We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Western Isles Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Strongarbh, Tobermory PA75 6PR, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Western Isles Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
swoodward63 Manchester, United Kingdom
Review This Hotel

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    170
    45
    26
    14
See reviews for
89
225
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (451)
  • Mar-May only
    (125)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (122)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stayed at the Western Isles from the 20th March 2015 - 24th March. When we arrived we were greeted by the receptionist and a lovely border collie who was very friendly. The reception of the hotel has an olde worlde feel about it and there are a number of stags heads on the walls, We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here for two nights nights on business. All staff are lovely and attentive when necessary. The room's decor and furnishings are a bit dated but functional and clean. The hairdryer was a proper travel one which is much better than those stupid ones you get in chains where you need to keep your finger on the button to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland,OR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed at this B&B in June of 2014. The staff was all really nice. The views were incredible. We were staying as a group of 40 and they were ready for us when we arrived. There was someone there just for taking up all of our luggage which was very helpful since we were staying on the third floor. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Conservatory Bar and Restaurant has an excellent panoramic view over the Sound of Mull and no doubt some of the rooms do as well, mine didn't. I am assuming that because it is still considered winter the hotel is not fully functional, well I hope thats the reason. We ate dinner in a smaller room at the front of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2012GManager, General Manager at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Westcoastcol Thank you for your recent review. Yes, the hotel is a lot quieter in Jan & Feb for obvious reasons. The Conservatory bar is too cold to serve evening meals in the winter & the feedback we get from most guests say they prefer Kiloran with it's open fire to dine in. Sorry to hear that you did... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hi This place is great with great views, huge rooms and an amazing breakfast. Oh and is stunning value. Our room (26) had a view of the bay, a massive bedroom and a good sized bathroom. as for why not 5 stars. Ok first I should say value for money it is the best I have stayed in in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Baerum Municipality, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

This is a remarkable hotel in its originality, hospitality and stunning location. We stayed as a family of 4 for one night and got to lovely rooms, one with a beautiful view over the bay. Had dinner in the hotels dining room, a very nice meal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
2012GManager, General Manager at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Per Andreas T Thank you for your fantastic review & we do hope that you can visit us again. Best wishes More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
619 reviews 619 reviews
59 hotel reviews
441 helpful votes 441 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

To be perfectly honest - we stayed here one night and it was absolutely fine. We booked on short notice and it was all they had so we were glad of it. The building on approach is stunning but the interior does need some cosmetic attention.Our expectations were realistic for the price and having seen other reviews. Our room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2012GManager, General Manager at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear regulartraveller01 Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

A superb, clean, homely Scottish country hotel. Will definitely be back. Excellent value and charming guest areas. Food and wine list very good.(The only tiny request I could possibly make, is to get rid of the energy saving light bulbs so people can read at night!!!!!.... :-) fantastic place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2012GManager, General Manager at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LukeyMc Thank you for your great review & so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your comments have been greatly appreciate by all the staff. We hope to see you back again. Very best wishes More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights but wish we could have stayed for longer. Staff were helpful and friendly. Yes, the hotel is an old property but for us this just added to its character. We would love to go back again. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2012GManager, General Manager at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claire G Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review & hope to welcome you back soon! Best wishes More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Stayed in the hotel for one night. Right from the off the staff were very friendly and accommodating but the problems started to occur once we reached our room. The room was freezing and there was damp across most of the walls. The TV wouldn't work but the staff quickly solved that problem. There was only access to wi-fi in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2012GManager, General Manager at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ingram N Thank you for your recent review & sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Without booking prior to arrival we offered you various combinations of accommodation. You chose the triple room on the 3rd floor & as we had not been expecting you the heating & lights had not been switched on. It was... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (157)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question