We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Ardvasar B&Bs / inns

Ardvasar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ardvasar Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Ardvasar IV45 8RS, Scotland
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (125)
  • Photos (46)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (28)
  • More
Ardvasar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Ardvasar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardvasar
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    46
    11
    10
    2
See reviews for
18
76
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (125)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was disappointed in this hotel from the moment I saw it. It is absolutely filthy. The first thing I saw upon approaching the entrance was dust and dead flies all over the large window sill in the entrance-way. Our room (number 9) had dust-bunnies largely formed of other guests hair, dead spiders and flies all over the carpet, at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
richardj60, Owner at Ardvasar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eva 'Bed linen clean, hand basin and bath clean. Not my words but yours, so to describe the hotel as 'filthy' is a gross exaggeration of the facts. You advised us after check-in that you were not happy with the cleanliness of the bathroom and we rectified this within 15 minutes. Your room was cleaned every day to suggest... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The proprietor Richard was extremely welcoming and could not do enough for us, a very professional service. We had a nice double room with comfy bed and en-suite with bath and shower, and also a great sea-view across to the mainland, and it was very pleasant sitting gazing across the water with a cup of tea while we recovered after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I recently stayed at this hotel. It's proprietor Richard made our booking and was there to greet us. He is really nice and welcoming. We had a room for three which was very spacious although the couch bed for my son was uncomfortable. The bed for my husband and me was a king size and comfortable. Bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at Ardvasar Hotel for a long weekend on Skye a few weeks ago. I found it a very pleasant place to stay, and when we go back to Skye I imagine we'll be looking to book in here again! First of all, I'd like to note that Ardvasar were very accomodating when we booked our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I agree with many of the previous reviewers. For what is being charged, the standard of the room left a lot to be desired. We had a large and well-appointed, obviously new, bathroom, but the bedroom was furnished with cheap worn furniture. We too had no wi-fi; we were told it would come back on while we were there but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The island has many good places to stay. Here our room decent size, clean but lacking a dusting. £130/double is too expensive. Locals bar. Expensive average pub food( £9.50 for 3 scallops) for example. No Wifi(for some time apparently). My advice is move on elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
Derbyshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I was looking forward to our stay on Skye and the reviews for this hotel were on the whole very good. We arrived mid afternoon and had a pleasant afternoon in the beer garden, on what must have been the hottest day of the year. We had our evening meal in the bar and whilst the food it self was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
Seattle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Pub was a regular pub with OK food. Richard the owner was a very nice fellow. Our room had a very modern clean bathroom that was very nice. However our room had shopworn dressers and tables. The beds were lumpy and the pillows were thin foam. The mountian view was into a fielt 50 meters away with a dirt road... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 25
Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed on a Sunday night having arrived on the ferry from Mallaig. We were welcomed and shown to our room (room 6). It was nicely appointed with a comfy bed, small flat screen tv, plenty of sockets and a beautiful view across the sea towards the mainland. The bathroom was very modern, well appointed with a good shower above... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Ardvasar Hotel was our first hotel on our trip throughout Scotland. Here are a few of our observations: Beautiful views Clean and tidy rooms Good food Nice pub atmosphere Modern bath Very convenient to the ferry to Mallaig WiFi available only in the public areas (This was not a problem for us as we just sat in the sitting area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ardvasar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ardvasar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardvasar Hotel

Address: Ardvasar IV45 8RS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Ardvasar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardvasar Hotel 3*
Also Known As:
Ardvasar Hotel Scotland

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ardvasar with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ardvasar Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer