjacent to the B&B) and couldn't recommend it highly enough. The cottage was immaculate with everything our family (2 grandparents, a Mother and a 4 year old) could want. The staff welcomed us warmly after our journey from Fife (over 200 miles!) and answered any questions that we had. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Hi NEM1975 Tanks for the review and taking the time to give us feedback. Much appreciated. It's great you had a good time with the family and we do think the location is great. The Garden Cottage is comfortable and cosy at any time of year, though we do look forward to your return visit next year. Best regards from... More

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A perfect place to stay,great location about 10 minute walk into the beautiful little harbour of portree. The room we stayed in was very clean and bright with a nice view of the garden,ample room with a newly built on suite and a very comfy bed. All you can say is it was a beautiful place to stay with lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Andrew. We very much appreciate the feedback (it also helps to keep our ratings up too of course). As I usually say; we look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future. Best regards meantime from all of us at Kiltaraglen. More

Rochford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We chose to stay at Kiltaraglen House because answers to email questions were timely and informative, and the reviews on TA were so good, and we weren't disappointed! First and foremost, we loved it because it was a few minutes walk out of town, and lovely and quiet, but easy to find by car, with adequate parking. Callum and Rachel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It's great people take the time to let us know what they think of us all and it really does help for future guests. Many thanks for listing things you found helpfull, we do like to help our guests enjoy our lovely Island and it makes all the difference to have the maps and books to... More

Cinderford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We were met by a very friendly and welcoming owner Pam, and shown to our room which was in the attic of the house it had a good size ensuite shower room, plenty of storage space and a comfortable bed. Unfortunately very little view from the windows. Little things missing like bottled water and toiletries. Maps and useful information on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your comments Peter, we are delighted that in view of the 'down side' of your stay you still felt able to give us such a great review. As I said when welcoming you to Kiltaraglen, the maps, books and tourist information we provide on the dresser is available to all our guests to browse and borrow... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kiltaraglen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiltaraglen House

Address: Staffin Road, Portree IV51 9HR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Kiltaraglen House Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay