We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Tobermory hotels

Western Isles Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strongarbh, Tobermory PA75 6PR, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Western Isles Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Western Isles Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Westcoastcol
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    169
    43
    26
    14
See reviews for
89
224
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (448)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (122)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars NEW

The Conservatory Bar and Restaurant has an excellent panoramic view over the Sound of Mull and no doubt some of the rooms do as well, mine didn't. I am assuming that because it is still considered winter the hotel is not fully functional, well I hope thats the reason. We ate dinner in a smaller room at the front of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2012GManager, General Manager at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Westcoastcol Thank you for your recent review. Yes, the hotel is a lot quieter in Jan & Feb for obvious reasons. The Conservatory bar is too cold to serve evening meals in the winter & the feedback we get from most guests say they prefer Kiloran with it's open fire to dine in. Sorry to hear that you did... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hi This place is great with great views, huge rooms and an amazing breakfast. Oh and is stunning value. Our room (26) had a view of the bay, a massive bedroom and a good sized bathroom. as for why not 5 stars. Ok first I should say value for money it is the best I have stayed in in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Baerum Municipality, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a remarkable hotel in its originality, hospitality and stunning location. We stayed as a family of 4 for one night and got to lovely rooms, one with a beautiful view over the bay. Had dinner in the hotels dining room, a very nice meal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
2012GManager, General Manager at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Per Andreas T Thank you for your fantastic review & we do hope that you can visit us again. Best wishes More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
619 reviews 619 reviews
59 hotel reviews
427 helpful votes 427 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To be perfectly honest - we stayed here one night and it was absolutely fine. We booked on short notice and it was all they had so we were glad of it. The building on approach is stunning but the interior does need some cosmetic attention.Our expectations were realistic for the price and having seen other reviews. Our room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2012GManager, General Manager at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear regulartraveller01 Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A superb, clean, homely Scottish country hotel. Will definitely be back. Excellent value and charming guest areas. Food and wine list very good.(The only tiny request I could possibly make, is to get rid of the energy saving light bulbs so people can read at night!!!!!.... :-) fantastic place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2012GManager, General Manager at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LukeyMc Thank you for your great review & so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your comments have been greatly appreciate by all the staff. We hope to see you back again. Very best wishes More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights but wish we could have stayed for longer. Staff were helpful and friendly. Yes, the hotel is an old property but for us this just added to its character. We would love to go back again. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2012GManager, General Manager at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claire G Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review & hope to welcome you back soon! Best wishes More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Stayed in the hotel for one night. Right from the off the staff were very friendly and accommodating but the problems started to occur once we reached our room. The room was freezing and there was damp across most of the walls. The TV wouldn't work but the staff quickly solved that problem. There was only access to wi-fi in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2012GManager, General Manager at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ingram N Thank you for your recent review & sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Without booking prior to arrival we offered you various combinations of accommodation. You chose the triple room on the 3rd floor & as we had not been expecting you the heating & lights had not been switched on. It was... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Bedrooms were a bit tired and run down, certainly not the refurbished ones mentioned elsewhere. BUT. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Food exceeded all expectations. Coal/wood fires were awesome. Lounge area very warm and welcoming

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2012GManager, General Manager at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GreigS Thank you for taking the time to leave a review & pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks More 

Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
43 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

I stayed at the Western Isles with friends in December. From the moment we arrived, we felt very welcome, and all of the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Our rooms were warm, clean and comfortable. Some have obviously been refurbished recently, and to a good standard. Rooms on the harbour and seaward sides have excellent views. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2012GManager, General Manager at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear M1DXB Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review & look forward to welcoming you back! Very best wishes More 

Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

What a Great experience, first time on Mull, great hotel stayed in The Glenlivet room, stunning, you could just live in the bathroom alone. Staff great, loved the conservatory, and the drawing room, with real fire where we could relax with a drink (or two) after a hard day walking. Dogs welcome everywhere, apart from breakfast, big plus point with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2012GManager, General Manager at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gillymacgm Thank you writing such a great review. Your comments are really much appreciated by all the staff & we look forward to welcoming you back to Mull! Best wishes More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Western Isles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Isles Hotel

Address: Strongarbh, Tobermory PA75 6PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Western Isles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Western Isles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Isles Hotel Tobermory, Scotland

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (157)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay