We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saucy Marys Lodge

Kyleakin IV41 8PL , Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Saucy Marys Lodge
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks for a great stay! Stayed with a Haggis Adventure tour and loved it. Great location and easy access to the pub downstairs! Was great having a real bed not a bunk! The restaurant downstairs also served some great food! Great showers as well! Thanks again!

Helpful?
Thank TPK89
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great hospitality and great service, located in a fantastic, quiet and beautiful area. The care of well educated and friendly welcome. And there's a very comfortable and good regional restaurant attentive and charismatic employees. I recommend and return to host me for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Felipe_Rodelingue
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a tour around Scotland. The rooms where small and only had 1 PowerPoint for 4 people to share. The showers had no hot water after 5 people used the showers. The bar and food was expensive- well over a backpackers food budget for meals. They do make a cook breakfast however once again it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Olivia H

Travelers are raving about these Kyleakin hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

Despite having booked ahead by phone that day and given a pretty accurate estimate of when we'd be arriving, we had to wait an age at reception before anyone came over to help us check in. They knew nothing about our booking and no note had been left. The room was incredibly hot and stuffy and its furnishings were tired.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grace R
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

Not entirely sure if this was normal or not, but all of the common areas closed at 9:30pm and didn't open again until 7am. It did mean everything was quiet when we went to bed, but we thought 9:30 was pretty early to be closing the bar, lounge and kitchen. In addition, we felt the food was expensive for what... More 

Helpful?
Thank canadianexile
Hill End, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015 via mobile

Jonathan on the front desk was very very accommodating both with our room and helping print documents as was Shazza at the bar and the other young man behind the bar. Very homey people. Love the tee shirt purchased as well

Helpful?
Thank Mercury K
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

It was really poor; a hostel above a noisy pub but thank gosh I was on the top floor so couldn't hear much. Wasn't fun climbing there in the narrow hallways with a backbag, though. The room was tiny and there was just one big light on the roof, right next to my bed where I couldn't even sit on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tiina L
sal459, Owner at Saucy Marys Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. It was a pity you did not think to ask to move to another room if you were dissatisfied with the one allocated I am sure those reading your review will be puzzled that you were above a noisy pub any yet you slept peacefully. The pub closes at the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015 via mobile

What a terrible place! Upon walking into our room, we noticed two single beds and a bunk bed. As a couple, we found this a little unsatisfying as we would have assumed that booking a private room, would ensure a double bed. The toilets and shower were outside the room also!! Not very comforting to walk out of the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank georgiaeyes
sal459, General Manager at Saucy Marys Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Did you plan to stay at a hostel? In the UK hostels are generally with shared facilities although we do have some en suite rooms. For those reading the review you paid £25 each and the room had a lovely sea view. Might I suggest that had you asked for a different room and stayed... More 

Portree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

This is a boring pub ran by people that don't care about you. Stayed in the very poor hostel with terrible conditions and the owner moans at you and does not help you

Helpful?
Thank Eggman66
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

I had been traveling the Isle of Skye, and couldn't make it back to Inverness for the evening, so I decided to say at Saucy Mary's. Having had breakfast there earlier in the day, I was aware that they had good food, and a staff that were nice and conversant. My unvarnished opinion is that this lodge is a money... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank riallus
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
0.0 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Staffin
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portree
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glenarroch B&B
Glenarroch B&B
#9 of 11 in Kyleakin
3.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
MacKinnon Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#6 of 16 in Portree
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay